We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best for a Beer” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bastrop Brewhouse - CLOSED

Bastrop Brewhouse
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
SPI, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best for a Beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Wasn't impressed with food, nothing memorable, would choose to just have drinks there in future, the atmosphere rocks! If its not too hot outside, the view of the river is great, but u can see it a bit from inside.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HonestEngine4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
2 reviews
“Good food, good service, nice view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I went kayaking for a couple hours at Bastrop River Co, which is right next door to Bastrop Brewhouse. I wasn't sure if I should go to the hotel and change, but it looked casual, so I went in. I got a table by the window, with a view of the deck and partial view of the Colorado River. I had a burger with mushrooms, onions, and swiss, and hand-cut fries. I wanted to try the green chili cheese fries. The server, Chrystal, said the app was really big, and I was by myself, so she suggested the regular fries, and she'd just bring me a side of the queso. The burger was done just right, and the fries were awesome! They are thick cut, with visible salt crystals on them, (probably sea salt?) just enough, not too salty. The green chili cheese sauce was really good too! Lemonade was also good - very mild, not the kind to make you pucker up, just refreshing after a hot day on the river.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Deliciously Different Great Choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

With great river views and a marvelous selection of locally-sourced ingredients, the Brewhouse is a lot more than wonderful, regional craft beers. Just off a major street, easy to find. Situated in a re-built, old-timey shantytown shop area overlooking the Colorado, covered patio dining (covered) is an excellent choice, even on warm evenings - especially if the local live music doesn’t suit you. Excellent gourmet burgers and appetizers and lots more. “British” does not describe the cuisine – but the fish & chips has a good reputation. We found the service to be prompt and friendly and the food very good. Call or check the web site for fun events, such as a free trivia contest. A great spot for families with older children, friends, and couples.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great view, Great beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stopped here on the 4th of July as a mini tour of central Texas. What a wonderful atmosphere right off the river. Then I had the beer. Wow, they had a great honey brown ale, and then I asked if they had any stouts, then they brought out some great seasonal beers. It was great, and the food was outstanding. Get the green chili cheese fries and I had a full rack of ribs glazed with the honey beer. It was to die for. So much food. My wife and I shared the rack and we still only ate half. Go now, eat and be merry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Local Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I decided to give this restaurant a try after tubing in the Colorado River. The food and atmosphere were excellent. They feature local food and spirits, and offered an excellent overlook of the river. The food was pricier than the normal "chain" restaurant, but the quality definitely made up for the price!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing