We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room for price!!!”
Review of West Texas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Texas Inn
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Big Spring
Big Spring, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great room for price!!!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

First, I'm not a Super 8 girl, period. But this was the only hotel with good pricing everybody else was asking for an outrageous price?????The facility had easy on/off access to the interstate, and check in was no problem. The bed was comfortable, and the room had been recently renovated , new frige , microwave and flat screen tvs. Clean and tidy everything worked, pillows good, linens freshly laundered, internet is fast, and A/C was wonderful. Room is small, but by myself. I'd stay here again in a pinch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anita q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    9
    11
    21
See reviews for
12
9
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keosauqua, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The facility had easy on/off access to the interstate, and check in was no problem. The bed was comfortable, and the room had been recently painted, but the rest of the amenities could stand to be replaced. The bath area was clean but in poor repair. The refrigerator freezer section door was missing and it needed defrosting. The TV was old with only a mediocre picture. The carpeting may have been vacuumed, but was stained and probably the item most in need of replacement. This facility at best is adequate, but not attractive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terlingua, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

and in this case it was terrible. I'd gone to Big Spring TX to the VA hospital there so was a bit antsy to begin with.
Big Spring is in the oil patch so a lot of big trucks was no surprise - but they were all over, blocking traffic and in general trying to act like a VolksWagen.
Check in was no problem as I had a reservation.
Got to the room and the lights were out - from the light switch by the door - only the light by the bathroom came on.
WiFi - what wifi, it was there, but so slow and poor quality as to be unusable. Couldn't even check email - gave up after about 15 minutes!
Shower - even with the shower curtain in the shower cubicle I got out to water all over the floor. Looked like it was coming under the retaining barrier.
Forget it, I'll watch a movie and go to bed - I wish! the TV worked but the remote didn't.
All in all, if this were my only experience with Motel 6 it would have been my last. Thankfully this is an exception to a normally good, clean, inexpensive chain.

Room Tip: Being in the oil patch, I expected a lot of traffic. They have to get up and go at all hours of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerlinguaDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big Spring hotels

Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We got there late, but the front desk was friendly. This property is in bad need of updating. Our air conditioner barely worked, but we were tired and it was ok for one night. Easy access to the interstate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GweninTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My 3 children and I stayed at this Motel 6 for 5 days after staying 1 night at a Motel 6 in Dallas. Maybe we were spoiled from the gorgeous room in Dallas but Big Spring was awful. The carpet was sticky and stained. There was mold around the toilet and shower and the floor in the bathroom was so sticky I didn't want to take my shoes off. Our door wouldn't close all the way unless you pushed really hard, so we had someone knock and the door pop open. The walls were very thin, we could hear the neighboring rooms radio. I think Motel 6 has great prices for a place to sleep, but for the length of the stay we had, I expected more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
214 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Quite run down though clean. Could use a face lift.

Room Tip: cheaper than staying in Midland or Odessa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Room is all run down and dirty. AC works miraculously but all broken and filthy. TV is old and and hard to set. It is very run down. Shower is a mess. The whole place needs renevation. However, WiFi is free and works well. Front desk clerk was new, inexperienced but very nice.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Husn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Spring hotels
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Big Spring TX
Super 8 Big Spring TX
#6 of 17 in Big Spring
55 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Big Spring
Days Inn & Suites Big Spring
#7 of 17 in Big Spring
54 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Settles
Hotel Settles
#1 of 17 in Big Spring
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Big Spring
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Big Spring
Quality Inn Big Spring
#5 of 17 in Big Spring
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Big Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Texas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Texas Inn

Property: West Texas Inn
Address: 600 West I-20 Rt 2, I-20 at U.S. 87, Exit #177, Big Spring, TX 79720 (Formerly Motel 6 Big Spring)
Location: United States > Texas > Big Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Big Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — West Texas Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At West Texas Inn we strive to give our guests a clean comfortable stay. We have free internet access and full cable tv in all rooms. We also have refrigerators and microwaves in rooms per request at no charge. There is also a swimming pool, guest laundry facility, truck parking and security system. At West Texas Inn we are a pet friendly motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Motel-6 so you can book your West Texas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Big Spring Hotel Big Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing