We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at the Dude Ranch!”
Review of Dixie Dude Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dixie Dude Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The only reason I will not give them a 5 star rating is because the a/c in the room we stayed in was completely inadequate and we roasted at night and the pool could use some improvements. The people are very nice and the animals kept my kids entertained the whole time.
When we arrived we were greeted warmly and told where our room was. We booked it last minute and got it because of a recent cancellation, so it was not a premium room, but it had two beds and a bathroom off the main lodge.
We went on our trail ride almost immediately and it was fun. We all got a chuckle when I had to ride the mule. But, she was so sweet and easy to ride.
After our ride, which was hot, we helped ourselves to the honor pay ice chest for a cool drink and dinner soon followed. I am a vegetarian so I was a little worried about what I would get served, but they were very accommodating and served me a portabello mushroom instead of meat. Tasty. We then went to the pool after dinner. It could have used a bit of sprucing up and more shade with some umbrellas, seeing that it was really hot outside, the water was a bit murky as well. After the pool we sat around the camp fire and visited with the other guests until we couldn't keep our eyes open any longer.
This part is why I didn't give them 5 stars. The room was roasting hot. Our a/c was very inadequate and it made for a fitful, sweaty night's sleep. Fortunately, it didn't make much difference seeing that the next two days were technically a repeat of the first day. Lots of trail rides, sleeping, drinking and eating.
We were there for the 4th of July and they had a small fireworks show for us put on by the owner's son and we set off some of our own and it was fun and just right.
On the last day, my kids were very sad to leave, so I called one of their dogs to come in the room and get into bed with my son. He loved that!
Overall: 5 stars for fun stuff to do, 5 stars for the animals and people, 3 stars for the room with the bad a/c.

Room Tip: Specify the larger cabins, not the rooms on the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blurfits, Front Office Manager at Dixie Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We appreciate all feedback from our guests as it helps us to see all points of view. Any time there is a concern from a guest, we want to attend to those needs immediately and therefore want to know about it before they check out, especially since most problems have a quick remedy. This helps us stay on top of our ongoing maintenance, and most importantly, it helps our guests have a more comfortable stay.

We understand that Texas summers are very hot, so the idea of extra shade at the pool is a great suggestion. We maintain our pool and its chemicals daily, but unfortunately in our current severe drought situation here, dust is a huge culprit in making our outdoor pool look murky and cloudy. We just had the entire deck area resurfaced in late winter in addition to installing a new hot tub in December, and we take all measures to keep our pool in the best condition possible.

Thanks again for the feedback. We are always open to suggestions and here to help our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 239 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I travelled all the way from Liverpool, England to do a Texas road trip. We decided to spend three nights at Dixie Dude.
It was amazing! We had a great time riding the horses (Little Boy, and Sox were our fav..)
The cowboys, David, Chris and Arnie were brilliant and such a good laugh.
The cabin was lovely, rustic but clean and homely.
The girls from the kitchen were lovely and made great homemade lemonade, the food was all freshly homemade and there was plenty of it.
The family who own it were great, especially Kimmy. Who was so sweet and really helpfull.
We also really enjoyed listening to the singing cowboy at sunset on the first night.
We both loved the ranch and the family atmosphere, we had a great time in the cities of Texas after leaving the ranch, but we felt 'homesick' for a few days after leaving!!
Great value for money.
Once in a lifetime experience, wouldn't dream of going to Texas again without going back to Dixie Dude!!!!!
Lucy and Nick

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaddogLuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Did a two week road trip in Texas, and fortunately decided to spend a couple of nights on a farm. Based on websites we concluded the Dixie Dude Farm would be a perfect combination: authentic and rustic, but well suited for small kids. We sure made the right choice!

You are in the middle of nowhere surrounded by nature and animals. The feeling is serene and relaxed in the extreme. Everyone eats together, the food is simple and very good. Dogs and cats move freely around. The long horns are also nearby. When not riding or eating, you can swim in a pool, enjoy a jacuzzi, go fishing, play ping pong, enjoy board games, or go hiking. In the evenings, there's always something special: singing cowboy songs together, riding on Texas's biggest bull etc.

You get to ride twice a day. The treks are slow, but the cowboy pick you a horse based on your experience so no one gets bored or gets into trouble. The scenery is just amazing and the wranglers keep good company, especially Chris.

There is no cellular or wi-fi coverage except right in front of the main building. For me, this was a blessing!

The sleeping rooms/cabins are spacious and include air conditioning. The bathrooms are not shining new, but they are quite ok.

If you're looking for very demanding riding sessions, perhaps this isn't your place. Otherwise, go for it!

Room Tip: Our rooms were part of main building and close to the living room. So, we heard some quiet voices un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sw_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My friend and I went there for some well deserved R & R..... I will say one thing... It is the only place that I felt sad leaving after a vacation!

It's beautiful family run ambience is full of love and care, with the whole team working so hard to ensure that every moment is special.

I am hardly surprised that people there staying with us told us that they had been returning for years.... Beautiful!!

Thank you so much from Paul and Princess :) xx

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkerfamily416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights as part of a US road trip. Neither of us had ever been to a dude ranch and we did not know what to expect.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Our room was small and quaint which we had been informed of at the time of booking. Although small the room was clean and provided the basics, air con, private bathroom and a shared balcony. We were also provided with fresh towels daily. The overall feel of the ranch is rustic and this is in-keeping with its function and theme/character. The meals were excellent and the staff were really attentative. We were a little apprehensive about communal dinning, but we actually enjoyed it as it enabled us to chat to other guests.

The horses and cow boys were great. At the start of each ride, basic instructions were provided and throughout the rides, they worked hard to ensure that all riders were ok. We had the opportunity to go out on a faster ride one morning which was great fun and we wished that here were more opportunities to repeat this. The horses appeared to be well looked after and had their own personalities, which was great.

Our only criticisms of the ranch are that the pool needed a clean and that we would have looked to have had the opportunity to see the cow boys show off their skills as part of the entertainment. Mi would recommend the ranch and would also return if we are ever in the area. Great sty, thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I did a week's road trip of Texas, and stopped off at the ranch for a couple of nights. It was by far the best part of our holiday, and we wished we could have stayed much longer. The ranch really is amazing, and, being in the middle of nowhere, feels like such a retreat. The staff were extremely friendly from the moment we turned up, and really went out of their way to make sure we had a good time. We loved our little cabin - the stirrup - with it's cowboy themed decor. We went on four rides during our stay, where the cowboys lead you through the hills - the surrounding countryside is absolutely stunning, and you are taken very high up on horseback to really get the best views. The ranch has a great selection of activities - from the swimming pool, fishing lake and hiking, to campfires and rodeos. My only suggestions for improvement would be to have dinner slightly later - we found 6pm a bit early when we wanted to make the most of the day, but it suited all the families with children perfectly. We really enjoyed the communal meals, where everyone sits together on long tables and tucks into delicious home cooked food. All in all, it was the most amazing experience and thank you to everyone at Dixie Dude for making it so special.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We just spent a couple of days at the Dixie Dude Ranch and absolutely loved it! My whole family enjoyed the peacefulness, hospitality of the staff, the food was amazing - you will never go hungry. Pancho, Sancha and Bravo (3 amazing dogs) are quite helpful when going on a hike. They make great tour guides. I cannot say enough about this place. You meet the most amazing people especially around the camp fire. Great place to unwind and relax!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMizner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
7.6 mi away
Flying L Hill Country Resort
6.8 mi away
Bandera Guest House with A Place To Stay
22.6 mi away
Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Medina River Ranch Resort
Medina River Ranch Resort
#19 of 24 in Bandera
4 reviews
17.5 mi away
Escondida Resort
Escondida Resort
#1 of 1 in Medina
190 reviews
6.6 mi away
River Oak Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dixie Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dixie Dude Ranch

Address: 833 Dixie Dude Ranch Road, Bandera, TX 78003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Bandera
Hotel Class:3 star — Dixie Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dixie Dude Ranch has been showing people all over the world true Texas hospitality for over 75 years. Our all-inclusive package is perfect for people of all ages, solo travelers, couples, and families alike. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dixie Dude Ranch Hotel Bandera
Dixie Dude Ranch Bandera, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing