We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEAUTIFUL GEM IN WEST TEXAS DESERT!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Settles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Settles
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Big Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL GEM IN WEST TEXAS DESERT!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

My Fiance and I went to Hotel Settles for a romantic Valentines Day evening! We were pleasantly surprised when we walked into the lobby. We are greeted by a beautiful crystal chandelier, fine furnishings and an inviting double stair case. I felt like we had gone back in time to a 5 star hotel in New York City!

The front desk agents were very friendly and efficient. They explained all the hotel amenities and gave us clear direction on where everything was located.

We went up to our room and it was very clean and well decorated. We were a bit disappointed that we had a double bed, we expected a queen or king. The bathroom was a bit small but I liked how they kept the original tiles and fixtures. One problem with keeping the original sink is the faucet is very low and you have to bend over far to reach the water. When we turned the water on it made a deep, constant sound that sounded like a race car motor. It wasn't pleasant to say the least. We liked that we had a ceiling fan since those are rare in hotel rooms. They provided bottled water but no coffee which was a big negative to me who has to have coffee every morning.

We went to the bar before dinner and they had a guy singing and playing guitar which was a nice bonus. The bar is cozy and the servers are friendly. We were pleased with our drinks, Tom Collins and Manhattan.

The dinner was a fixed four course menu for Valentines. We were seated in a room that was next to the pool. We had a small folding table that felt a bit cramped and it got crowded with wine, water and our meal. The service was good but it was obvious the help was local. They weren't very knowledgeable and she seemed flustered.

The food tasted fresh and well prepared. I would like to go back on a non-holiday evening when it's not as chaotic. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel and I look forward to go back. It truly is a Gem in the Desert!

Room Tip: Be sure to specify bed size, we had a small bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndsay n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Manager at Hotel Settles, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Lyndsay,

Thank you for the excellent feedback. Valentines tends to be a popular weekend with many options. Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Settles and dine in Settles Grill. The guestrooms on the historic third floor with the vintage restrooms have retained their original charm and configurations. Whereas, restrooms in the tower floor guestrooms are substantially larger and more modern. Complimentary lobby coffee is available daily 6am-10am and Keurig's available upon request. We would like to reserve a Deluxe King or Superior King accommodations with a Keurig Coffee maker next upon y our next visit. We appreciate the wonderful comments. The opportunities will be reviewed and addressed by our team. Congratulations on your engagement. Please don't hesitate to contact us with questions, confirmation, or future planning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    37
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
62
84
7
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Needed to spend a week in Big Spring for work and was pleasantly surprised to have such a wonderful stay at the newly remodeled Historic Settles Hotel. I was in a room on the sixth floor that was a combination of two of the smaller historic rooms I'm sure. It was beatiful, had 2 queen beds, wet bar with refigerator. Bath room was spacious, had modern shower and tub and Aveda tolietries. Room even had a walk in closet off the bath. Very comforable bed, flat screen TV and desk in room. And like another review stated, the room was very quiet. It has the old world charm with all the modern ammenities. I traveled with two others and they also had wonderful roooms and were very satisfied. We ate one night in the bar that is very nicely done and had great hamburgers. We also ate in the restaurant that had live piano player night we dined. Everyone loved their meals, I can highly recommend the salmon and cream brulee. I'm already booked again for my next business trip there. If you are traveling in the area, certainly worth an overnight stay. You will love the historic lobby that serves complimentary coffee each morning. The hotel staff was friendly and attentive in all areas.

Room Tip: I heard the historic rooms are on the 3rd floor and much smaller. We had rooms on 4th, 6th and I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Manager at Hotel Settles, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Barbara J

Thank you for the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The restoration process included reducing overall inventory to provide very spacious, accommodations with upgraded features throughout the hotel. The various guest rooms on the historic third floor remain their original size, charm, and configurations. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Wonderful stay over the holidays at the Settles. Lobby was tastefully decorated and the backdrop to many beautiful photos. Comfortable old world grace. A historic hotel that doesn't use its age as an excuse for disrepair. They have done an amazing job bringing this hotel back to its former glory. So quiet and calm we felt like we had the entire hotel to ourselves. I can't remember staying anywhere where you couldn't hear other guests, doors closing, maid carts, or noisy elevators, building feels grounded and strong. We stepped off the elevator on our floor and could have been arriving at a penthouse in an old movie. Very nice weight room, full complement of machines, multiple treadmills and elipticals, at least 800 sq ft of space dedicated to the gym. Bar downstairs called 'Pharmacy" as a nod to its history during prohibition. They even opened the restaurant downstairs on Christmas morning for the guests without breakfast plans. Loved our stay and will be back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

My husband was born in this city of Big Springs, Most of his family had worked here at the Settles Hotel when young. Mr. Bill Cole (director of Operations) made our day. He was amazing. Outstanding hospitality and great service. We had a suite with an amazing view. Suite was very clean and invititng. Mr. Cole also gave us some history on the hotel since it had been closed for 35 years and renovated a little over a year. Theymaintained the beauty of it's original style. One of a kind. We highly recommend you to stay for a great experience. We are very grateful to Mr.Cole and all his help and hope to stay in the future again. Thank you, W'ell never forget your hospitality. Mr. Mrs. John Amaya.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite on the 10th floor, it had a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is a great Hotel and Value for Big Spring, but In all honesty it needs a little polish, training and attention to detail before I would compare it to say the Driskill in Austin etc. Found out after the fact if you want coffee in your room you need to ask for it upon check in. Also if you have a base room reserved and someone comes in and wants to rent the last one, you may checkk in and be told your reservation was canceled, although after mini stroke they will volunteerly upgrade you to a suite, I imagine finding good help and well trained help while an oil boom is going on is difficult at best Saw some operational defficiences and Wow moments that could easily be attained, but overall I am positive this is the best there is in Big Spring and great value and only wrote the review to help the Owners take it to the levall where you drive 50 miles out of your way to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Heading to El Paso we planned to stay one night at the newly renovated Hotel Settles after seeing an article in "Texas Monthly". Winter storm Boreas gave us the opportunity for another night!

The money renovating the Settles was well-spent. Our room with 2 queen beds was large with a wonderful bathroom including a HUGE shower, separate dressing area, closet & drawers, as well as a wet-bar. Even though we were iced in at the hotel, the three of us never felt on top of one another. It looks like on most floors there are only 5 rooms per floor.

The food in both the Settles Grill & Pharmacy Bar was tasty. The staff was gracious & helpful in taking care of our itinerary changes.

We'll go back to try out the pool & hot tub... it was too chilly for us this time around!

Room Tip: Go higher up to get a better view of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frogcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

So very glad we had the opportunity to stay at this hotel. We had to be in town for a funeral and decided the make the best of the trip and stay there. We were not disappointed. We had a Parlor room and it was great. Lots of room, renovations very well done. Service was great at the front desk and restaurant was great for lunch. The bar service had a lot to be desired but otherwise the whole two nights were great. Will look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texsmiley41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Spring hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Big Spring
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Big Spring
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Big Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Big Spring
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Big Spring
Quality Inn Big Spring
#5 of 17 in Big Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Settles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Settles

Property: Hotel Settles
Address: 200 E 3rd St, Big Spring, TX 79720-2510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Big Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Big Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Settles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally opened in 1930, Hotel Settles has been restored to reclaim its place as the social center of West Texas. This historical art deco oasis serves as the towering centerpiece of downtown Big Spring, approximately 30 miles from Midland. Extensive renovations using the building's original blueprints have brought back the stylish details that evoke the charm, craftsmanship and architectural details of a bygone era. Hotel Settles welcomes guests with true Texas hospitality and a touch of relaxed elegance, from the opulently restored Grand Ballroom and Lobby to its 65 comfortably appointed guest rooms. The Settles Grill offers delicious Texan comfort food for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with a private dining room for up to 20. Pharmacy Bar & Parlor mixes classic cocktails and extensive beer and wine offerings with both a lively bar area and a quieter, more relaxed parlor section. An outdoor retreat with swimming pool and a fitness studio round out the choices for true relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Settles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing