We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Texas Ranch Life Accommodation
Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Lodge was beautifully appointed however there were many aspects that need improvement. Firstly, there was mouldy leftover food in the cupboard when we arrived, some old half eaten beef jerky. Nearly all of the kitchen glasses and plates and some cutlery needed rewashing eg some glasses had bugs in them.The utensils didn't always work properly.
The pantry items were jumbled and of poor quality.
The pillows were lumpy and we would have appreciated some spare > pillows and blankets. The showers that went into the baths didn't work and we could only use of the four showers in the house.
We were really frustrated by the lack of wi fi at the house. No one came to try and fix it and the only work around was to go to the main barn to login there. Wi fi is essential for travellers like us and we have had good access in remote places literally all over the world.
We would also have really appreciated a washing machine - present with dryers in even small modest price self-contained apartments.
The wrangler/cowboy Robert was considered to be very nice and helpful but at $100US for just one hour ride in a group of six riders, it was very poor value. Robert's horse shied and he came off, making the other horses very nervous and some of the riders who were beginners.T
There was also NO information in The Lodge about what to do and where to go in the area. No list of recommended restaurants and no instructions on how to manage the TV/cable etc.
The horseriders in our group met John once on the ride but we otherwise had no contact with the owners. We were told Shaunia knocked on the door but no one heard it and there was no further contact to ensure our comfort etc.
There was no phone either for even a local call and our phones don't have global roaming so we couldn't make local calls or easily contact the owner. This could have been serious. All these things missing are standard in accommodation that cost $500US per night. ie upper end of costs per night.(we were upgraded from paying $400US per night for the Hacienda which was a nice touch but even for $400US I would have expected much better) It was hard to work out if this was independent lodging or a Texan > experience including meeting the owners or a manager. Overall, we felt the hospitality side was very poor and I would recommend the owners actually spend a night or two, self catering like a tourist, in each of their houses to see what needs cleaning, fixing, supplying, replacing etc and to consider if they are interested in the hospitality side or should delegate this aspect to others.
The house was delightful and we loved staying there but the experience could have been much better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryrosomane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    9
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
11
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We spent wonderful 5 days at the ranch with several other families on Thanksgiving. This place is far from busy cities and crowds of people so we enjoyed seeing mostly cows, horses and buffalos. They offer a lot of activities, so even our kids were not bored without internet. We are looking forward to come back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had only a few days to grab with our son in between summer semesters at A & M, and were delighted to find this oasis along Nueces River. It was our daughter's first trip to TX and she left planning on applying to law school there! We all made the observation that the vistas from the Hacienda House were comparable to overlooking an ocean - breath taking and serene. The home was beautifully authentic and we felt like we could have been in a period movie, but there were no cameras; no noise of cars only grasshoppers and dragon flies. btw, no mosquitos - even when fishing! The horseback riding and guide (Chris) exceeded our expectations. Chris not only knew how to make us all feel like we were competent riders, but we left being better riders than when we came. He also answered all our questions about the Long Horn, the markings, branding and breeding. He told us about the horticulture and the history along with a recommended book "Empire of the Summer Moon" which is about the settling of the Texas West. He was so knowledgeable and made our visit very meaningful and memorable. We loved it all from the moment we entered the gate. Taunia Elick received us like friends and we left wanting to stay longer. This home would be a wonderful place to celebrate an anniversary or bring another couple to enjoy the great Silver Saddle BBQ in Bellville; grill grass fed long horn beef and share great stories before heading over to College Station for a A & M Football game - Whoop!

Room Tip: The website does not mention all the homes have air conditioning. It's very warm during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at the Hacienda this time, and it was terrific again. Wildflowers in bloom everywhere in what is called a 'down year' for them. Beautiful Longhorns and even a buffalo herd. Set on the highest hill in Austin County, the vistas were amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian_007_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Travelling from the UK we were a family of four adults touring the USA, new to ranching and Texas - this was the highlight of our holiday.
You can feel the history in the Confederate House, with period furniture and plenty of room for all of us, set in a beautiful location on the ranch, peaceful and truly unique.
We were there in April and experienced the beauty of Bluebonnet season. Getting close to the Buffalo grazing near the house was a once in a lifetime opportunity !
Two days horse riding on the ranch guided by Chris, the Ranch Manager, was great fun. He was extremely friendly, encouraged the novices, and a great source of local knowledge information.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The scenery of the place was beautiful but the service was substandard. When we got to the ranch, an hour and a half after check-in time, the house was not cleaned from the night before. They sent someone out to clean it after we called but it wasn't available until two and a half hours after check in time. I was not offered a discount for that. I paid over $170 for one night for the smallest place because I was there for only one night. There was a 22% surcharge for booking only one night even though there was another party there the night before. The cups in the cupboards were sticky and had residue coffee stains and the plates we greasy . There was a dirty fork in the clean cutlery jar and there was no dish soap available to wash the dishes. None of the jars on the table were replenished, the microwave was very dirty, the fridge had not been cleaned in years and the bathroom robes were not replaced. Overall the place was pretty poorly kept up. Breakfast was announced to be served at 9:30 but was not ready until 10:15. The owners are very nice but I would say that the ranch is not on the same level as similar places around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kalinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We've just returned from our stay at Texas Ranch Life and can't recommend it highly enough. If you're after a real ranch experience in a relaxing environment, then this is the place for you. John and Taunia made us all feel very welcome and Chris (the cowboy) went out of his way to make our trip enjoyable and did his best to turn 8 Brits into real Texans! Accommodation (we stayed in The Lodge) had a rustic feel but had everything you would need. Our only suggestion would be to have a welcome handbook for guests in each lodge with all the relevant info (there may have been one but we couldn't find it!) We're already looking forward to our next trip back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Texas Ranch Life Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Texas Ranch Life Accommodation

Property: Texas Ranch Life Accommodation
Address: PO Box 803, Bellville, TX 77418-0803
Location: United States > Texas > Bellville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bellville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A working ranch which welcomes guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Texas Ranch Life Accommodation Bellville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing