We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plaza Inn Big Spring
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Big Spring
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I don't usually bother to write reviews, but I felt that I owed it to my fellow citizens to warn them about this place. Big Spring is experiencing an oil boom. Most of the hotels in the area have responded by raising their rates. This hotel has the cheapest rates in town. They keep the rates low by failing to clean the rooms properly. They advertise a pool which has been out of service for over a year and has become a storage for junk. The room stinks of mildew, there was trash on the floor of my room along with dead bugs and funky black buildup in the corners of the bathroom floor. I am not picky- I only needed a place to sleep. It was difficult to sleep because the filthiness of the room haunted me throughout the night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candor555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 18 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

I had stopped across the interstate at another motel, it was priced too high.
The man there said I could find a cheaper motel across the road, but they had bed bugs.
So, I went to check it out for myself.
I asked the sweet lady behind the desk if I could look at the room first and she said sure.
The room was very nice and very clean. No bed bugs! So, I told her what her competition said.
She said that it had happened before, but that she never badmouthed him.
So, we chose to stay with her. We were very comfortable and had all that we required.
I will chose someone that does not use dirty tactics every time!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

One word describes this place - nasty. It doesn't even earn one dot, but I had to put one to post this review. If it hadn't been midnight when we checked in, we would have demanded our money back and gotten the heck out of there. We booked two rooms at the last minute and they were both filthy, dirty, stained sheets and carpets, dirty bathrooms and smelly. My husband wore his flip flops because the carpet was so dirty. We stripped the blanket and bedspread off the bed and used the pillows and blankets we had in the car. The light in the bathroom had excretement smeared all over it. The counter girl apologized the next morning and said housekeeping would check the room, but I'm sure they were all the same - disgusting!

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank kristinahensley559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is a place to sleep, could use upgrading and cleaned. Be prepared when you visit this part of Texas, as Midland and Odessa areas are always booked. This is the closest you will get within a 50 mile radius, if you do not have reservations.. Staff was more than cordial and aiming to please.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgwds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I came to West Texas this past weekend looking for memories. And I brought my dog along because she will let me drive her Cadillac if I bring her, but if I don't she makes me drive my old Buick instead.

When I got there your desk clerk named Monika worked hard to make me comfortable. She moved me because Shasta wanted to save me
from every passing customer, and she would not stop barking at them. Monika worked her fingers to the bone to make me comfortable, but I think she made a more lasting impression on Shasta with her tummy rub. I was very happy to be there, and usually I insist on staying with a name-brand I recognize.

Now that brings me to the cricket in the bed. I was amused with that. I haven't seen a cricket in years. I grew up in West Texas and crickets stink. Grasshoppers eat everything and I saw quite a few of them, but I was not ready for the homecoming I can only hope is there.


I noticed big fat healthy red ants all over the place, and I had to beleive my life-long little friend the Texas Horned Lizzard is somwhere around waiting for dinner.


Have you had any customers jumping for joy because you had red ants in the parking lot? Well, now you have..


Because where there are red ants there are also horned lizzards. And, I don't think there's a Texan alive that doesn't wish he would come back home. He only likes red ants, and he's starved to death in the most of the state.

And you had a feast going right underneath your sign.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnold_Ziffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2008

We stayed at this Motel last week. I would never stay there again. The bed was the worst we had ever slept on. The room was dirty. Yes, the place is old, but even an older place can be clean. The carpets were filthy and had that "carpet freshner" sprinkled on it to cover up any smells. The bathroom was very dirty. Urine was all over the lid as well as the bottom of the commode. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jjmmwaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2007

I stayed at this motel because it was the host hotel for my daughter's gymnastics meet at Big Spring. Upon check-in staff were friendly but slow in checking us in. When we finally made it to our rooms, the location was terrible as we were in the back buildind facing trash cans and fields. The noise was terrible as there is a Petro station right next door. The room was typical motel 6ish....if it had been remodeled I can only imagine what it looked like before. Carpets were quite dirty and my daughter's allergies were unbearable. Breakfast was typical continental and they had ran out of most items and it was just 8:30 am. We have another meet this year in Big Spring and I will not be staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElPasoGymMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Spring hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Big Spring
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Big Spring TX
Super 8 Big Spring TX
#7 of 17 in Big Spring
64 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Big Spring
Days Inn & Suites Big Spring
#6 of 17 in Big Spring
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Settles
Hotel Settles
#1 of 17 in Big Spring
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Big Spring
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Big Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Inn Big Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Inn Big Spring

Address: 700 West I-20, Big Spring, TX 79720 (Formerly Super 8)
Location: United States > Texas > Big Spring
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Big Spring
Price Range: $52 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plaza Inn Big Spring 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Plaza Inn Big Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing