We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good home cooking”
Review of OST Restaurant

OST Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Bandera
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good home cooking”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

The place is easy to find on the main street, convenient hours and a fair variety on the menu. Very friendly staff and patrons!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jshoemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    165
    58
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Some stuff was basic but felt it was a great deal for the price”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

The menu had a story that this place has been around since 1921. I ordered a club sandwich, my son a hamburger and the same for my husband. We were not disappointed in the food. I felt it was pretty good. It didn't blow my mind but I didn't make me leave disappointed either. We didn't have any room for dessert. They looked awesome.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HDietel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandera, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday Morning Bliss”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

I loved the atmosphere of this little place. No wifi, but we were there to try the pancakes. My boys quickly bonded with the cowboy sitting at our table. The staff were helpful and you can tell a lot of love goes in to this place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SuzoosWoolWorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipe Creek, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Where to go at 8pm on Friday night”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

First visit and we will be back. Place was busy, but we were greeted immediately. Self service seating is great. Jordan was our waitress and I honestly don't know how she kept up with all the tables. Ordered the cheese enchilada dinner and a slice of buttermilk pie. YUM! Loved the decor. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaunett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Classic Cafe for Nostalgia buffs”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The OST Restaurant is a classic Texas cafe that nostalgia buffs will appreciate. No pretentiousness here--it's clean but no fancy furniture--unless you count the saddle bar stools as fancy. Good Texas style food--think chicken fried steak for breakfast and Tex-Mex entrees. Sorry foodies, you won't find "Fusion Cuisine" (whatever that is) and Mexican Street food. (You want that kind of stuff go to the Pearl Brewery area in the big city of San Antonio.
Staff does a good job of coping with hectic Saturday mealtimes as this is not the sleepy town of my youth!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arancesacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OST Restaurant also viewed

Bandera, Bandera County
Bandera, Bandera County
 
Bandera, Bandera County
Bandera, Bandera County
 

Been to OST Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing