We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHAME ON YOU TIM OBRIEN”

O'Brien's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Bergheim
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“SHAME ON YOU TIM OBRIEN”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Our first time at this resaturant , we wanted to use a $50 gift card given to my husband as a gift, we had a tab of $144...the staff informed us that "our gift card was no longer valid because they had a new computer system that wouldn't take our card" it wasn't like we wanted change back or had a $51 tab...after the staff asked Tim O'brien, he offered to remove our lowest priced meal-DOES HE NOT KNOW THE LAW, TEXAS SENATE BILL 446, GIFT CARDS DO NOT EXPIRE! SHAME ON YOU FOR TREATING A CUSTOMER THIS WAY! Needless to say, we will never go back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    10
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chappell Hill, TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Service was topnotch!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our family of 16, including 3 generations, was very pleased with our dinner at O'Briens. We asked for the private dining room and got it. Our server Breanne was topnotch! She handled our group in a very friendly and professional manner, and that had to be a huge challenge. Our food was average, but we had no big complaints about it.
Would we go back? Absolutely!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
600 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“SLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW SERVICE”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We arrived Friday for our 630pm reservations. The place is packed--forced to park across the highway! The ALMOST PATSY CLINE Band was planning in the dining room, so its VERY loud! Promptly served our adult beverages and our order is taken by Nicole and then we wait until 8pm for our meal to be served!
Hubby had the special of the day - BBQ plate with 1/2 chicken and about 8 pork ribs ($21.99). Good, but very obvious that both meats were baked.
I ordered from the menu meatloaf with a tomato sauce and mashed potatoes ($13.99). Good, but the meatloaf was barely warm. We finished with sharing a piece of pumpkin caramel cake - excellent!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Napunani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Anniversary Dinner!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I went here for an Anniversary Dinner. The waitress was very attentive and friendly and the food was fabulous! I had the chicken with shrimp, artichoke hearts and capers and my husband had the sirloin steak. My chicken was delicious and the steak was tender and juicy. We will go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Montana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, TX
Level Contributor
140 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the few restaurants in the area and was recommended to me by a couple of golfers I met. A visitor to the area, the four of us headed there on a Tuesday for dinner. Not very busy (a few people in the bar), and we were seated immediately.

Service was okay, but our order for a wedge salad plus two chicken fried chickens, a cheeseburger and chopped steak was disappointing. The wedge salad was very plain, and the blue cheese dressing was not good. On the ch fried chicken, the gravy was a brown gravy vs typical cream gravy. The chopped steak was hard fried on the top and slightly pink in the middle - but not flavorful. The cheeseburger was large and typical.

Overall, just not what we expected from this local restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kgwd000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to O'Brien's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing