We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely spot”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Longknowe

The house under the hills
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house under the hills
From the Hill above Longknowe main bedroom queen sized bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The house under the hills
From the Hill above Longknowe
main bedroom queen sized bed
farmhouse kitchen
second double bedroom
view from second bedroom
top sitting room
second sitting room
renovated tiled bathroom and power shower
Front of house -  High Summer
twin beds great views!
looking out from the front door
Shepherd's Wagon, sleeps two can be rented in summer
Inside Shepherd's Wagon
The lane into the hills towards Longknowe - a public byway
Bunk room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kilham, Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RML157
Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
Reviewed May 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2015

The Longknowe is a beautiful property nestled amongst the hills.

As a group of 8 we particularly loved the large kitchen, where many a night was spent having dinner then playing monopoly. I cannot fault the property in any way. We did have some trouble with hot water, which Jo addressed promptly, but this did not in any way affect our stay.

We did a lot of driving to visit various places (Lindisfarne, Seahouses, Bamburgh Castle, Berwick etc) but you can easily spend quality time in the area just enjoying the scenery and walking (one thing I did wish was that we took some long walks from the Longknowe, we only made it as far as Elsdonburn Shank). It might be worth taking an OS map with you if you did want to do some walks (I can't for the life of me remember if there were any at the house so correct me if I'm wrong!) although there is a large map on the wall.

I thoroughly recommend staying here. Jo was very easy to deal with and was prompt in all communication.

Thanks Jo!

ps Sorry for the late review!

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2016
Dear Rosie, thanks for the review, I appreciate it greatly! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We do aim to please if we can! There is a shelf full of local maps and walking maps in the sitting room. And do come back - returning guests get a 15% discount, best wishes, Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic M
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another Great Stay”
Reviewed January 27, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third year as a group visiting Longknowe and it did not disappoint.

On Friday we stopped off at Alnmouth on the way and found a gem, the village was lovely and the beach beautiful, we were lucky with the weather and the sun got out for us.

We arrived at Longknowe on the Friday afternoon and found it spotless and ready for our stay.

The accommodation is first class and one of the bathrooms had been modernised, what a lovely job.

Our group love the remote location and the peace and quiet adds to the great experience.

We will be booking again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remote location, the peace and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing to report.....
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2016
Thank you Dominic, delighted to have you at the house, I'm glad you enjoyed it and that the new bathrooms was ready for you. Look forward to having you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelBD
London
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Extraordinary house in beautiful location”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is far and away the best holiday house we've ever stayed in. We're now on our second visit, this time with extended family (three generations from grandparents to a toddler) and we'll be back again! The house is far more than a holiday rental - it's a true family home that Paul and Jo are generous enough to share with their guests, and such a privilege it is to be here too. The house itself is spacious and very well equipped, with everything that we could want for our large group (including loads of books and dressing up clothes, as well as other toys and games - kitchen table tennis much enjoyed again!) and the location could not be better - close enough to Wooler, but far enough away from everything that the sound of birdsong and sheep in the surrounding fields is the only noise to be heard from the house. Walks aplenty right from the door, and the castles and beaches of Northumberland only a short drive away. Kids had a ball; grown ups relaxed; wonderful week had by all.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Winter Weekend Break.”
Reviewed January 11, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Our party of five adults and two children thoroughly enjoyed our short break here. Well equipped and comfortable home from home. It was a cold and windy weekend but we were snug and warm in the cottage. The children played games and dressed up, they never once missed the television.
We had a large family meal on Saturday, it was nice to relax around the large kitchen table which also doubles for table tennis.
It would be nice to return for another visit.
Many thanks Jo.
Chris and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina G
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for us !”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great location and peaceful, Jo (the owner) was very helpful and patient with us as we had many questions! We have a son with autism and have lots of safety questions and safety of location. The Longknowe was perfect, beautiful surroundings. We spent our time relaxing whilst the children played outside in the fields and baking on the AGA. Its so lovely I have requested to re book!! Thanks Jo !! Martina & gang

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Property”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful comfortable cosy cottage with exceptional kitchen area. We enjoyed large family meals around the massive kitchen table and enjoyed cooking on the aga. Perfect for a family gathering.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmw623
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful retreat”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Our extended family, aged 9 months to 73 years enjoyed a week of walking in the hills, visiting the coast and castles and relaxing at The Longknowe. We were able begin walks from the house which was a treat and when we used the car the coast was only half an hour away. The four bedrooms are arranged with two bedrooms at each end so that two families can use the space by sleeping at an end of the cottage each (great when the 9 month old wakes up at 5 each morning! and she is not yours!). The kitchen is amazing, especially the size of the table. Ten of us ate, chatted and drank around the table for hours. The visitor book has so many entries from people who return to The Longknowe over and over again; it really is a very special place. Oh ... and the views, absolutely amazing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the surrounding hills and the sociable kitchen
Liked least: the second bathroom
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing