We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience - recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Big Spring
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Big Spring
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Did not have a reservation and decided to stop and see if a room was available. Given the hotel reviews in the area (Abilene, Midland, and Odessa) I was hesitant. They had a room, and the hotel seemed decent and the location right off I-20 was perfect. Service was very good and friendly. Room rate was especially decent for the area ($109 for two queen beds). The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. Really nice breakfast in the morning. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpainTraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Big Spring, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear SpainTraveler6,
Thank you for your recent review regarding Holiday Inn Express Big Spring. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will also be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make HIE Big Spring a leader in excellence.
Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.
Sincerely, Angie W, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 76 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel rooms are at premium in this area of West Texas because of the energy boom. Prepare to pay higher than usual prices for moderate accommodations such as this. On the plus side, all the staff I encountered directly were friendly and eager-to-please and the breakfast was dependable & typical HI Express offerings; beds are comfortable. On the down side, my refrigerator was broken in the room, the television channel/codes varied depending on the brand of TV in the room (there was no info card posting in the room to help you decipher), and there were "special instructions" to follow to activate a wake-up call (once again--you had to receive verbal instructions since there were non posted in the room). The walls are a bit thin so turn on your unit fan and you should be okay. You have to drive about 2.5 miles to get to the nearest restaurant offerings in town. There are limited restaurant offerings in Big Spring.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has distance between it and the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Big Spring, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear RD M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a feedback of our property. I am happy to know that you found our staff service to be efficient and our bed accommodations comfortable enough for your stay. I am sorry that your stay was negatively affected by some amenities not working in your room. I have taken note of your comments and we will use them to improve our efforts.

Once again, many thanks for your review. We hope to have the chance of hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not a bad place to stay but you may have to lower your expectations some because the pick'ins in Big Springs is limited. Also understand there is an energy boom in this area and rooms are at a premium. As with other hotels in the area this hotel has been taken over by the energy related workers as evidenced by the filled lot of company trucks. The location is good but it is beginning to show some wear from lack of maintenance (doors not closing, scrapes and marks, trim falling off room interiors and appliances, etc.). They do keep it pretty clean and I did rest fairly well despite the thin walls and doors. The breakfast is a well supplied array of the usual fare. As HI Expresses go I've been in a lot better but what this place does have going for it is the super friendly down home staff that will go out of their way for you. Just be prepared for sticker shock.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WisconsinRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Big Spring, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Here at Holiday Inn Express Big Spring. we take pride in our friendly, attentive staff and the overall cleanliness of our hotel. As you did notice, energy companies abound in the area at this time. We strive to provide the same excellent service to our new, as well as our loyal guests, even though space is at a premium in West Texas. We also thank you for the comments about the need for maintenance around the hotel, as we are always looking for ways to improve your experience. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate department, and measures to improve have begun. Have a nice day, and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

After reading a few other reviews i was a bit skeptical. But my experience here was excellent. Front desk staff was helpful and funny. Did all to make my stay great. Workout room was good. Could have changed out bacterial wipes. Container was dried out. Room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, had a small variety. I would stay here again if in the area.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Abel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We are a group of 10 friends who were on a motorcycle trip through the area. This place was very clean, a little pricey but the rooms were large with great beds! The north side rooms are noisy next to the freeway. If I go back through the area I will ask for a south side room. The breakfast was OK but there is not much to chose from in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarvaandLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

First of all, I'm sorry if you have to stay in Big Spring, unless you're there because you're making a fortune in oil. All the hotels are way over-priced and there isn't a good place to eat in town- don't believe the triple A book. We wound up there for a night on our way to California via Cloudcroft NM. The town was packed with oil industry people and we were lucky to get any room. It can be hard for me to travel, because I have asthma, and a lot of hotels are too "poisonous" for me. We can make a reservation, and then not be able to stay there when we enter the room, and it triggers my asthma. That happened to us in Big Spring. We called the Best Western around 2pm when we realized we 'd be in Big Spring for the night, but couldn't stay there after all. We tried the Hampton Inn, but couldn't take the incredibly overly perfumed place either. We wound up getting about the last room available at the Holiday Inn Express. As a last resort, we were lucky. It was the most expensive room we stayed in during a 3 week trip (over $160.), and it was the worst. They wouldn't accept triple A or senior discount.. If we had known anything about Big Spring, we would have stayed in Sweetwater.

Room Tip: Choose a room in Sweetwater if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The two worst things about this location is the service and the breakfast. I know it is complimentary, but come on. It is one of the selling points and not even worth mentioning. Speaking of not worth mentioning is the front desk attendant Cynthia. This girl was beyond rude and lacks any type of professional communication skills. After calling the front desk with a problem it took 39 minutes to even address. Even this Cynthia did not apologize and talked on her hotel cordless phone the entire time we were trying to communicate. I was very disappointed in this two night stay and would not recommend this location to anyone.

Room Tip: There is only one elevator so if you do stay here (not recommended) try to get on the first floor. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Dear Chris P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am truly sorry to hear that the quality of service you received and the breakfast options during your stay did not live up to your expectations. We take your comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Bon V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Spring hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Big Spring
1.1 mi away
Hotel Settles
Hotel Settles
#1 of 17 in Big Spring
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Big Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palace Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Big Spring
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Big Spring
Quality Inn Big Spring
#5 of 17 in Big Spring
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Big Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Big Spring

Address: 1109 N Aylesford St, Big Spring, TX 79720-1155
Location: United States > Texas > Big Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Big Spring
Price Range: $90 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Big Spring 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Big Spring. We are conveniently located near downtown Big Spring, the Heritage Museum and Comanche Trail Park, which includes the new Big Spring Aquatic Center. We are also minutes away from The Hanger 25 air museum. All guest rooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi; iron & ironing board, microwave, refrigerators, coffee makers, cordless phones, and hair dryers...free continental breakfast! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel is an interior corridor hotel with keycard locks, a fitness facility, and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Big Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Big Spring Hotel Big Spring
Holiday Inn Big Spring
Big Spring Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing