We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best egg rolls in Houston!”
Review of Hong Kong Chef - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hong Kong Chef
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best egg rolls in Houston!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

But the egg rolls are only part of the story. Hong Kong Chef is a bit of a time machine with its dragons on the exterior and looks like it hasn't been renovated in years, but that must be because they spend so much time making sure the food is fresh, plentiful, hot, fast and cheap. Sometimes the waitress is curt, but give her a break - she's busy. She still manages to be friendly and courteous, especially when she recognizes you as a regular. What a great value, too. If your check is over $10, you must have bought lunch for you AND a friend.

I love this place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tx_design
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“What a Great Secret Find”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

A friend talked me into this place. She said her office orders from it ALL the time and absolutely everything they order is great! So we went one day for lunch.

We walked in and had to wait a minute in the front area (the small dining room is actually in the back) for a table. As we sat there at least half a dozen people walked in to get to go orders. The woman at the register called almost all of them by name. I knew with that kind of customer loyalty and service this place was gonna be special.

Oh wow - was it! The servings were huge...enough for a second meal. The ingredients fresh, the sauces not overpowering, the rice was sticky but not too sticky. Authentic Chinese food and VERY reasonably priced. I felt like I was in some back room Chinese joint in San Fran's Chinatown. A vacation for lunch!

I go back about once a month even though it's quite a drive.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Katles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Cuisine”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Don't be fooled by the lack of ambiance. The won ton soup and egg rolls are great. All items are very good, and you may request that items be cooked w/o MSG. One of the Best Take Out in Bellaire

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank donnaj4916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Appearances are deceiving”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I was pleasantly suprised with my 1st visit. You walk into a very old and outdated area that has a counter and behind the counter is the cooking/kitchen. If you walk though a door in the back, you enter the dining area. There are signes everywhree warning you 'CASH ONLY, NO CREDIT CARDS". Trust me, they mean it. I placed an order to go (#4 1/2) off the lunch menue. It was excellent. Had 12 large fried shrimp, fried rice, HUGE egg roll, and 4 fried won ton (not the stuffed type w/ cream cheeze). It was excellent. I can't wait to try some of their other dishes.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanieHoustonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Close to authentic. Good value. Quick...”
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Close to authentic. Good value. Quick service dine in or take out. Menu split between American/Chinesse & authentic. Love the Sweet-Sour soup.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBZBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong Chef also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing