We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place & Great Staff & Fantastic Food!”
Review of Hidden Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hidden Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place & Great Staff & Fantastic Food!”
Reviewed November 7, 2007

Loved, loved, loved our stay here! Staff is very friendly and attentive, the food was consistently great every day. We hiked all over the place, the new Cascade Trail is a work of art (Peter did an amazing job). We didn't bother to go on any tours outside the property, we did that later from San Ignacio. At Hidden Valley, our room was so beautiful. We rented Orchid Falls for the day and it was our best day. Butterfly falls is the prettiest fall but they were all lots of fun to hike. You will not be disappointed by anything here!! Enjoy!

  • Liked — quiet, clean, beautiful
  • Disliked — no refrigerator for the room, some beverages would be nice in the room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    39
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
226
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

Hidden Valley is has so many things going for it, the staff are the nicest people we met in Belize and it seems a really happy place to work, this is really evident to the guests.

The location is fantastic, it's Belize's highest hotel and if you want to get far from the madding crowd, this is the location. I would have liked to spend more time here, we only stayed for 3 nights and it wasn't enough.

The food is fantastic! It was without doubt the best food we had in Belize, including any other restaurant or hotel during our stay. In fact I bought the hotel's cook book!

There is criticism in other reviews about the pine forest being ugly because of the beetle attack about 5 years ago, which decimated the forest. The place is definitely recovering now, the young pines are really coming back and it's such a beautiful place it adds to the atmosphere of this ecosystem to see how well it's recovering. It really is stunning - trust me don't be put off by other reviews critizing this - the location is just beautiful! When you're walking through the rainforest, you can't see the pines for most of it anyway, as you're fully emersed in the jungle!

The rooms are private, beautiful and the log fires are a really romantic touch.

Maid service is excellent. Pool is lovely and jacuzzi is great!

We didn't get bothered by mosquitos in our room, which was such a relief! Definitely one of the best things about the location is you don't tend to get many mosquitos there.

If you're a couple, especially on honeymoon, hire Orchid falls for a champagne lunch - it's the most relaxing day of my life spent there!!! No exaggeration, it's bliss!!

If I come back to Belize, it will only be to stay at Hidden Valley Inn, it's just the most welcoming, private, peaceful, beautiful, well equipped, pampering place you can stay in this country. Can't recommend it highly enough!! The road trip to the hotel is also facinating!

By the way they do the best pina coladas in Belize - make sure to try one!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing - it was perfect!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Chibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We arrived at Hidden Valley following a stay at Pooks Hill. They are very different places, each with their own qualities.

Where Pooks Hill was simple, Hidden Valley was upmarket & exclusive.

The lodge and the rooms (set within a beaufiful garden) were all equipped to a very high standard (equivalent to many luxury hotels). You didn't feel like you were in a forest/jungle, more like in a lovely garden.

The service during our first two days was exceptionally good; though they had a change of staff and the servive became of a much more average standard for the second 2 days (If you went to ask front-of-house something you appeared to be a nuisance!).

The food was lovely, however it was possibly a bit over-the-top for a forest lodge. Whilst we thoroughly enjoyed it, by the end of 4 days we were glad to get back to simpler food.

The highlights of our stay were the horseriding and the waterfalls.

For the horseriding, we were taken to a nearby farm and we rode with the farmowner and his daughter. Despite the fact that we were relative novices, we were taken over some challenging terrain, however the horses behaved brilliantly, The farmer also took us into a Mayan cave on his land.

We were dropped off by jeep in the forest the next day with a 30 minute walk to Butterfly Falls. When you walk into the clearing and see Butterfly Falls you'll be speachless.. it is so beautiful and untouched. You won't see anyone else there whilst you're visiting and you can enjoy a great swim in the pool under the falls.

One thing that did impress me was the care taken to keep the hotel and its surroundings natural and beatiful. There was great attention paid to economy of resources and careful management of habitat destroying products (avoidance of plastic bottles etc within the hotel). Defintely Eco-Tourism!

  • Liked — Its beautiful setting and great food/service
  • Disliked — Food a bit over-the-top ?
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuartJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2007

My husband and I spent a full week at Hidden Valley for our
honeymoon. We decided to spend our full Belize trip at Hidden Valley based on the great reviews and my prior great experiences in Costa Rica. We were looking for adventure, but as this was our honeymoon, also some pampering. We weren't disappointed. In short, the staff was wonderful, the food delicious (especially the beef), the pina coladas fantastic, the rooms (each with their own fireplace) comfortable, and the grounds beautiful. The only disappointments we had were the biting flies (i was covered in welts by the end of my stay, although they didn't bother my husband too much) and the broken mountain bikes. The resort just began new ownership as we arrived, and they seem poised to make it even more spectacular.

While one week may seem like a lot of time to spend at the resort, we didn't run out of activities. Our itinerary included:
day one -- arrived
day two -- ATM tour. Not to be missed and a highlight of our trip.
day three -- Caracol. Rick was a great guide and the site was never too crowded.
days four and five -- Sightseeing on the Hidden Valley property. Definitely build time in to hike the property. My favorites included the hike to Devils falls and following the stream to the source past Butterfly and Secret Falls. The whole trip will take the better part of the day and is a great workout, but you can arrange a pick up if you get tired.
day six -- horseback riding. great guide and trip. another chance to see mayan ruins and caves. had the opportunity to gallop across the property. seeing the crowded public resorts and falls made us really appreciate the seclusion of hidden valley.
day seven -- rented orchid falls. would certainly recommend this over secret falls, as it is more secluded and has more amenities. plus, if secret falls is not booked, you can visit without renting.

Some helpful things to keep in mind before going there:
1) Bring your own bugspray. Skin so soft only goes so far. Lightweight long sleeves and long pants are the best protection
2) If you are looking for a romantic honeymoon, try booking for the off-season. With only 12 cottages and a vast expanse of land, it never gets really crowded, but it was even better having the whole property to only 6 guest by the end. We went in early May which was perfect weather. Only one hour of rain the entire trip (don't trust the online forecasts before you go -- they're never correct)
3) Have a sense of adventure. If you're looking for a luxury resort with full amenities, this is not the place. Here you are well taken care of by the attentive staff, but firmly within nature.

  • Liked — friendly staff and small number of rooms
  • Disliked — bugs
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank venustar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2007

This hotel is awesome! My husband said it right on our second day there - "this place is the best hotel we've ever stayed." While the rooms and lodge are all very nicely done it's the staff that really makes this place special. From the moment we arrived we received personalized attention. Each evening during dinner the staff talks with each couple about their day and upcoming adventures. We learned so much about the local people from the staff. They're all so friendly and knowledgeable.

While we were there we celebrated our anniversary. The staff decorated our dining table with lots of fresh flowers and used flower petals to spell Happy Anniversary on our bed. They also found a box and wrapped a gift my husband bought for me in the gift shop.

The food was terrific - definitely exceeded our expectations. The meals were so good we never ate anywhere else. And it's very reasonably priced.

Orchid Falls is a must. It was our favorite day there - so relaxing and peaceful.

Our only negative about this place is the "dirt" road. My husband says "dirt" must be Belizean for "rocks and crags." It was rough going but so worth it when we got there. The good news is that they are opening an air strip on property so no more traveling there via dirt road.

I'd recommend this place to any couple looking for a romantic or adventurous get away. I only wish we had stayed longer.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Rocky access road
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2007

Hidden Valley Inn is simply amazing! Other reviewers hit the nail on the head with the description, so I won't repeat it. Other than to say there are new managers, Flavien and his wife Beverly. They were very delightful as is the ENTIRE staff! Rick has so much knowledge to share with each vistor and was fun to go on tours with. Food was very good. If you stay here you MUST go to Orchid Falls. There is no other place like it. Even though it rained the day we went, we still enjoyed our time there. You won't be disappointed if you book with Hidden Valley Inn, they truly aim to please.

We only stayed 3 nights and then went to Ambergris Caye, but I'm glad we went. Would we return? You betcha!!!

  • Liked — Quaintness
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jentree70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2007

If you are looking for a small inn for a romatic getaway in the forests and hills of inner Belize, this is the place to go!

Hidden Valley is a small inn (only 12 bungalows, 24 people) that is nestled in the waterfall region outside of San Ignacio. The staff here (from the GM Karen and the mgr Misael to the wait staff and bar tenders) are superb: fun and funny, attentive without being cloying, and excellent at their jobs.

The bungalows are sizable, clean (not a bug in sight inside), and comfortable (albeit not air conditioned, but there's a great mountain breeze at night).

There's a nice pool for afternoon dips and a hot tub (which was nice and hot, but the blower was broken) to soothe away any aching muscles from a day hiking the innumerable trails.

There are a number of spectacular waterfalls to visit (on foot or they'll take you). But the very best is doing the private waterfalls lunch at Orchid Falls. For this, they take you for a jeep ride for 20 minutes or so along a single lane dirt road. Ten minutes into the ride you encounter a gate which is unlocked and driven through. You finally arrive at this mountain stream, along which you walk for 507 mnutes or so until you turn a corner and see a gorgeous waterfall. At the base of the pool is another bungalow...which is all yours (and only yours) for the day. The drivers then leave you, drive out, and lock the gate behind them so that no one (and I mean no one!) will visit, disturb, or peek at you ;-)

Upon entering the bungalow, you find white linen table-clothed tables, iced champagng (that was delivered just ahead of your arrival), a huge cooler full of an incredibly tasty lunch, and a hammock. When you step outside the other end of the bungalow, you find a nice deck for sunning, with steps that lead down into the water for a swin in the stream and up to the falls (so make sure to bring your bathing suit...or don't ;-)

The hours fly by at Orchid Falls as you while away the day floating in inner tubes, hiking up the falls, or just sleeping in the hammock. It's a home run! (so much so that we decided to cancel a day of exploring ruins and went back to Orchid Falls again!).

We also spent a day on a horseback ride through the jungles and mountains, including a visit down into an old Mayan cave (which was really cool!). The owner of the ride/cave, Joe and his dogs Princess and Champion, take great care of you and you end up at yet another spectacular waterfall for lunch!

If you're looking for a true Belizean experience (not just beach), good food, great service, fun people, and good lodgings, I HIGHLY recommend visiting Hidden Valley!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillyBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
3.7 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
423 reviews
16.0 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
602 reviews
5.7 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
790 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
275 reviews
11.9 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Inn

Property: Hidden Valley Inn
Address: 4 Miles Cooma Cairn Road, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hidden Valley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Valley Inn, a Luxury Life Style Boutique Hotel with only 12 rooms, is located on a 7200 acres private reserve in the Mountain Pine Ridge, Cayo District in Belize. This intimate eco resort offers quality accommodation, fine gourmet food and attentive service in a natural environment. The flora, wildlife and bird watching here are truly unique in the region. Guests staying at this Intimate Luxury Boutique Hotel enjoy exclusive access to over 90 miles of hiking and mountain biking trails as well as many secluded Crystal Pools and Waterfalls set in a tropical rainforest. For those seeking romance, one of the waterfalls may be reserved exclusively for the day.Situated in the Maya mountains, also serves as a convenient base for visiting the various scenic and historical attractions of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hidden Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Hotel San Ignacio
Hidden Valley San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing