We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in paradise”
Review of Hidden Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hidden Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 21, 2008

This place is amazing. It was the cheapest hotel we stayed in during our honeymoon (we also stayed at Chaa Creek and Victoria House) but it was fantastic. There are 12 rooms here and 90 miles of hiking trails. We stayed for 4 nights and had a totally different experience every day without ever leaving the property. It really is a unique place.
We hiked to Manakin Falls the first day (boring hike along the service road, but the destination is so worth it!) and also to the Lake Lolly Folly which was good fun. On the second day we got dropped off by Devils Falls and Mermaid pool which is stunning and then we walked to Butterfly falls (breathtaking), stopped for a quick swin and arrived at Secret falls to find our dinner there waiting for us. We stayed there 3 hours (we even slept in the hammock) and then hiked back to the hotel via the cascade trail which is a must! It is so much fun climbing up ladders and over treetrunk bridges, with the backdrop of cascades and river side trails.
The third day we rented Orchid Falls for the day -This is an absolute must if you are staying at the property - this was one of the highlights of the honeymoon. A private cabana awaits next to a gorgeous waterfall. A champagne lunch is set up in the cabana, as are two hammocks - perfect for relaxation. There are rubber rings waiting for fun in the waterfall pool and even a flushing toilet!!!!
The hotel itself is cute. It was the least luxurious of the accommodations we stayed in (I would recommend they get new towels), but its still of a high enough standard. We used the pool most nights and watched the hummingbirds sipping nectar as we sipped a cocktail in the hot tub. The food was good - especially the soups! The service at the hotel is amazing! We felt like we were their primary concern and they designed the walks so we wouldnt bump into anyone along the way. In fact the service here was much better than at the other two more expensive hotels we stayed at.
They provide oil in the bathrooms which is useful as an insect repellant -you do need to put it on during the day, but its not required at night. There are no mosquitos at all there.
We didnt do any trips from here (we did them with our other hotels) but they were on offer, and you could also use bikes (which again, we didnt get round to).
We stayed at Chaa Creek after and that was a completely different experience (also great), I would recommend staying at a jungle lodge, and also here in the mountain pine ridge area.
I didnt want to leave! I would definatley return to this hotel as it represents amazing value and an unforgettable, unique experience.
Thank you Hidden Valley Inn!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lwilliams75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 438 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2008

We stayed at Hidden Valley as part of our Honeymoon. The Resort, Staff, & Food are excellent!!! We would highly recommend taking the time to stay with Hidden Valley. All of the waterfalls on the property are georgous, and when we were hiking we didn't run into any other couples. They really work to make it feel like you are their top priority and anticipate what you might need/want!

We also enjoyed that the resort is spring fed. It was like taking a shower in an unlimited supply of evian....

We did the Caracol/Rio Frio tour with Rick as our guide. Rick is awesome - he provided an insightful, informative, and funny tour. We really appreciated how he presented the various buildings on the site so that it made sense and we only saw other tour groups briefly. We really felt like we had Caracol to ourselves.
We also booked secret pools and falls for an afternoon/day. They helped us schedule a hike (and picked us up and dropped us off - Thanks Freddy!) so that we could see as much of the property in the time we had and be able to spend the afternoon at our "private" waterfall. The lunch they set out was amazing!! (I had just figured we would find sandwhiches on paper plates but they actually took the time/energy to provide real plates, silverware, glasses & champagne glasses as well as linen napkins and the meal was just amazing. I especially enjoyed the cucumber/feta salad and the carmel& chocolate based dessert).

The room and 3 course dinners were great and we loved the continental/hot breakfast!

P.s. They also give you a radio so if you need something (e.g. a drink or get tired of hiking) they will come help you!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Botanicaofkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

A 1st class experience, with excellent service and meals, clean rooms, and caring staff. Great trails and activities.

We signed up for a package they offer and glad we did it. The little tours were great, with caring people guiding the cave ride, the butterfly farm, and Tikal ruins.

This is a place where one should go if they like hiking on well-maintained trails along streams and waterfalls in virtual seclusion. They have 12 rooms, six buildings, and more than that many trails so you never see anyone once you leave the main house. One needs to be in shape to enjoy the grounds. Go before you're too old to hike.

The food is really good and plentiful.

Great driver to and from Belize City - Hugh. Very knowledgeable.

A classy experience.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DexBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2008

What a wonderful stay. With only 12 cottages, the service is very personalized. The staff cannot do enough for you. Great food, accommodations and on-site hiking. Think secluded Inn atmosphere. I highly recommend the Orchid Falls rental--very romantic and relaxing. Also the trip to Caracol (Mayan Temples, beautiful surroundings); includes a side trip to the Rio Frio Cave and Rio On Cascades Falls. (Watched British soldiers rescue an injured soldier by helicopter there.) Ricardo (Rick) is an amazing guide with insights on Mayan history and the natural surroundings--a rare combo. To give you an idea of how well organized this place is: That afternoon it rained a lot. The road is red clay and gets very slippery. Our van was stuck behind tourists and a van load of workers trying unsuccessfully to get up the mucked out hill. A HV truck not only hitched us up and over but went back and rescued the others. True professionals and great people.
Tip: Use the nicely scented oil (avail in bathroom) to keep bugs off if that becomes an issue or bring a bug jacket.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travel4life30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

We stayed here for our honeymoon. I was immediately impressed with the outstanding service and beautiful facilities. Our room was very nice. It has a great decor of cherry wood and simple style throughout the rooms and the office that is so welcoming. The real fireplace in our room was so nice. We used it every night. The trails on the property are nice. They are reserved for guests only, so we never met a soul while we were hiking. There is no TV, clock or other electronics in the rooms. Not that we would want to watch TV on vacation, but we were a little nervous that we would be bored as the sun goes down at 6pm. However, we were very busy every day with the hiking and day tours, and we read and relaxed at night. The food was very delicious. They had a new menu each night, and we never had a bad meal. I would recommend the Caracol tour. We also did the Barton Creek Cave tubing and 1/2 day horseback riding. We enjoyed all of these activities as well. I strongly recommend renting the private waterfall, Orchid Falls. It was so relaxing and wonderful. I got really bit up from the black flies during the hiking. As soon as I stepped into the Tiger Creek falls, the water must have washed the bug spray off, and I was eaten alive. The resort is beautiful and great for couples. I would think that kids would get very bored here. We were also a little annoyed by the bird watcher fanatics that are attracted to the resort. The jacuzzi was broken down the whole time we were there, though, which was a dissappointment. Overall, we were very pleasantly surprised with our vacation here.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SolaraMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2008

Wonderful place! It’s a pity we only could stay here for 3 nights instead of the requested 4 nights. In our opinion, we had the perfect weather: it was cool, misty and at night, it rained a lot. Accordingly, the hills were shrouded in a mystifying fog with clouds emanating from the forest floor and the waterfalls were in full spate. This was also the perfect weather to soak in the hot tub with azure-crowned hummingbirds hovering over your head or to sit near the fireplace at night (drying our boots!). We drove the property in our own (rental) car but got stuck near Devil’s Falls. No problem here! Whenever you go hiking, mountain-biking or on a drive on their property, the management provides you with a 2-way radio in case something happens – or to pick you up when you get tired or lost (though you also get a map and everything is well signposted). So, we tried for about an hour or so to get out on our own, but instead of losing more valuable time we decided to call the hotel. Half an hour later, someone came to pull us out of the ditch. That’s 5-star service! And if you need something done, ask Misael Romero! He seems to manage everything and is very efficient! An earlier report said they have had computer problems here - but if you e-mailed with Misael, he will remember you and take care of you!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 20thCenturyCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

Take care before booking or if you're already booked here. They lost their computer system and their only backup is from last March. We've been trying to book for a week with no luck and my fear is even if they claim availability we'll get there and it won't exist.

Shame because of all the places in Belize this is the one I was most excited to see.

Stayed: January 2008
Thank NDSGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverleyBelize, General Manager at Hidden Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2008

We had a temporary issue with our computers due to a virus, however everything is back on track.
We have not lost any information about any past or future bookings.
Please feel free to contact us if you have any queries.
We are looking forward to having you stay with us at our beautiful property and we promise you an memorable experience !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
16.1 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
696 reviews
3.6 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
458 reviews
5.7 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
868 reviews
11.9 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
655 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Inn

Address: 4 Miles Cooma Cairn Road, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Price Range: $250 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hidden Valley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Valley Inn, a Luxury Life Style Boutique Hotel with only 12 rooms, is located on a 7200 acres private reserve in the Mountain Pine Ridge, Cayo District in Belize. This intimate eco resort offers quality accommodation, fine gourmet food and attentive service in a natural environment. The flora, wildlife and bird watching here are truly unique in the region. Guests staying at this Intimate Luxury Boutique Hotel enjoy exclusive access to over 90 miles of hiking and mountain biking trails as well as many secluded Crystal Pools and Waterfalls set in a tropical rainforest. For those seeking romance, one of the waterfalls may be reserved exclusively for the day.Situated in the Maya mountains, also serves as a convenient base for visiting the various scenic and historical attractions of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hidden Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Hotel San Ignacio
Hidden Valley San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing