We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hill Country Equestrian Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Rosharon, Texas
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We love Hill Country Equestrian Lodge. Dianne is wonderful. We brought our own horses and had to borrow Smokey from Dianne. We had a fantastic time exploring the trails. We will absolutely be going back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ginger1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    16
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
75
87
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kufstein
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I've been an English rider for many years and after an accident wanted to start riding again. I am so glad that I chose HCEL for this as Dianne, Shannon and Cora as well as the wonderfully trained and responsive horses made it feel so easy. I was my first time in Texas and my first time on a ranch and I am definitely are coming back. From being to end a perfectly well organised trip, ranch experience and time. The unique setting, the peaceful surroundings and Dianne and Peter...all I could have wished for! Ans by the way: the trail riders are fun :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed in May 2013 for 3 nights. We had originally planned to stay for 2 nights but extended the stay once we arrived. As novice horse riders, we had not planned to trek for hours for the mountains but thoroughly enjoyed it. You could do as much or as little as you wanted. Shannon & Adrian were great company and Diane was a great host. The Bandera gun club is just up the road and also worth a visit if you would like to play with an Uzi. A trip which will be remembered for a lifetime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2000000008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustMeBandera_TX, Owner at Hill Country Equestrian Lodge, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
We're so thrilled that we could be a part of your trip to "the States". So happy that you both took to riding like ducks to water! We know it's a long hop across "the Pond", but we do hope we get to see you again ! Please say hello to your parents fo us, as well. Your friends in Texas- Dianne and Peter, Shannon and Adrian, at HCEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

After vacationing at a dude ranch in Wyoming last year, I was looking for a horseback riding vacation where I could actually "ride" the horse, not just sit on an unresponsive, bored animal who follows the tail of the one ahead. Hill Country Equestrian Lodge was the perfect place for my vacation this year. I did their "Whole Horsemanship Clinic" and learned soooo much in 5 days. The problem now is trying to remember everything I learned and apply it to the riding I do at home, which is why I bought their Whole Horsemanship DVDs. Dianne is an excellent teacher, firm when she needs to be and praising when you do things right. She knows what she wants to get across and how to present it efficiently so you learn fast. In the afternoons we took 2 hour+ trail rides in the gorgeous TX hill country and she gave us riding tips along the way. It was May and many of the wildflowers were in bloom. I love nature and wildlife so I was delighted to see the jack rabbits, wild turkeys, and deer (didn't encounter an armadillo but maybe next year). As a bird watcher from the northeast, I was thrilled to see the vermilion flycatcher that hangs around the barn every morning. Peter and Dianne are gracious hosts. Food at the lodge was simple but nicely presented and very yummy. The dining room is in the original ranch house, which is their home, so you feel like you are dining with good friends. On a couple of evenings we took in the "cowboy" ambiance of Bandera. My only disappointment was that I didn't get to Bandera's Cowboy Store to buy a western belt with lots of bling (they close early). All in all, it was a GREAT week and I hope to return. Thank you Dianne, Peter and Trace (the gentle, handsome horse I rode all week) for so much fun!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustMeBandera_TX, Owner at Hill Country Equestrian Lodge, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dianne- Thank you for your kind words. It makes what we do worthwhile, when we can bring enjoyment to people such as you. It was my pleasure teaching you, and please let me know if I can be of further help. We surely hope to see you again. We will stay in touch, for sure. Your friends at HCEL- Dianne and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My kids any I stayed at HCEL in April this year. My 10 year old daughter and I are both avid english riders and we were looking for a place where we could be introduced to reining. I'm so glad we found Diane, the owner. She is excellent at coaching riders to use their bodies to help horses do their jobs properly. In two intense lessons, she got us to execute our very first complete reining pattern! We had huge fun learning a new riding style on her very well trained and sensitive horses Molly and Socks. On the trails, Shannon, our guide, was a great confidence builder for my son and shared a wealth of information about the region.
HCEL is a place where both beginners and advanced riders can have fun and learn.
The setting is wonderfully quiet and beautiful with animals domestic and wild all around.
Peter and Diane are great hosts, we had dinner at their table one evening with nice food and great conversation. If you stay, get a CD of Peter's music, we really enjoyed listening to it on the rest of our road trip through Hill Country.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustMeBandera_TX, Owner at Hill Country Equestrian Lodge, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
You and your daughter did a great job in your lessons, and it was so nice to see your son take an interest in riding, as well. It's our pleasure to serve you, and we hope to see you back again, although I know it's quite a distance for you to travel. Thank you again for taking the time and effort to let us share our ranch with you. Dianne at HCEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

So, another wonderful weekend at the Hill Country Equestrian Lodge! This time we brought my son and his family and we stayed in the big cabin where we had more than enough room for the 5 of us, including two kitchens and 4 bedrooms. Weather was perfect for April and so were the grounds. We had a great time AGAIN.

Saw a lot more wildlife this trip with tons of wild turkeys, deer, rabbits, coyotes, and other South Texas critters.

Thanks to "Mo" and Shannon for their great horsemanship and patience with us. My grandson loved it as much as we did and they were the main reason why. Thanks again girls.

Room Tip: Talk with Diane or Peter before booking and they can help you decide which cabin is best (though the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustMeBandera_TX, Owner at Hill Country Equestrian Lodge, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing us again for your special extended family vacation time. It was a pleasure introducing your grandson to riding. Take care, and we hope to see you again soon. Dianne at HCEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Our second visit was terrific.. Spent 5 nights this time and in one of the wonderful cabins, which are spotless.. Even made a fire one night. Diane and Peter are terrific hosts and wonderful people. Magnificent horses and fun to be around. Smokey and Trace will long be remembered. Shannon is a blast and excellent rider and teacher. The peace and quiet of the Hill Country is spectacular. Real cowboy country. Hope to come back again...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustMeBandera_TX, Owner at Hill Country Equestrian Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Frank and Diane- Thank you for choosing our ranch a second time, for your valuable vacation time. We love having you here as our guests, and truly hope that we'll see you again. Smoky and Trace miss you! Take care- Dianne, Peter, and Shannon at HCEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
20.4 mi away
Utopia on the River
Utopia on the River
#1 of 1 in Utopia
116 reviews
9.6 mi away
Flying L Hill Country Resort
24.5 mi away
Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Bandera Guest House with A Place To Stay
11.9 mi away
Medina River Ranch Resort
Medina River Ranch Resort
#19 of 23 in Bandera
4 reviews
13.2 mi away
Medina Lake RV Campground
Medina Lake RV Campground
#1 of 2 in Lakehills
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Country Equestrian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Country Equestrian Lodge

Property: Hill Country Equestrian Lodge
Address: 1580 Hay Holler Rd, Bandera, TX 78003-4270
Location: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Bandera
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hill Country Equestrian Hotel Bandera
Hill Country Equestrian Lodge Bandera, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing