We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find but worth it!”

Backyard Bar-B-Q & Grill
Ranked #4 of 71 Restaurants in Belton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: Great little Bar-B-Q restaurant with a full menu from salads to chicken fried steaks.
Restaurant details
Description: Great little Bar-B-Q restaurant with a full menu from salads to chicken fried steaks.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
291 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth it!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The first time we went to this place we drove right past it. Twice. There is only a small sign out front and you have to drive around back to enter. Nice patio out back under the trees or the porch. Limited seating inside. We tried the brisket, ribs, and sausage. My daughter had the half chicken fried steak (and it was more than she could eat). All the items were good. The brisket was a bit fatty but that can be expected. Ribs were very good. For the area it is worth the trip and the search to find it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Al E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    30
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lampasas, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really good food but poor service”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Went there with my brother over his vacation to try out the chicken fried steak and bbq. Both were good and tasty. The BBQ being the better of the two with its fall apart goodness. Sides were good also we had onion rings,tater wedges,tater tots,and fried okra. With a better wait staff this place could be added into the rotation. The food came out quickly from the kitchen but our server was doing her own thing instead of caring for the table. This place is very small seating capacity,around 36. Not a place to bring a large group until they finish the updating in the front inside of the building. Might be a self serve type place??? They did have tea in large coolers that you can get yourself but it is always nice to have a server for sodas or ketchup,extra napkins,etc. Plan on eating there again maybe try another item on the vast menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bamboozler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The BBQ WAS THE BOMB!!!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

also try there chicken tenders and bubba fries the best kept seceret is chicken tenders with honey mustard an the staff was wonderfull and I herd they were expanding

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hogger99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Came here with work to eat and have a meeting...they seated us in the very back and never forgot about us. Waitess was very nice and always made sure our drinks were full...food came out right the first time...hot and delicious. I will definetly be bringing my family back.

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, SLOWWWWW service.”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

The food was good, but it took well over an hour to get our food. No refills, etc. Also they chose not to turn the air conditioning on...sigh

Helpful?
1 Thank beau w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Backyard Bar-B-Q & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing