We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite stop in Bandera for food”
Review of Busbee's Bar-B-Que

Busbee's Bar-B-Que
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Bandera
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My favorite stop in Bandera for food”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

At least once or twice a year, we pass through Bandera. We always save room for BBQ here. I love the chopped beef and sausage sandwich. It's full of tender meat and juicy sausage. It has the right amount of sauce and the bread is soft. The tea was refreshing. The old time country music was a treat too. Can't wait to stop again on my next trip that way in a few weeks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 507robertap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLDVGD, Owner at Busbee's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We appreciate you kind remarks about Busbee's BBQ. We continue to strive toward excellence and your comments help a lot. Hope you will visit us again soon and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    70
    45
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schertz, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best BBQ I've had in a while!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I actually got the angus burger, which was beefy and juicy and out of this world! I can't go to a BBQ place, though, and not taste the sausage and brisket, so I ordered some small pieces on the side. Delicious!!! Juicy meat and the sausage was excellent! The sauce was also really good. The service was excellent, and the restaurant was very clean and homey. I'd drive all the way out there again just for the BBQ.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TXGlobetrotter_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLDVGD, Owner at Busbee's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for visiting our restaurant. We are glad that you tried our hamburgers too as we have a unique way of making them the "old fashioned" style. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, SC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overcharged and would not take food back”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I visited Bandera on Saturday, July 5th. The ordering process is at a counter where you order, pay, then sit at a table and wait for your food. I asked the man at the register, big bald guy, how many rids come with an order. He said about ten. My son likes ribs too so I said I'll have an order of ribs (that we could share). My wife stepped up and ordered her meal along with my other two sons. The sign above the register said ribs cost $11.95. I went over to our table and helped get everyone settled in. My wife sits down and tells me our order came to over $81.00. I knew this could not be right. I had only ordered one order of ribs, she picked a selection for around $8.00 and my sons had one cheeseburger and teas. So we had three meals and five teas. When the ribs came, it was a huge pile of ribs that filled up the plate - over 15 big ribs. I told the waitress, Linda, that this is not what we ordered. She was great, btw. She checked and said they charged by the pound, and that the ribs cost over $40.00. I asked for an itemized ticket, and the ribs were $41.00 and some change. I told her that this is not what we ordered. She took the plate and said she would take half of them back, which we agreed to. A few seconds later she came back with the full plate and said that they could not take them back after they had been out in the dining area. My son and I along with my whole group tried to eat all the ribs since we had no choice, but ended up packing up four for later. As I said, Linda was great and apologized over and over again. She gave us a pecan pie, so I think she did all she could. I feeled like I was cheated out of $25.00 to $30.00. I have never been to a restaurant where they would not take back a wrong order.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pg212001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLDVGD, Owner at Busbee's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are sorry that you feel you were over charged while visiting our restaurant. Since December, 2013, meat prices have risen over 50 percent. Our prices are some of the lowest in the hill country. Regarding your visit, we do not have an "order of ribs" as you indicated. We sell ribs by the plate, by the pound, by the rack or individually. We will gladly replace a product if there is something wrong with it. Unfortunately, health department rules do not permit us to take a product back after it is on a customer's table. As with most restaurants we do package leftovers for the customer to take home. We hope you will understand our position.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

In the last 5-6 years I have made it a point to stop in to Busbee's for the chesseburgers. To date I have never had one that was better. We usually travel from Colorado south to Jourdanton TX and I have never been disappointed, except once. I took my 5 year old on the trip with me and raved the whole time about the cheese burger and BBQ. We got to town and parked on a back street and walked up to the front door. It was closed! On a Tuesday? To say the least, we were both very disappointed, so we continued down the road. Other than that one time, I have never had any issues, the service has always been great, so much stuff to look at inside and it makes you feel relaxed. Bandera as a whole is a wonderful little town to visit and I would reccomend it to anyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLDVGD, Owner at Busbee's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments about our Cheeseburgers and BBQ. Glad you have made us one of your favorite food stops especially coming all the way from Colorado. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Service Average BBQ”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful service and staff . The portions were small and the briquet was good . I have had much better. The tea was weak and the bread tasted store bought. The price was high and not commensurate with the portions. Decent atmosphere . The means room was flirty and smelled. Next tome will just keep on driving by .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MLUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Busbee's Bar-B-Que also viewed

Bandera, Bandera County
Bandera, Bandera County
 
Bandera, Bandera County
Bandera, Bandera County
 
Bandera, Bandera County
Bandera, Bandera County
 

Been to Busbee's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing