We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Spur Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Spur Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed as a group of 6, ages ranging from 7 to 78. This was a return trip for most of us. The accommodation was great, we stayed in cabins, which were very spacious and clean .Food was plentiful, good home cooking, served by staff initially and you could then help yourselves to seconds.

We went horseriding on 3 occasions, twice we had my 7yr old grandson with us and my 78year old dad with dodgy knees ~ they both managed the ride fine. They did not come on the third ride, so Tom, the wrangler, adapted the ride more to suit the riders.

The nightly hayrides and camp fires were good fun and were a nice way to meet the other guests. Marshmallow toasting went down great!!!!

Many thanks to Jay, Jayson, Tom, Alison and Rob for making our stay so much fun.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    22
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
78
42
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Based on Trip Advisor reviews, our family decided to stay at Silver Spur and we are glad we did. The staff was extremely welcoming and the food and horseback riding were great as many others have posted. I was also very impressed with Robert and Jay making sure everyone was riding the appropriate horse if they felt a little guy wasn't controlling his horse well enough we stopped the ride and switched horses, this made me very comfortable that my 6 year old was in good hands especially during our up and downhill rides. To quote my boys "This place is way better than any hotel".

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kroz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our family decided to give each other a trip to a dude ranch for Christmas instead of gifts...this included my husband's sister & her family as well as their mom. We couldn't have been happier with Silver Spur! The staff made the stay a 'wow!' The boys - ages 5, 10 & 11- had a blast...mainly just having the freedom to be boys: petting donkeys, eating cookies, running, roping, swimming, eating cookies, climbing trees, digging for fossils, eating cookies, trail riding, roasting marshmallows, eating cookies!! We all enjoyed ourselves - relaxing on the porch at the end of the day, taking in the beauty of the hill country on our trail rides, experiencing Longhorn up close and personal. The staff suggested going into Bandera and watching the 'cowboy show' & enjoying some local BBQ. Great idea! We rode the covered wagon, took pictures on the Longhorn and enjoyed learning about the history through the cowboy show. Look forward to taking other family out to enjoy life as a cowboy...and can't imagine going anywhere but Silver Spur!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our family of 5 enjoyed a three night stay at Silver Spur during Spring Break. I definitely had a certain type of vacation in mind for us and Silver Spur delivered at all levels.

The children are ages 8,7, and 4 and I was looking for a place without any hustle and bustle where they could explore and play and be outdoors without having much organized activity. I was also looking forward to the oldest two getting on horses and taking some time in the country exploring trails. Also important was very little exposure to technology, and no hassle of running around at mealtimes wondering where we were going to eat. We wanted to relax and have fun for our vacation and Silver Spur gave us just what we needed!

Arriving before lunch on our first day we were greeted very warmly and given a tour of the main building and given the layout of the ranch and where things were located. While waiting for lunch we were able to sign up for our trail rides and my kids had a great time exploring the ping pong table, foosball, and the playground (swings, tether ball, horseshoes.) After parking our car and unloading our luggage, we did not step foot into the car until the morning we left. The most amazing thing is that I don't think the kids even noticed there was a television in the room- it was completely off the radar because they had a ranch to explore!

My kids spent over three days making new friends, playing with goats, petting donkeys, riding horses, exploring fossil pits, going on hay wagon rides, having s'mores by the campfire, learning new board games, playing pool, jumping IN the pool, swinging, and the list goes on. I had a wonderful time relaxing and watching my kids explore in a way that they can't do at home AND got to do so much of the same fun stuff with them because I didn't have to worry about preparing dinner or doing any of the other things that go along with the normal course of family life.

Silver Spur ranch is in such a beautiful location and the entire experience from the staff, to the rooms, the lodge, the meals, and all of the animals made this a vacation to remember and cherish. A big kudos to this amazing vacation spot. My kids gave the highest compliment--- before we even hit the main road there were many tears and requests to return as soon as possible. We can't wait to return to Silver Spur!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2plus3equals5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This ranch was absolutely beautiful! For those who do not enjoy nature, don't bother because you will not appreciate the experience. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by staff and treated like family. The staff was exceptional and really made you feel comfortable. I loved the animals roaming free and the open feeling throughout the entire ranch property. The trails were always breathtaking on every ride and again the wranglers were always helpful and full of information. I was sad to only have been able to stay two nights and will be visiting again very, very soon! The food was always good, the atmosphere great, the bonfire & hayride were fun, and the animals were all so beautiful! I honestly could not have picked a better place to visit and cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Our room was right off to the side of the main ranch house & straight across from the corral. Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohoes, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

There were 13 of us celebrating a friend's "milestone" birthday in January. What a great place. The staff was warm and welcoming and the food was great. We rode horses, had daily ring time, hunted for fossils (found lots), learned to lasso, got up close to the ranch's longhorns and even went dancing in town. We couldn't enjoy it in January, but the pool was big and beautiful. Cell phone coverage was dismal, but just had to make our way to the main road and we had service. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
324 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We wanted to see a ranch and spending half a day here was fantastic. Very scenic drive to Bandera and to the ranch. Natural setting with horses, donkeys, goats roaming free. Hay ride to see a park nearby, dinner in the lodge and roasting marshmallows outside while feeding the donkeys. Beautiful cabins and a big swimming pool.

Room Tip: Any of the cabins are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurapoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
21.4 mi away
Utopia on the River
Utopia on the River
#1 of 1 in Utopia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
8.8 mi away
Flying L Hill Country Resort
23.7 mi away
Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Bandera Guest House with A Place To Stay
10.8 mi away
Medina River Ranch Resort
Medina River Ranch Resort
#19 of 23 in Bandera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
12.1 mi away
Medina Lake RV Campground
Medina Lake RV Campground
#1 of 2 in Lakehills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Spur Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Spur Ranch

Property: Silver Spur Ranch
Address: 9266 Bandera Creek Rd, Bandera, TX 78003-3944
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Bandera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to get away to a relaxing place you'll always remember? A special place where families come together and new friends are made? A unique ranch where you'll find a real Western cowboy experience? Then take a trip out to one of the finest dude ranches in Bandera, Texas: The Silver Spur Guest Ranch is waiting for you. This historic guest ranch is a perfect place to trade in your tie for a red bandana, your skirt for blue jeans, and your worries for the peace of a Western sunset. Relax, have fun, make unforgettable memories, and enjoy your surroundings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver Spur Ranch Hotel Bandera
Silver Spur Ranch Bandera, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing