We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Paw Paw's”

Paw Paw's Catfish House
Ranked #1 of 106 Restaurants in Bastrop
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Paw-Paw's has something for everyone. Their specialty, delicious Fried Catfish is straight from Paw-Paw's recipe from the 1950's. It's 100% American farm raised and always Gluten Free. In fact, most of the food is created using the same recipes the owners enjoyed as kids. They also serve Fried Jumbo Shrimp, 1/2 lb Burgers, Huge Chicken Tenders and great Salads. Locals and out-of-towners alike are flocking to Downtown Bastrop to visit - Paw-Paw's Catfish House. The service is outstanding and the food even better! It's old school cooking at its best. Have you ever eaten a Deep Fried Deviled Egg? Well, once you go to Paw-Paw's, you will brag about them to your friends! Paw-Paw's serves cold beer, wine and margaritas as well. Be sure and save room for the Chocolate Chip Brownie Sundae or the Banana Pudding. They have great weekday lunch specials and are open Tuesday- Sunday. Catfish & Cold Beer, Now that's American! We'll "See ya at the House."
Restaurant details
Description: Paw-Paw's has something for everyone. Their specialty, delicious Fried Catfish is straight from Paw-Paw's recipe from the 1950's. It's 100% American farm raised and always Gluten Free. In fact, most of the food is created using the same recipes the owners enjoyed as kids. They also serve Fried Jumbo Shrimp, 1/2 lb Burgers, Huge Chicken Tenders and great Salads. Locals and out-of-towners alike are flocking to Downtown Bastrop to visit - Paw-Paw's Catfish House. The service is outstanding and the food even better! It's old school cooking at its best. Have you ever eaten a Deep Fried Deviled Egg? Well, once you go to Paw-Paw's, you will brag about them to your friends! Paw-Paw's serves cold beer, wine and margaritas as well. Be sure and save room for the Chocolate Chip Brownie Sundae or the Banana Pudding. They have great weekday lunch specials and are open Tuesday- Sunday. Catfish & Cold Beer, Now that's American! We'll "See ya at the House."
Waxahachie, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Paw Paw's”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Very good food. Reasonably priced. Cute atmosphere. Good service. Décor was fun with pictures of Paw Paw fishing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    66
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cute place to eat”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great value & so much food! We both ordered something different and were very satisfied with each dish. I loved the glass they used for serving wine. You'll have to go there to find out what I mean.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaniferK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“New kid on the block!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Fun little place, all homegrown & hometown Bastrop! Service is very prompt and friendly, nice big windows looking out to Main Street. Fun decorations and the food is mostly fried (of course) but not greasy. Flaky catfish filet. Love it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TallLadyTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really wanted to like it.....”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I really, really, really wanted to like this place. I had heard great things, so my husband and I stopped in a few weeks ago on a Saturday for lunch. First impressions were great - nicely decorated and clean. A little over half of the tables were occupied when we got there, and our server seemed stressed. We ordered an appetizer of the house-made chips and dip then a catfish plate to split (had six pieces), and then we waited..............after an incredibly long time, a man (who was the cook, and it seemed like may be one of the owners) brought the catfish. We mentioned that we had ordered an appetizer, which he said he had sent out some time ago. Since we hadn't gotten it (we think our server gave it to another table who looked really puzzled when she put it on their table), he offered to fix us another one on the house - which was very nice. The catfish and the sides looked good, but I could actually smell the fish when I was going to eat it - it was really fishy! Inside it was very slimy and grey, just yucky. We looked at every piece and they were all that way. The sides were good and the house-made chips were good. We really had hoped for a good place to get some catfish, but sadly, this is not it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wrtlcarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simple menu but excellent food!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here after looking at a few of the more top rated Bastrop restaurants. Glad we did. Neat, clean and food was good. Wasn't a huge selection of items on menu but the fried catfish was awesome! Well pleased.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank txnites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paw Paw's Catfish House also viewed

 

Been to Paw Paw's Catfish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing