We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience for families with kids!”
Review of Mayan Dude Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayan Dude Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience for families with kids!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a great time. The family that runs the ranch are the best. They genuinely welcomed us to their ranch and showed us a great time. Plenty to do all day long. It was so refreshing to be outside doing things. Would highly recommend the Mayan especially to families with kids!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kowgirl K, Owner at Mayan Dude Ranch, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive review about your recent stay at the ranch. We have added several new activities like Cowboy Hula and a live animal show to our summer scheduled this year, tailored specifically to the children. We are always thinking of new ways to entertain our guests, priding ourselves on providing the best of the West! We look forward to having your family with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    37
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
175
85
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

“It's the people!”
5 of 5 starsReviewed March 15, 2014
At almost the last minute, we decided to book a spring break at the Mayan Ranch. Timing is everything and we secured the last room due to a cancellation a few minutes prior. You will be well fed and entertained…but the beauty of this ranch comes from the intangibles. In the lobby, you can read the rewards, look at the family tree and listen to the staff as they speak proudly of their ranch. It s almost as though you are participating in the Hicks family reunion. A special call out to Judy and Tracey - their warmth and welcoming nature made us feel as though we were part of a reunion. We also loved the fact that this place is so laid back…Unlike other resorts where you hear "what room number" incredibly frequently, you simply help yourself to the snacks, drinks, coffee, beer…You pay the price and then don't take your wallet out again. We all loved the Mayan ranch and will be back again. We also awoke to a huge peacock on our back deck. Just part of the charm…Also, heads up about the gravy for your biscuits at breakfast - spicy/peppery/100% delicious! Fine job on experience and execution Hicks family!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyhubby&Daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, Owner at Mayan Dude Ranch, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for posting your positive review of your recent stay at the ranch. We will be sure to share your compliments with Judy and Tracey. Taking pride in our ranch and striving to offer you the best vacation possible is what makes our staff and property unique. Cowboy Breakfast biscuits and gravy are a Mayan Ranch staple. Visit our Facebook page for Timmy’s recipe. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We just returned from a March break family vacation in Texas. We spent 2 nights at the Mayan and wished we had more time. It was a very nice, hospitable family run location. The house we had was very nice: big, warm with the fire, clean, decorated in the cowboy theme but without seeming Disneyesq, i.e. it seemed authentic. Rooms come with a fridge and we had 2 bathrooms for us parents and 2 kids.

The people were all very nice, both staff (mainly family) and other visitors. It's a good place to relax, although they plan a variety of activities to keep you entertained in the late afternoon. The horse rides are fun, although you do have to go in single file at only a walking pace, but the scenery is nice. Each day has slightly different activities in the later PM, we had sit on the long horn steer one night, and then a showcase of animals another night which included a porcupine (that you can pet), snake, lizard, etc. There was also a session to teach you how to lasso. Beer and wine were on the house which was a nice bonus. Food was very good and they were pretty attentive to allergies (son is peant and my spouse is celica). I wouldn't say it's the best location for this but they are aware and accommodating. Cowboy breakfast was particularly good!

I rated this as a very good 'cause it take a LOT to make me give excellent, but this was prettymuch the best part of our trip which included San Antonio and Austin. If it wasn't so far away from Ottawa, Canada we'd likely return. (met a British couple who have beenc oming for 15 years). No disappointments whatsoever from us!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, Owner at Mayan Dude Ranch, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive review about your Spring Break with us. When you stay at the Mayan, we want you to feel part of our family. Malcolm and Shirley, the English guests you mentioned, are testament to our extended family spread all over the world. We are glad you had the opportunity to connect with nature and return home refreshed. We look forward to having you join the Hicks Gang again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

At almost the last minute, we decided to book a spring break at the Mayan Ranch. Timing is everything and we secured the last room due to a cancellation a few minutes prior. You will be well fed and entertained…but the beauty of this ranch comes from the intangibles. In the lobby, you can read the rewards, look at the family tree and listen to the staff as they speak proudly of their ranch. It s almost as though you are participating in the Hicks family reunion. A special call out to Judy and Tracey - their warmth and welcoming nature made us feel as though we were part of a reunion. We also loved the fact that this place is so laid back…Unlike other resorts where you hear "what room number" incredibly frequently, you simply help yourself to the snacks, drinks, coffee, beer…You pay the price and then don't take your wallet out again. We all loved the Mayan ranch and will be back again. We also awoke to a huge peacock on our back deck. Just part of the charm…Also, heads up about the gravy for your biscuits at breakfast - spicy/peppery/100% delicious! Fine job on experience and execution Hicks family!

Helpful?
1 Thank Happyhubby&Daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We just returned today from a wonderful short trip to the Mayan Dude Ranch. We stayed there Friday until Monday. We are took our 2 younger kids aged 12 and 7 with us. What a fantastic time we had. From the very start, you are made to feel welcome by the Hicks family. In fact, they treat you as part of the family. The atmosphere is happy, fun and friendly. The cabins are really quaint and fun. The kids loved it. The main reception area is well paid out, there is a large dining room and saloon. Food and drinks are aplenty. Nothing is too much trouble. We enjoyed horseback riding, lots of entertainment, a cowboy breakfast and great company. This place would be a great destination for any family, singles, couples, the old, the young, business, conferences, anyone. It really has something for everyone. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennon_Laz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, Owner at Mayan Dude Ranch, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive review about your recent stay at the ranch. We look forward to having you with us again for more of our brand of horsepitality. We agree that the ranch is the perfect get-away for singles, families, and conferences. Now, at the request of so many of our guests, we are offering wedding packages. Let us take care of the details while you and your guests enjoy your special day. Whether you are planning a small gathering in the Texas Hill Country or a Stilettos and Spurs Extravaganza, we have an experienced wedding planner and affordable packages to accommodate you. Call the office at (830)-796-3312 for more details. There is nothing quite like “getting hitched” at the Mayan Ranch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

From the minute we were welcomed by Kowgirl Kel to the minute we left, every second we spent of our 3 night break was fantastic.
Tommy, Ryan and Paige showed such passion and attention to the beloved horses that it made the gentle walks through the rugged landscape so memorable. You can tell how much they all enjoy being around the corral and after a short time spent there we all had our favourites. Star, Sky, Mickey and TJ were wonderful and made the rides so special. Good luck Paige for your first season.
We were lucky to arrive and have the whole ranch almost to ourselves and playing bar games and blackjack with Lou-Lou was such fun. No iPods, iPads or TV, such simple fun but the kids were completely enthralled. Thank you.
Some other special memories were made shooting BB guns, fishing in the river, watching the roping of Cowboy Kevin, being educated on the dinosaur tracks, mashmallows by the fire and learning the basics of Western dancing. The energy from the Princess of Power was contagious.
We ate like kings and no more than the wonderful Cowboy breakfast. What better way to spend your morning than to ride to the outdoor cookout, have an amazing breakfast whilst listening to the soft, gentle songs being played on a guitar. Delightful memories. Watch out for the gravy!!
Thank you to all at the Mayan Ranch. Your "horsepitality" is certainly legendry and we will certainly return as it is a short hop from Houston.
ps. Thank you Tommy for helping get my car started after the battery died.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Conrad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, Owner at Mayan Dude Ranch, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Conrad, thank you for sharing your positive review of the ranch. We are so pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. I will be sure to share your compliments with Kowgirl Kel, Tommy, Ryan, Paige, Lou-Lou, and Princess of Power. We strive to provide the ultimate get-a-away for you and your family. We believe that all children can benefit from a little time in nature, free from electronic distractions. We look forward to having you part of our family again. Happy Trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I first came here on a work retreat and have been returning with my family annually. I can't say enough about how amazing this place is. It give our family ample opportunity to enjoy being together and experiencing new things. The family and staff continually surprise me on how compassion and consideration. They have accommodated my downs syndrome sister every time and offered to help me with my little ones when they got fussy in the dining area.
We enjoy meeting other families and travelers who come along for the ride. Horses are great. For the price of an all inclusive - this is the kind of dude ranch were the dude or dudette can abide.
PS - this was the first time I had a cabin with a fireplace (Gunsmoke, #4) and it was cozy.
Jen

Room Tip: Try a cabin with a fireplace in the coolers seasons - they provide fire starter blocks, matches and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmburatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, Owner at Mayan Dude Ranch, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for posting your positive feedback about the ranch as a guest with your family and as a corporate retreat attendee. In addition to catering to families, the Mayan Ranch is a prime Hill Country destination for corporate and government retreats. We can accommodate up to 130 guests in our state-of-the-art meeting room nestled in the hills with a view of the ranch valley below. The Mayan has a relaxed, friendly atmosphere that provides a perfect environment for concentration and team building. We will work with you to create an agenda catered to your retreat goals. Come experience a different side of our brand of horsepitality and schedule a visit to tour our retreat facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
64.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pleasanton
23.8 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 mi away
Flying L Hill Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort
1.1 mi away
Bandera Guest House with A Place To Stay
8.8 mi away
Medina River Ranch Resort
Medina River Ranch Resort
#19 of 24 in Bandera
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Dude Ranch

Property: Mayan Dude Ranch
Address: 350 Mayan Ranch Road, Bandera, TX 78003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Bandera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayan Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Horsepitality" is the foundation of the Mayan Ranch which is located in Bandera, Texas, 48 miles NW of San Antonio in the Texas Hill Country. Come experience our superb food, great accommodations, enthusiastic staff, horseback riding over picturesque trails, and swimming in our Texas-sized pool. Learn how to spin a rope, crack a whip and pitch shoes. Or, just sit back and enjoy a wagon ride around the ranch property to see the wildlife.Bring your family or your business (we are a great facility for conferences.)The Mayan Ranch is full American Plan. Rates include all meals, lodging, ranch activities as well as complimentary beer, wine, sodas and coffee.There is a little 'cowboy' in all of us - Find yours at the Mayan Ranch. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mayan Dude Ranch Hotel Bandera
Mayan Dude Ranch Bandera, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing