We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old property in need of updating.”
Review of West Texas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Texas Inn
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Big Spring
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very old property in need of updating.”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We got there late, but the front desk was friendly. This property is in bad need of updating. Our air conditioner barely worked, but we were tired and it was ok for one night. Easy access to the interstate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GweninTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    9
    11
    21
See reviews for
12
9
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My 3 children and I stayed at this Motel 6 for 5 days after staying 1 night at a Motel 6 in Dallas. Maybe we were spoiled from the gorgeous room in Dallas but Big Spring was awful. The carpet was sticky and stained. There was mold around the toilet and shower and the floor in the bathroom was so sticky I didn't want to take my shoes off. Our door wouldn't close all the way unless you pushed really hard, so we had someone knock and the door pop open. The walls were very thin, we could hear the neighboring rooms radio. I think Motel 6 has great prices for a place to sleep, but for the length of the stay we had, I expected more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Quite run down though clean. Could use a face lift.

Room Tip: cheaper than staying in Midland or Odessa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Big Spring hotels

Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Room is all run down and dirty. AC works miraculously but all broken and filthy. TV is old and and hard to set. It is very run down. Shower is a mess. The whole place needs renevation. However, WiFi is free and works well. Front desk clerk was new, inexperienced but very nice.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Husn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed at the Motel 6 in Big Spring, Texas for one night while on a road-trip. The room was your standard Motel 6 room and I must admit it was fairly clean. The bathroom was above average compared to other Motel 6s. My only complaint is that the walls were so thin, that we could hear everything that went on outside our room, including in the room next door. Therefore, neither I or my husband were able to sleep well.
Besides that, the location was very convenient, as we had easy access to the Interstate.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Spring, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2012

WOW..what a dump! I've never stayed in such a run down motel. I wish I could have read the reviews before stopping here. I will say however that generally hotel 6's have clean rooms but this place is a joke. The bathroom has paint splatters all over the floor along with mold around the shower plus very "sticky" when walking on it and the toilet has rust stains all through it. Pillow cases have stains on them along with the sheets. This place obviously caters to construction workers (nothing wrong with this) however they like to drink and get very loud through out the motel. If you’re looking for a nice clean room and quietness...pass this dump up and spend the extra 20 bucks and stay at a descent hotel or motel, I would have been more comfortable sleeping in my car.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 231.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

First, I'm not a Motel 6 guy, period. But this was the only game in town and I was too tired to press on, so I took it, figuring I could sleep in the car if it was as bad as the other reviews.

It is NOT ! Room was clean-tidy-functional. Everything worked, bed seems new-ish, pillows good, linens freshly laundered. Internet is fast, A/C works well, as do Fridge, TV (70+ channels) and Micro.

Room is small, but by myself. Yes, there are only two towells, but I'll survive. My only gripe - no coffee maker, but for $50 that's okay. I'd stay here again in a pinch.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoboTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Spring hotels
2.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Big Spring
Days Inn & Suites Big Spring
#6 of 17 in Big Spring
58 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Big Spring TX
Super 8 Big Spring TX
#7 of 17 in Big Spring
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Big Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Big Spring
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Big Spring
Quality Inn Big Spring
#5 of 17 in Big Spring
30 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Settles
Hotel Settles
#1 of 17 in Big Spring
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Texas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Texas Inn

Property: West Texas Inn
Address: 600 West I-20 Rt 2, I-20 at U.S. 87, Exit #177, Big Spring, TX 79720 (Formerly Motel 6 Big Spring)
Location: United States > Texas > Big Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Big Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — West Texas Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At West Texas Inn we strive to give our guests a clean comfortable stay. We have free internet access and full cable tv in all rooms. We also have refrigerators and microwaves in rooms per request at no charge. There is also a swimming pool, guest laundry facility, truck parking and security system. At West Texas Inn we are a pet friendly motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Motel-6, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your West Texas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Big Spring Hotel Big Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing