We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bluff Dale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hideaway Ranch & Retreat
Stephenville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

My wife and I recently discovered the Hideaway Ranch and were amazed by this place. We love the privacy and each cottage is unique to itself. You truly feel like you are the only ones on the ranch. My only complaint is that the hot tub temperatures are VERY VERY hot and they mention a "$100 fee" should you tamper with it a lot. It is a bit pricey but worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank notyours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
52
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We've stayed at the Hideaway 3 times now and will be back in December. We've stayed in the Lone Star, the Chateau, and the Hacienda. I have to say that the Hacienda is my favorite, simply due to the spectacular view. Jason and Traci are the best and most hospitable hosts. The cabins are immaculate and I've never wanted for anything staying there. Hideaway is my sanctuary. My favorite time is at sunset the hot tub, watching the sun go down and the stars come out. Pure heaven.

Room Tip: All cabins are secluded. Hacienda has the best view but is only for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serialcrafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We found this place a few years ago. We took the kids one November when it was snowing. The cabin was so cute. Special time for my kids and husband. We left the busy daily lives, and slowed it down! I remember leaving with a smile feeling reconnected to the kids and my husband. Since then we have gone several times. Once just my husband and I. Very romantic. Hideaway is going to be a special place we will continue to stay every year. A must!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cari O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Being from Houston this was a short drive and fantastic getaway for the whole family! The kids enjoyed hiking the endless trails, scavenger hunt, wagon ride, watching the horses, llamas, and longhorns roam the ranch...right up to the back porch of the cabin! The swimming hole was perfect for the hot afternoons and the kids loved shooting at the archery range. We stayed in the Yellastone cabin which was perfect for us and the room service from Hideout Cafe was excellent every time we ordered. Jason and Tracie did a great job accomodating our family and anything we needed. We definitely plan to comeback!

Room Tip: The Yellastone has one bedroom and a pullout couch in the living room. This accomodated our two you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OutdoorFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I found the Hideaway Ranch on the internet and because of the great reviews, I decided to book our family for a one night getaway. The Ranch more than exceeded our expectations! We stayed in the "Lonestar." The kids were in absolute awe when they saw the loft. Being from California and Illinois, we LOVED the Texas theme! It added so much to the ambience and experience of staying on a guest ranch. The Lonestar was perfect because the kids (all 4 of them) had their own private quarters, while we had our privacy. I posted our pictures on Facebook when we got back earlier today. People are already asking me where we went! Traci is SO sweet & wonderful and the ranch has so much to offer at a very reasonable cost that I am recommending the Hideaway Ranch and Retreat 100 percent!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McMomma5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

This was our fourth time at the Hideaway Ranch, our excitement started about two weeks before our trip, because of the great memories we had from past trips here. This time was better then ever!!! The weather was cold and wet, just what we wanted to really enjoy the hot tub. Nothing better than the cold and stars and a wonderful outdoor hot tub. The room is always great, our daughter had phoned ahead to Traci and she did everything Hannah had requested, what a Surprise!! We love how clean and quiet everything is. We have been coming once per year, but on the way home we agreed we have to start making it twice a year. It does us a great deal of good to get out of the city. This is the perfect place to come. Thanks so much for all your hard work to make our stay so nice. Matt and Barbara

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msbreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed in the Cimarron Cabin on 12/31/10 & 1/1/11. We have stayed here before and had a very nice experience and did not want for anything. This time was not that great. On our first night there I decided to take a shower and not even half way through my shower I completely ran out of hot water. I had to rinse off with ice cold water. We go to get into the Jacuzzi and find that the lights do not work which we were not at all happy with. The light above the shower did not work. There was a light bulb missing from the ceiling fan in the bedroom. We ran out of paper towels on 1/1/11 and went to get more and found that the cabin was not properly restocked with paper towels.The roll of paper towels that was left on the counter for our use was almost gone when we got there. The attention to detail that we received on our first stay was perfect, but this time it was over looked. I think at $159.00 a night ,attention to detail is a must. This was emailed to the owner(Traci) and her response to my wife was that she would talk to her cleaning crew and make sure they OVERstock the paper towels. Her comment back to us came across as rude. When you spend that kind of money, everything should be working in the cabin.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank McDaddy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traci329, Owner at The Hideaway Ranch & Retreat, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
We are sorry to learn about this disappointed review and guest experience. Of course, we strive to make each guest's visit a wonderful experience. Had this couple discussed these problems with us during their stay, we would have gladly corrected them immediately. We are nothing but professional and friendly when responding to all emails. We use this information to improve our business and are saddened that someone left the ranch without enjoying the peace, quiet & tranquility (not to mention the view of beautiful paint horses & longhorns) available in the country. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluff Dale
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
11.2 mi away
Inn on the River
Inn on the River
#1 of 6 in Glen Rose
123 reviews
11.8 mi away
Country Woods Inn
Country Woods Inn
#2 of 6 in Glen Rose
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Granbury Gardens Bed And Breakfast
18.4 mi away
Dinosaur Trail Cabins and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Ranch & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Ranch & Retreat

Property: The Hideaway Ranch & Retreat
Address: County Road 196, Bluff Dale, TX 76043
Location: United States > Texas > Bluff Dale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bluff Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, romantic retreat nestled in the beautiful North Central Texas Hill Country near Glen Rose & Granbury. If you are looking for a place to get away for a romantic weekend or for a family vacation, you have found it. Our cabins lie nestled among the oaks on 155 acres. We specialize in seclusion, tranquility and privacy. Each cabin offers a private hot tub, a fully furnished kitchen, and picnic tables. Activities on the property include: hiking, fishing and swimming, stargazing, playground, animal watching,and horseback riding. We have Texas longhorns, paint horses, donkeys, llamas & poultry on site. We gladly welcome pets and children. You won't want to leave this place! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Ranch And Retreat
The Hideaway Ranch & Retreat Hotel Bluff Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing