We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half-day trip--Go For It!”
Review of Rancho Cortez

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I went with friends on the half-day trip yesterday...and had a BLAST! Everyone was so friendly! They make you feel like family. Within 15 minutes of our arrival, we were on a horse. After the hour trail ride, we returned to learn catch-rope (aka lasso). Our lasso lesson was followed by a riding lesson inside the ring which included games on horseback. One of the cowboys took us to feed the Longhorn and gave us the opportunity to touch the bull's horn. Very exciting! After, we relaxed in the game room where we played pool and ping pong until the hay ride. Larry, co-owner of the ranch, taught us how to drive a Belgian team. It was our first time, but he made us feel like pros. Dinner consisted of roast pork, homemade mashed potatoes, roasted vegetables, beans and roll as well as a salad bar and dessert. It was so good! We resumed our hay ride after dinner (it had been cut short because of the meal so not everyone had a chance to drive) and ended the day with a s'more around the campfire where Larry told a great story about the history of the cowboy--very entertaining. I know everyone's experience will be different but I highly suggest getting out of the city, take a break from the cell phone and just enjoy the natural beauty of Texas. You won't be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 333 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Booked a 2 night stay at The Cortez Ranch not knowing what to be in for. Well man let me tell you.
We had a blast. Never have sad on the back of a hours Larry broke us in to the principle as well as the Texas style of living and attitude!
We had a blast our day's where filled with trail rides, hot tube, gym, game room and barrel practice in the big arena. It was great. Not just the people the food and the atmosphere but far most the feeling everybody gave us whle there.
Highly recommended if you ask me. If this place was not so far from Amsterdam we would most likely hang out here every weekend !!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buijsmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We came to Rancho Cortez to celebrate my daughter's 7th birthday and it was more than I could have asked for. The entire staff treats you like you are family and the owner Larry is great with the kids. The grounds are very well kept and there are so many amenities, 2 pools, hot tub, fitness center, hiking trails, game room for the kids, etc. Larry gave a training session on the horses before the trail ride which my daughter absolutely loved! The entire time was just amazing and there was always something for the kids to do. Thanks Rancho Cortez!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We loved our stay at Rancho Cortez. We have stayed at a dude ranch before, but this place was by far over the top. The grounds were beautiful and everyting was clean everywhere we went. We were very impressed with the staff and the owner, Larry Cortez. They all made us feel comfortable like home. We were equally pleased at how clean the barn was and how the horses were well taken care of (being horse owners ourselves). The trail ride was the best! Thank you for giving us a great 25th wedding anniversary vacation!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LazyBsRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great accommodation, relaxed atmosphere and amazing people - I really wished I could stay here forever!

Beautiful cabins that exceeded my expectation, clean and luxorious within easy reach of the hot tub and much needed pool, come the midday heat. Amazing food, something for everyone I'm sure, I personally love the chocolate cake but I think for most people the smores cooked over the campfire are pretty special. (If you don't know what they are you'll just have to go and see for yourself - you wont regret it!)

A whole range of activities on offer or just ask the expert staff if there is something inparticular you want to try. The friendly staff make the whole experience enjoyable and memorable.

I loved it some much I had to go back for an extra half day; the staff will tell you that parent's say that their children don't want to leave, but as an adult I felt the same way. Already planning on going back, maybe I'll see you there!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie_lovinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

You will not find a better Dude Ranch.... The people are wonderful. You are treated like family the entire stay. The accommodations are outstanding. You get three wonderful meals a day, beautiful clean cabins, people are there willing to answer any questions you may have and help with whatever needs you have. It was the best weekend vacation I have ever had.... you will love the horseback riding and wagon rides... the pools are great and you have the spa ....... You want the best massage of your life?.... They can get you that as well. I totally recommend you take your family or just for yourself. These will be the most hospitable people you will ever meet. It is like a large family.. not a business. Loved every minute there. Thanks to all at Rancho Cortez.

Room Tip: Cabins are located in wonderful place. You are on a hill above the office and all...so you are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great Place to get a "flavor" of Texas country life. Stayed onsite for 2 nights with my Wife and 2 boys (both 13 yrs. old). I have to grade this under 2 categories: accommodations & activities
** Activities -- Some of the best activities for the family -- horseback riding, feeding the Longhorn Cattle, Wagon Ride, Campfire Stories, Pool, etc. The boys even helped the ranch workers feed & care for the horses. Cowboy Larry, Julio & "Slim" did a great job in making our stay enjoyable. The horses were well behaved and trained for us city folk (family rode Goliath, Wild Thing, Popcorn, Jake, Pocohantas, etc.). We also went to Bandera, Texas (Cowboy Capital of the World - 10 minutes away) for a 3 hour excursion.....great little town to get the "Western" feel. The main strip has a place to get some good food, Western gear (hats, boots, etc.) and the General Store makes delicious milkshakes for a warm day.

** Accommodations & Food -- Room was very clean and spacious for the 4 of us. Food was served 3 times a day - for the guests and workers -- most of the lunch and dinner meals had a southwestern theme. The room did not have a refrigerator but we brought back ice water every night from the dining hall.

Overall great getaway for a few days -- turn off your computers, cell phones etc. & enjoy the country life.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandera hotels
9.1 mi away
Flying L Hill Country Resort
6.6 mi away
Twin Elm Guest Ranch
Twin Elm Guest Ranch
#5 of 23 in Bandera
191 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bandera Guest House with A Place To Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
River Oak Inn & Restaurant
11.2 mi away
Medina River Ranch Resort
Medina River Ranch Resort
#18 of 23 in Bandera
4 reviews
8.5 mi away
Pioneer River Resort
Pioneer River Resort
#12 of 23 in Bandera
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Cortez

Address: 872 Hay Holler Rd, Bandera, TX 78003-4364
Location: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Bandera
Price Range: $99 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rancho Cortez! Located in the cowboy capital of the world, Rancho Cortez is a Texas Dude Ranch and Cowboy Fitness Farm offering horseback riding, lodging, day trips, hiking, and more! Saddle up and live your dreams at the Texas Dude Ranch! Cowboys, cowgirls, and experienced riders will enjoy horseback riding with expert cowboy, Larry Cortez. We offer plenty of Texas-style fun with hayrides, campfires, cattle roundups, lasso lessons, swimming in our pool, or soaking in our hot tub. With a broad array of wildlife species and ruggedly beautiful landscape as far as the eye can see, the ranch is the perfect escape from urban life. Lost weight and get fit on the Cowboy Fitness Farm! Fitness and weight loss visitors will work with personal trainers under the direction of Mary Cortez. Come for our popular 30 day weight loss camp or spend just a few days or weeks. Guided hikes, water aerobics, yoga, weight training, aerobics, pilates, and horseback riding - along with classes in the air-conditioned gym - will help you meet your weight loss goals. We can get you started on the road to a healthier life and teach you new skills to take home! Come to the beautiful Texas Hill Country for the getaway of a lifetime at Rancho Cortez! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancho Cortez Hotel Bandera
Rancho Cortez Bandera, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing