We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true gem! What a Value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chess Club Cafe

Chess Club Cafe
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Blanco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Their phone number is (830) 833 - 4930. They're listed on Super Pages and have been open for about a month.
Austin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A true gem! What a Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I belong to a motorcycling riding group that makes regular stops here when we come through Blanco. They really impress me with their ability to accommodate are groups of 7-12 in the smallish restaurant. they are very pleasant and service is excellent. The food is very good but the shining star is the value. You sure won't find food this good for this price anywhere in Austin.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Technigogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    34
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Country Cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

What a nice surprise - we introduced our Indian friends to chicken fried chicken and they loved it. The coating was delicious and the mashed potatoes creamy. The green beans were tasty-not overcooked. The menu was diverse and they feature homemade baked goods. The setting is a little old country house with country service and country charm.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobtheBuilder39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in Blanco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great fresh food with reasonable prices. Absolutely the best in Blanco. Excellent chicken fried steak and wonderful salads.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gkdowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanco, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old town charm with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Steve and Emily have put together a fantastic restaurant in a old Blanco house that many in the hill country come to eat at. The only regret is that the food choices, while fantastic are limited. Steve is a world class chef!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hearty home cooked breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stopped here for breakfast while staying in Blanco. The atmosphere was comfy and friendly. Both hubby and I really enjoyed our choices - very tasty Migas with just the right amount of spice, and a fresh egg, bacon and spinach omelet. Both came with seasoned home fried potatoes that were not greasy, and thick sliced toast. We were promptly seated and served allowing us to get on with our day in a very timely manner without feeling rushed. Will be going back whenever we stay in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gogirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chess Club Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Chess Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing