We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to even Motel 6 standards”
Review of West Texas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Texas Inn
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Big Spring
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Quite run down though clean. Could use a face lift.

Room Tip: cheaper than staying in Midland or Odessa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 46 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

Room is all run down and dirty. AC works miraculously but all broken and filthy. TV is old and and hard to set. It is very run down. Shower is a mess. The whole place needs renevation. However, WiFi is free and works well. Front desk clerk was new, inexperienced but very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Husn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed at the Motel 6 in Big Spring, Texas for one night while on a road-trip. The room was your standard Motel 6 room and I must admit it was fairly clean. The bathroom was above average compared to other Motel 6s. My only complaint is that the walls were so thin, that we could hear everything that went on outside our room, including in the room next door. Therefore, neither I or my husband were able to sleep well.
Besides that, the location was very convenient, as we had easy access to the Interstate.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

WOW..what a dump! I've never stayed in such a run down motel. I wish I could have read the reviews before stopping here. I will say however that generally hotel 6's have clean rooms but this place is a joke. The bathroom has paint splatters all over the floor along with mold around the shower plus very "sticky" when walking on it and the toilet has rust stains all through it. Pillow cases have stains on them along with the sheets. This place obviously caters to construction workers (nothing wrong with this) however they like to drink and get very loud through out the motel. If you’re looking for a nice clean room and quietness...pass this dump up and spend the extra 20 bucks and stay at a descent hotel or motel, I would have been more comfortable sleeping in my car.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 231.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

First, I'm not a Motel 6 guy, period. But this was the only game in town and I was too tired to press on, so I took it, figuring I could sleep in the car if it was as bad as the other reviews.

It is NOT ! Room was clean-tidy-functional. Everything worked, bed seems new-ish, pillows good, linens freshly laundered. Internet is fast, A/C works well, as do Fridge, TV (70+ channels) and Micro.

Room is small, but by myself. Yes, there are only two towells, but I'll survive. My only gripe - no coffee maker, but for $50 that's okay. I'd stay here again in a pinch.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoboTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

It looks like this motel caters to construction workers, the room I checked out wasn't clean, old signs of bedbug poop, crumbs under the mattress cover and stains on the sheets. Several BBQ grills in the parking lot showed it was a permanent place for construction workers

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank schell1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Stayed at this motel for one night. Awoke to find roof shingles all over the parking lot and shingle scratches all over my car. Management was unwilling to pay for any damage. Offered to me instead, a free "2 night sleep". With such a great first stay, well how can I possibly resist such an offer!

Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
Thank RoadTripperBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Spring hotels
0.2 mi away
Spring City Inn
Spring City Inn
#10 of 19 in Big Spring
77 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Settles
Hotel Settles
#1 of 19 in Big Spring
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Big Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Big Spring
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Big Spring
Quality Inn Big Spring
#5 of 19 in Big Spring
32 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Big Spring
Days Inn & Suites Big Spring
#7 of 19 in Big Spring
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Texas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Texas Inn

Address: 600 West I-20 Rt 2, I-20 at U.S. 87, Exit #177, Big Spring, TX 79720 (Formerly Motel 6 Big Spring)
Location: United States > Texas > Big Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Big Spring
Price Range: $32 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — West Texas Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At West Texas Inn we strive to give our guests a clean comfortable stay. We have free internet access and full cable tv in all rooms. We also have refrigerators and microwaves in rooms per request at no charge. There is also a swimming pool, guest laundry facility, truck parking and security system. At West Texas Inn we are a pet friendly motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Motel-6, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your West Texas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Big Spring Hotel Big Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing