We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redbud Cafe

Redbud Cafe
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Blanco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Redbud Cafe is located just off IH 281, on the north side of the town square, right next door to Brieger Pottery, and directly across the street from the Old Blanco Courthouse. Our food is made fresh daily using premium products, local and organic whenever possible. We also use filtered water in everything we make.
Kingsland, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Good beer and Great Hamburgers! Very nice people. Simply cool! We will be back and try some other goodies there as well!!

Helpful?
1 Thank suegirlgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    88
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
332 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Big-Town Taste in a Small-Town Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Imagine a few artists and musicians with a love food and drink who moved from someplace like New York to Austin for college and then decided to stay after graduation and rehab an old cowboy town general store and turn it into a deli-brewpub-music venue like ones they enjoyed in Austin or back home in New York. That is how this place felt to me. We stopped by one afternoon for lunch and had drinks (including beer), sandwiches and dessert. Staff were very friendly, patient and helpful. Menu selection was reasonably diverse. Everything we saw or ordered showed attention to detail and tasted good. Beer selection was generous, with lots of local products. I appreciated the availability of beer flights. Setting was airy and casual. Prices were reasonable for "folks from the big city." Nothing was "amazing," but we enjoyed our visit and consider it a safe bet for a pitstop when traveling between Austin and San Antonio.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank westernfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Went there to hear the band Zydeco Blanco. The place was packed. Loved the way the staff took it all in stride and were still very kind and efficient. Thumbs up on the Blanco Burger but my quiche was just O.K. Had wine and beer and a heck of a good time. This is a very comfortable feelin' place. We'll go there again when in Blanco.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank froglegs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Redbud Cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Lively diner on the historic square with unoriginal menu and no wine. Older hippie crowd regulars with music venue and bad acoustics which make it impossible to hear. Probably better for lunch than dinner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank E Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just left The Redbud cafe. Two adults and 3 11 year old children. We read the trip advisor review and were expecting some really yummy homemade food. The menu was big and there were plenty of options for everyone. The prices were reasonable and the portions were good. We were disappointed with the overall taste of everything. Each item missed the mark. The cream of mushroom soup was watery not creamy at all. The potatoe salad although the flavor was fine it was so dry. Dry potatoe salad? The ham and cheese the girls ordered was dry I mean they ordered it dry but the bread seemed it had been sitting out all day. I mean dry! French dip was ok not worth mentioning.
I wish I could have written a better review because the potential for the meals was just not met. The RESTARAUNT is adorable!! The service was perfect. We did not have a pastry they looked good.
I will say it was better than more fast food which we ate too much of over the weekend.
I hope they improve the recipes because I really enjoyed the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jca990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redbud Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Redbud Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing