We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Bear Moon Bakery and Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Boerne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in to get some goodies this morning and we were ignored and skipped over by the counter workers. We used to love bear moon but the price to quality ratio is off. I am very upset with being ignored and not getting the quality we expect

Helpful?
3 Thank mfs387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    115
    27
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great breakfast buffet”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stopped at Bear Moon by chance, as we were looking for a pet friendly place to have breakfast on our way back from Lost Maples. We saw people on the patio with dogs, so we headed over. The menu was a bit foo-foo for me, so we opted for the breakfast buffet. it was really good! Everything that we tried was great - pancakes, French toast, biscuits, eggs, potatoes, hash browns, bacon, muffins, bread. We left with a full stomach. It was very busy on Sunday morning, so you may need to pack your patience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHANNON H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bear Moon Exposed”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Until this last week-end, I was one of Bear Moons' biggest fans; always visited at least once and sometimes twice a week. On Saturday mornings, I would purchase a kugelhopf and walnut tea cake and for less than $5.00, I was out the door. When company would come to town to visit us, Bear Moon was a must stop. I have always sung the praises about this little bakery.

Well, the days for me visiting Bear Moon and singing their praises are over. In the past, I have always thought the prices were a little steep, but because the product was so, so good, I did not mind paying for it.. I know that the Bear Moon owner has the right to increase prices, it's a free market, but to increase them almost 30% on a number of items in just one week, to me is unconscionable. How can you justify a kugelhopf and a piece of tea cake going from $2.25 to $2.90 each in one week? Also, a apple stix going from $1.25 to $1.99 in less than a year.....59% increase.

Also, the service...marginal at best....and it's a direct result of poor management.

Thankful, we have other bakeries in Boerne, that we can patronize.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belton,tx
Level Contributor
136 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast buffet”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This place is pricey but the breakfast bufffet was scrumptous.service ok.the front area reminded me of a British bakery.

Helpful?
Thank berdiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connroe, TX
Level Contributor
100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Get the Breakfast Sandwich”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The breakfast sandwich is not your ordinary Egg McMuffin. It is unbelievably tasty. It's served on a delicious bread roll. It had black forest ham and another type ham, lettuce, tomato, egg, and a delicious jalapeno jelly. My wife and I both deemed it the best breakfast sandwich we have ever eaten. Try it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Moon Bakery and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bear Moon Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing