We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reviews better than food”
Review of Busbee's Bar-B-Que

Busbee's Bar-B-Que
Ranked #4 of 38 Restaurants in Bandera
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Reviews better than food”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

It was later in the day, and the ribs were dry. The brisket was good, but we had better elsewhere.When I couldn't even cut the beef ribs, the waitress brought pork ribs, which were better but disappointingly dry. There were some interesting antique items to see, and it seems to be a popular local place. The waitress was pleasant and very cooperative when I told her about the hard meat. She brought the replacement immediately. We would advise going earlier in the day for fresher food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 530donaldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLDVGD, Owner at Busbee's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Sorry you did not like the ribs. We normally tell everyone that our ribs are dry cooked over oak and that they are unlike manufactured ribs some franchises have that are soaked in sauce. With our ribs you have to eat them with your fingers and they can be tough. We haven't changed our recipe in over 20 years and most people like them and like eating them with their fingers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    69
    44
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belton, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not sure of award”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Maybe it was the day but I'm not seeing how this was an award winner. The BBQ I got was tasty enough but very dry and somewhat tough. The ribs did not taste very fresh. The sides were ok but nothing to brag about. The people were pleasant and friendly. I would probably not recommend it to someone wanting a really good example of Texas BBQ.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fulltimefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Woo doggies!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Well what can I say. Great ribs and brisket. Pork ribs were perfect fall off the bone tender. And the Potatoe salad was great. But the star of the show. The peach cobbler was AMAZING. cinnamon sprinkled on top of the ice cream. And a little warm. I will be coming back. They have a little shack out back of the place, the waitress who was the nicest ever, said I could stay there if I wanted. I might have to take up there offer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texasSideburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLDVGD, Owner at Busbee's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind remarks about Busbee's BBQ. We truly value your opinion and strive to do our best. Glad you were pleased, and hope to see you again soon. Hope you and your family have a prosperous New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“wholesome BBQ and trimmings- great taste of Texas”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

best to be prepared for what you like- the wall menu is a bit overwhelming. The kids had HUGE hamburgers- and we had the brisket- very yummy. great sides too if you have room!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLDVGD, Owner at Busbee's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for visiting us and for your excellent review. We hope to see you again when in Bandera. Have a wonderful New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Good Texas style BBQ but slightly overpriced. One BBQ beef brisket sandwich is over $7.00, so I ordered a half pound of brisket and four slices of bread which made two big sandwiches for less than 7 bucks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trextx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLDVGD, Owner at Busbee's Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for visiting us and I am glad you enjoyed your meal. We take great pride in our foods and think they are fairly priced considering the time and effort we have put into them. Incidentally, we are the lowest priced of any BBQ restaurant in the hill country. Also with your $7.00 sandwich, you do get one of our side orders to enjoy too! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Busbee's Bar-B-Que also viewed

Bandera, Bandera County
Bandera, Bandera County
 
Bandera, Bandera County
Bandera, Bandera County
 

Been to Busbee's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing