We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maxine's - Small town comfort!”
Review of Maxine's

Maxine's
Ranked #4 of 106 Restaurants in Bastrop
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Texas Monthly rates Maxine's one of The 40 Best Small-Town Cafes in Texas and one of the 40 Best Breakfast Places in Texas!
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Maxine's - Small town comfort!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Tried Maxine's again in Bastrop - it was great the first time and better the second time! We got the last available table on a Friday night. Live music - guy on guitar that was doing a great job. Great menu options so we opted for the Friday special - Fried catfish, cold slaw, pinto beans and fries. The fish was exceptionally fresh and tasty, the cold slaw tasted home made, the pinto beans were rich and flavorful, but a bit salty. Service was good, price was great - food delicious - can't beat that! We ordered dessert to go - yummm - chocolate chip cheesecake and German chocolate cake - fantastic. Make an effort to find Maxine's on Main in Bastrop. It's a little town that has come to life.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    106
    44
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
959 reviews
691 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 605 helpful votes
“Barely Makes the Mark”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We visited this place around five PM and we were the only ones there.
Our server was a friendly guy named John and we ordered the signature fried green tomatoes and their tomato bisque soup. The soup arrived cold and when we tried it again it was hardly warm. It tasted too acidic to me.
The batter on the green tomatoes was crispy and tasted good.
My entree was the liver and onions. This is one of my
favorite dishes, but they over-cooked the very thin slices of liver.
My sides of Mac & Cheese and jalapeno cream corn had strong possibilities.
My BW had their signature chicken fried steak.
Horror of horrors; they Panko crust this item. This does not work. Chicken fried steak tastes natural just fried with a light batter. Panko crusting creates a hybrid
of very crunchy dry tasting steak.
Our dessert was a very Nasty piece of Peanut Butter Cheese Cake. That was outstanding.
This is a very touristy place in the heart of "historical
downtown Bastrop". It's Texas Kitsch at it's worst.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bobemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice escape”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This was a stop enroute from Austin to Bastrop. The menu is full of exciting options-it was so difficult to decide. The waitress recommended a burger, and it was good-just nothing special. In hindsight, I think I would have preferred the fried green tomato, bacon and lettuce sandwich! If I find myself back in Bastrop's quaint Downtown, I'll definitely try again-just choose some other fun item from the menu!

Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Homemade Texas treats”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great stop enroute from San Antonio to Houston for those who don't want the boring/congested I-10 route. Tried the fried green tomatoes this time - yum! Great breakfasts (homemade giant biscuits and jelly) and lunch. The stop and Shopping at the eclectic old town made our journey home from a great weekend even more fun!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MacWatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A very pleasant surprise as we were driving through Bastrop. Full of nostalgia, decorated with lots of old signs, old wooden floor, brick walls, etc. Water and other beverages served in wide-mouth quart canning jars. Both entrees that we had were very good and very generous. Pleasant waitresses took care of us , serving us with enthusiasm. Yes, I'd recommend this place to anyone passing through the town. .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjg207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maxine's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing