We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blancaneaux Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Gaia Riverlodge(Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hidden Valley Inn(Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calico Jack's Village(Seven Miles El Progresso)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Rock Lodge(Black Rock)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveler rating
367
73
29
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
73
29
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturtle innguatemalan restaurantbig rock fallsorganic gardenhorseback ridingthe riverthai massagefrancis ford coppolala lanchaplunge poolhoneymoon cabanaenchanted cottagebarton creek caveitalian foodjaguar juiceshell phonehorse stables
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 477 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We came here as a family, grandparents, adult children and teenagers. We had a river cabana and a villa, both were amazingly beautiful and in wonderful condition. The bar and restaurants were good. The teens ate everything! The activities were very age appropriate -- perhaps not good for younger children. We loved the cave trip, the zip line, horseback riding, informal hiking, swimming. The trip to Tikal is long and the local guide, while very knowledgable, did not reach his audience. It is an amazing place regardless.
The 45 minute drive into and out of the resort are "third world". If you are subject to motion sickness, bring meclizine or something similar. It is possible to fly in, but the landing strip looks like the road and is more subject to weather adversity.
Be sure to check out the gardens where most of the produce and flowers are grown. Blancaneaux Lodge is off the grid -- they generate their own electricity with a little, pretty, dam on the river.

Room Tip: The villas are located below the central area of the lodge -- about 90 steps, with hand rails. The river cabanas are lots closer, but sleep fewer people, I think. This lodge is not suited for people with significant mobility issues.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadsTakenWillmar_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family enjoyed a great visit at Blancaneaux. The staff is really fantastic. Everything is upscale, but without the bling factor. There are no TVs, no AC, etc. which makes it authentic. The guides they employ are great -- we visited Mayan ruins (Caracol and Tikal), caving and horseback riding -- and everything they arranged came off flawlessly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NameName1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

While it is a long transit time along bumpy roads, that never bothers me, I found it a fascinating tour of the country! I think that was a plus. However, I would do mountain than beach next time. Our room was one of the romantic, more secluded ones, which was nice, they had lovely verandas to sit on up top and on the ground in the shape of a heart (but not in a cheesy way). We had no problem with bugs at Turtle Inn, but they were very noticeable at this resort, so it was difficult to sit on your balcony/deck and have a glass of wine. The restaurant was good, and went out of their way, I felt. We did many of the activities, from horseback riding, to touring the Mayan caves, ruins, and organic garden, and also arranged for a private dinner for two in their secluded space. For the tours, we always asked to be the first to leave so we could explore without a lot of other tourists. We hiked some at the resort, but mainly did the tours, and played in the pools/lakes some. This massage was great, and I actually enjoyed it, which I never do. I would recommend this place, as you are so close to great activities, and it's a great home base, but I expected a lot more from my room after the room at Turtle Inn. This room was an average, nice room, but it did not compare with or Turtle Inn room, and I think that took away from our enjoyment which is why I would suggest reversing the order of the trips. But definitely worth it for secluded space, proximity to awesome and unique activities, and a lovely staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We split a vacation between Blancaneaux and Turtle Inn - many seem to do that. One week at the beach, one week in the jungle.

The rooms are big and have a lot of seating and - like in the Turtle Inn - it seems impossible to get a mosquito net, which doesn't have any significant holes in it. At certain times it can be quite cold - and the rooms are open to the outside.

This resort is great for day trips in the jungle. We did several (caves, ruins, macaw river) and all were great! It also offers horseback riding (not my cup of tea, but the stable looked impressive and there were at least a dozen horses) and hiking (we tried, but it was too hot for us). A pool allows to relax and the river provides a noisy but relaxing background.

Getting there is a long drive - a very long drive and a large chunk of it is via dirt roads. Don't got there if you can't handle that.

The resort has two restaurants: one local one (not open every day) and - of course - an italian one. Yep, more italian food, which is OK, but repeats itself after a few days. It's not a place for foodies.

Would we come back? No, at least not soon - mainly because you only need that experience once - it repeats itself. The rooms are quite pricy for the offering, but the location is simply great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Beautiful paradise oasis in the middle of the jungle. Belizean buffet our last evening was absolutely delicious! We stayed in the Coppola villa which was spacious and very comfortable. Service was excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Streeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews