We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lunch/Excellent Atmosphere!”
Review of Cypress Grille

Cypress Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Cypress Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 106 Restaurants in Boerne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch/Excellent Atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I wondered into the Cypress Grille looking for a place to eat lunch. We were seated immediately. The food and the service was wonderful! The prices were reasonable, the food came out quickly and was excellent! We loved it so much, we purchased a gift certificate for family members that don't live far from there. We will definitely go back if ever travelling in the area again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    96
    25
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
175 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“An amateur lunch at best”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had such high expectations but what a mess. Our server translated our order for "two waters" into "two iced teas" and then everything disintegrated from there.

The ceviche was as far from a ceviche as you can get - one half avocado, a bunch of tortilla strips with a grilled shrimp, leafy greens and citrus-flavored gunge. Just plain bad.

The special was a shrimp wedge salad - we ordered two and the cuts on everything were totally different. Massive red onion rings compared with tiny ends; big avocado pieces and then the small. And a massive amount of bacon hid the fact the shrimps were cremated.

The lunch is all salads and sandwiches but with zero flair, integrity and originality. When my own mother can cook and present a dish better than a CIA chef, there's definitely something wrong - a total fail.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesBeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch at a Reasonable Price!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere and service were great. I had a pulled pork sandwich that was perfect - toasted bread, sause not to thick or overbearing, homemade slaw. My wife had a turkey and panini sandwich with fresh greens. Also very good.
Very long wine list, and several wonderful sounding desserts.
I would highly recommend this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRoss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
311 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, adequate food.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Menu items are mouthwatering in description and plate presentation, but lackluster in taste. Mediocre buffalo burger without taste. Lobster lasagna dry and overly spiced. Great tasting desserts though. Good service and truly perfect ambiance. A decent place overall.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capt_Wyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Food was delicious and service was excellent! Two friends recommended Cypress Grille and we were so glad we tried it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lcurry82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cypress Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing