We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all around”
Review of Roadhouse

Roadhouse
Ranked #2 of 107 Restaurants in Bastrop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Roadhouse Bastrop has been voted the "Best Burger in Bastrop" for 10 years in a row. Serving up honest food and good old-fashioned service since 2004!
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Stopped off on the way home from San Angelo to Houston. Had to take a small detour off the main road (about a mile) but after reading reviews on TA made the stop. SOOO glad we did! Small interior tables but we sat at a corner table outside with a nice breeze and shade. Service was by far the best we've had in a while - friendly, attentive and proactive. Hubby ate "Ted's Destruction Burger" and I had the Jalepeño Cream Cheese burger both were fantastic. Sweet potato fries were about middle of the road but the perfectly mixed tea (1/2 sweet 1/2 unsweet) more than made up for it. Worth the stop.

Thank Starr R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Owner at Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Happy to hear that your meal was worth the detour, Starr! It sounds like you got to try a bite of a few of our favorites, and we're glad that you joined the fan club. If you happen to remember who your server was, feel free to give me a shout and let me know! We like to celebrate a job well-done around here, so we'd love to pass along your kind words!

Cheers,
Amy, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 246 of 363 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

It was our first time in Texas. We were visiting from Massachusetts and the road house is what we imagined a road side burger joint in the Lone Star state would look like! It looks and feels like a saloon. I had the western burger and it was excellent! The fries were great, as was the homemade lemonade. The staff was friendly and I will be making the trip back to the road house the next time I am in Texas!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Owner at Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Your first time to Texas? So happy we could help give you a big Texas-style welcome to our fair state, Tim! And we're even happier that you loved every last bite! We're already counting down the days till your next visit. Hope to see you soon!

Cheers,
Amy, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

great burgers here - huge portions - we usually share!
salads are tasty too!
prefer to sit outside
sometimes there can be a lot of flies but we try not to let that get to us...

Thank catgTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Owner at Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

There's just nothin' better than enjoying a burger outside on a nice Texas day, and we're so glad we can provide you with a place to do just that, Cat! Hopefully you've had the chance to try our famous Jalapeno Cream Cheese Burger! Thanks for the review and we'll hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Amy, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Coming back from Austin stopped in Bastrop for a burger that is hailed " Best in City" and named top 50 in Country. We it's true! I had the Jalapeno, cream cheese burger and it was fabulous. Nice bun, peppers were fresh but not on fire, meat was nice size patty and cooked perfectly, I opted for sweet potato fries and they were also good. My son ordered the chili, cheese burger and it was huge, but he finished the entire thing with regular cut fries because it was too tasty to stop. They had a good selection of lawn mower and better craft beers at reasonable prices. The banana pudding looked great at other tables but we were too full to try this trip. It is across the street from entrance to Bastrop State Park off a busy street, and very crowded, but the staff was friendly and handled everyone quickly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arleen_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Owner at Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Too tasty to stop? We'd say that's how you know you've got a good burger, Arleen! So happy that you and your son both enjoyed! You'll definitely have to come back and save room for that banana pudding, though -- we might be a bit biased, but we think it can't be beat!

Cheers,
Amy, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stopped by for lunch after paddling the Colorado River. Enormously popular spot and not surprised why. Great burgers - fresh ingredients, great buns and funky atmosphere.

Thank Neneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, Owner at Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

A great burger after a paddling trip on the Colorado? Now that sounds like our kinda day, Neneb! Are you in the Bastrop area pretty often? We'd love the host you again!

Cheers,
Amy, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing