We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, Now. 5 Stars in Big Spring? Who Would Have Thought?!?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Settles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Settles
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Big Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Well, Now. 5 Stars in Big Spring? Who Would Have Thought?!?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

OK, blasting across Texas from Houston to Flagstaff NOT on the interstates (try it, there's some gorgeous country, great highways, good food and cheap gas). This takes you through some desolate country too. Getting road-beat about Big Spring but having been through here before we weren't planning on stopping. Roswell is still a long ways off. Wife gets on Tripadvisor and finds the circa 1929 Hotel Settles in downtown. 5 stars in Big Spring? Really? Yessirree. The best rate we could get was $149, but hey, due to the current oil boom, the SUPER 8's rooms START at $92. OK, we'll kick in the extra fifty and change for something special. Man are we glad we did. What an amazing hotel. Derelict and closed for 35 or so years, the owners did a 6 year, 32 million dollar renovation and you can see where the time and money invested went. 5 stars indeed. Nice outdoor pool, hot tub spa, fitness center. Restaurant is excellent, the Pharmacy bar is nice too. This place is literally an oasis in the desert. The town is thrilled to have this place and should be. Hopefully it will spur the continued resurrection of downtown. Bottom line: If you find yourselves in the region, don't hesitate to stay at this wonderful hotel. We stayed another night just because.

Room Tip: Ask for a tower suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElCazadorArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    39
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
62
86
7
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is certainly worth staying in, if you are anywhere near Big Spring and want to spend the night in a historic hotel. In fact, it's worth a special trip as the hotel has been restored, maybe beyond its former glory, complete with nice restaurant and lovely outdoor pool. The owner is also restoring adjacent buildings and theater so Big Spring may become a unique destination by itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel last weekend and was quite impressed on how it has changed back into the glory it once had many moons ago. I went to school in Big Spring and once visited the property when it was abandoned and stripped down to nothing. They have done an excellent job with renovations. When I arrived there was no one at the front desk yet discovered the front desk clerk was helping another guest, no worries. I was a bit taken back the next day after returning to my room at 5pm as it was not refreshed. I called the front desk to ask about it and they asked if I had my do not disturb sign on the door, I didn't. The gentleman said housekeeping was gone for the day yet offered to bring us anything we needed. Food in the Grille wasn't great...had to send my son's fried chicken fingers back as they were over fried and still had to pay for them along with the cheeseburger we had to order instead. Brunch for 4 came to $70, no alcohol and was similar to Chilis food which we could get for $45...oh, and they would have gladly exchanged the chicken tenders he didn't eat for a burger.
Fine touches is what the hotel needs on service but the bones of the hotel are excellent and I will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Even though there is still construction going on in the hotel the guest area is up and running very well. You will feel like you are stepping back into 1930 when you enter the renovations of this hotel. They have stayed true to the period of 1930 with the remodel and the rooms and suites can go from the luxury range to the more moderate range as far as prices go. Guest will enjoy the beautiful pool area , the Pharamcy Sports Bar, and the hotel grill. Ballroom and meetings room are also beautiful and well designed. There is also a presidental and bridal suite for those special guest and occasions.

Room Tip: If you want to splurge pick the upgraded suites that are near the top of the hotel and have the luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 774teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Visited the Settles with memories of its existence during my being born and raised in Big Spring. Fabulous place with rooms and other amenities equivalent to those of any 4 or 5 star hotel! You must visit to experience it! It is awesome!

Room Tip: Queen room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringCity1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Level Contributor
149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

A beautiful restoration still in progress. The attention to detail here is massive. They lined up a in room massage for me and my guest. They have excellent food and I can hardly wait for their spa to open. Their food is unbeatable. What a stunning place and I cannot wiat for them to have a special event - cuz I'm going!!

I have stayed there twice now.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diveplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Spring
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Even though we live in Big Spring, we spent our 54th wedding anniversary at the Settles...and thought it compared to the New Orleans hotel we visited last year. The restoration is first class and because it was a special occasion for us, we were treated royally. The staff is unfailingly friendly and accommodating, a special thing in today's world. We can't wait to visit again when the pool, hot tub, spa, and patio are in operation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texnan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Spring hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Big Spring
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Big Spring
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Big Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Big Spring
Quality Inn Big Spring
#5 of 17 in Big Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Big Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Settles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Settles

Property: Hotel Settles
Address: 200 E 3rd St, Big Spring, TX 79720-2510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Big Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Big Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Settles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally opened in 1930, Hotel Settles has been restored to reclaim its place as the social center of West Texas. This historical art deco oasis serves as the towering centerpiece of downtown Big Spring, approximately 30 miles from Midland. Extensive renovations using the building's original blueprints have brought back the stylish details that evoke the charm, craftsmanship and architectural details of a bygone era. Hotel Settles welcomes guests with true Texas hospitality and a touch of relaxed elegance, from the opulently restored Grand Ballroom and Lobby to its 65 comfortably appointed guest rooms. The Settles Grill offers delicious Texan comfort food for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with a private dining room for up to 20. Pharmacy Bar & Parlor mixes classic cocktails and extensive beer and wine offerings with both a lively bar area and a quieter, more relaxed parlor section. An outdoor retreat with swimming pool and a fitness studio round out the choices for true relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Settles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing