We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Texas Ranch Life Accommodation
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We spent wonderful 5 days at the ranch with several other families on Thanksgiving. This place is far from busy cities and crowds of people so we enjoyed seeing mostly cows, horses and buffalos. They offer a lot of activities, so even our kids were not bored without internet. We are looking forward to come back again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had only a few days to grab with our son in between summer semesters at A & M, and were delighted to find this oasis along Nueces River. It was our daughter's first trip to TX and she left planning on applying to law school there! We all made the observation that the vistas from the Hacienda House were comparable to overlooking an ocean - breath taking and serene. The home was beautifully authentic and we felt like we could have been in a period movie, but there were no cameras; no noise of cars only grasshoppers and dragon flies. btw, no mosquitos - even when fishing! The horseback riding and guide (Chris) exceeded our expectations. Chris not only knew how to make us all feel like we were competent riders, but we left being better riders than when we came. He also answered all our questions about the Long Horn, the markings, branding and breeding. He told us about the horticulture and the history along with a recommended book "Empire of the Summer Moon" which is about the settling of the Texas West. He was so knowledgeable and made our visit very meaningful and memorable. We loved it all from the moment we entered the gate. Taunia Elick received us like friends and we left wanting to stay longer. This home would be a wonderful place to celebrate an anniversary or bring another couple to enjoy the great Silver Saddle BBQ in Bellville; grill grass fed long horn beef and share great stories before heading over to College Station for a A & M Football game - Whoop!

Room Tip: The website does not mention all the homes have air conditioning. It's very warm during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at the Hacienda this time, and it was terrific again. Wildflowers in bloom everywhere in what is called a 'down year' for them. Beautiful Longhorns and even a buffalo herd. Set on the highest hill in Austin County, the vistas were amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian_007_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Travelling from the UK we were a family of four adults touring the USA, new to ranching and Texas - this was the highlight of our holiday.
You can feel the history in the Confederate House, with period furniture and plenty of room for all of us, set in a beautiful location on the ranch, peaceful and truly unique.
We were there in April and experienced the beauty of Bluebonnet season. Getting close to the Buffalo grazing near the house was a once in a lifetime opportunity !
Two days horse riding on the ranch guided by Chris, the Ranch Manager, was great fun. He was extremely friendly, encouraged the novices, and a great source of local knowledge information.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The scenery of the place was beautiful but the service was substandard. When we got to the ranch, an hour and a half after check-in time, the house was not cleaned from the night before. They sent someone out to clean it after we called but it wasn't available until two and a half hours after check in time. I was not offered a discount for that. I paid over $170 for one night for the smallest place because I was there for only one night. There was a 22% surcharge for booking only one night even though there was another party there the night before. The cups in the cupboards were sticky and had residue coffee stains and the plates we greasy . There was a dirty fork in the clean cutlery jar and there was no dish soap available to wash the dishes. None of the jars on the table were replenished, the microwave was very dirty, the fridge had not been cleaned in years and the bathroom robes were not replaced. Overall the place was pretty poorly kept up. Breakfast was announced to be served at 9:30 but was not ready until 10:15. The owners are very nice but I would say that the ranch is not on the same level as similar places around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kalinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We've just returned from our stay at Texas Ranch Life and can't recommend it highly enough. If you're after a real ranch experience in a relaxing environment, then this is the place for you. John and Taunia made us all feel very welcome and Chris (the cowboy) went out of his way to make our trip enjoyable and did his best to turn 8 Brits into real Texans! Accommodation (we stayed in The Lodge) had a rustic feel but had everything you would need. Our only suggestion would be to have a welcome handbook for guests in each lodge with all the relevant info (there may have been one but we couldn't find it!) We're already looking forward to our next trip back!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Monica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We came to Texas in February and loved the sunny, 71 degree days. The ranch experience was relaxing and we enjoyed the scenery, wildlife, horses and gardens. We stayed in the 1869 House which was charming and spacious enough for a family of four. The kids found a lot of fun things to do like feeding apples to the ponies, checking out all the ranch animals, and just walking around looking for longhorns and bison. A special treat was the morning a group of bison came right up to the fence in front of our house. And last, but not least, the hospitality was great as they made the effort to accommodate our needs and gave us just the right amount of attention.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marsha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Texas Ranch Life Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Texas Ranch Life Accommodation

Address: PO Box 803, Bellville, TX 77418-0803
Location: United States > Texas > Bellville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bellville
Price Range: $135 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A working ranch which welcomes guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Texas Ranch Life Accommodation Bellville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing