We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really good experience.”
Review of Mayan Dude Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayan Dude Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A really good experience.”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The team at the ranch are really friendly and hospitable. We were given a warm welcome and a choice of 2 cabins: One very close to the main building and one further out in the trees. The first cabin was on a north american indian theme and was very cosy. We would have been happy with this, but chose the one further from reception, which was much bigger and airier with a high ceiling and a kind of prairie settler theme. Nice to have a choice! The cabin we chose had 2 double beds and a big bathroom. Good air conditioning and ceiling fans. Mainly evangelist TV programmes, but who goes to a ranch to watch TV?
The food at the ranch is generally very good. Breakfast is either taken in the main dining room or "cowboy style" out on the ranch. The cowboy breakfast is definitely recommended and is accompanied by a "singing cowboy". You can either take your morning ride to and from breakfast or jump on the "hay wagon". Lunch and dinner were served either in the "pavillion" or the dining room whilst we were there - although I believe that sometimes there is a barbeque out on the ranch. Wine, beer and soft drinks are complimentary until 10pm.
We enjoyed the rides, although more experienced riders would probably get bored with walking in-line pretty quickly. An hour at a time was long enough to know you had been riding, without walking like John Wayne for the rest of the day! Hard hats are available if you ask for them.
There is a big outdoor swimming pool, which is perfect for cooling off and unknotting those muscles post-rde.
This place would be perfect for a family holiday or a big group of friends. It was not busy whilst we were there and a few more guests would have created more of a social "buzz". There is usually some kind of activity for an hour or so after dinner. For example, we had a line dancing lesson on our second night, which was great fun and certainly helped our dinner go down! If we had stayed for more than two nights, we would have taken the short drive into Bandera for the evening - where we understand there are a number of lively honky tonk bars.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Hotflop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    35
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
167
84
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at the ranch in sept and were so happy with the choice we made. We were met at the airport by Greg, he's a great guy so friendly and chatty made the journey to the ranch easy after a long flight. The cabin was much better than we expected and lots of room to get comfortable. The food we had throughout our stay was fantastic and we tried biscuits! The horses and riding was really fun with cliff and my hubby enjoyed his first ever ride on a horse. It was low season so not too many people around which was good because you get to know people and have more fun together with the activities.
We really hope to come back here one day as we were made to feel so welcome, thank you to all of you at the ranch we went onto our next destination very happy farmers :)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Looloo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Awesome hospitatily, chatty friendly staff who really make you feel part of the family. THere is a wonderful history of the Ranch and the Hicks family to be discovered. The activities were fun, the cowboy breakfast probably the most relaxed I have ever been and the steak night (two plates pls) was wonderful fun. great for relaxing and getting away from it. go for it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PedroCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Greg, Kelly, Dave, Cliff and co were amazing. They were so friendly and welcoming.
The food was great - loads of choice, the service was amazing, the activities were brilliant.
My friend and i loved it. The Hayride down to breakfast and dinner, where we would eat outside while being serenaded by cowboys (and a goose - who apparently just loves music!) the horse riding twice a day (we'd never even sat on a horse before!). We learnt how to lasso and crack a whip. There was an olympic size pool if you just wanted to chill, entertainment in the saloon bar every night...
The Hicks family and staff work so hard to make sure you have a great time - and we did.
The only bad thing about it was having to leave! Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

This was our seventh stay over the last ten years, once again a great welcome from the Hicks family and their staff, special mention to Kelly, Judy, Tommy, Greg, Doug, Dave (in the saloon) and all the rest of the family and staff (too many to mentio), they are the best. Great food and activities, excellent location for relaxing and watching the wild life, the deer wander close to the cabins and give you some great photo's. If you are looking for a different kind of holiday then this is a one I would strongly recommend, kids and adults will thoroughly enjoy it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank trinichief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This summer, we decided to take a motor trip to New Orleans and Dallas Texas from Miami. For something different, we spent three days at a "Dude Ranch" in Bandera, Texas. Rustic but clean and well appointed, the Mayan Ranch is fun and exciting or laid back by a great pool, you choose. The ranch is superbly run by the Hicks family since the early fifties. This friendly, accommodating clan handles it all with an engaging style. From a horseback trail ride to an outdoor breakfast cowboy style, a hayride country music hoedown with family cooked western dinner, Mexican night, Mariachi band, tons of things to do and games for kids and adults alike. Real Western Saloon with honky tonk piano, wine and beer, three great meals a day included.....we all loved it. We'll be back next year!

dikbubba

Helpful?
4 Thank dikbubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Hicks family has run the Mayan Ranch for over 50 years and they do EVERYTHING. The wrangler that puts you one of the ranch’s 40+ horses and guides you through a walk may very well serve you a hamburger or beer at lunch or clear your plate at dinner.


At any given time, you will see a wrangler wrangling, serving, or singing!!

A typical day:

7:30 Wake up (I can’t believe I WANTED to do this every morning on vacation!!), hop on a horse and ride to Cowboy Breakfast. Cowboy Breakfast is eggs, perfect biscuits and gravy, grits, sausage and bacon all cooked over a fire and OJ and coffee served outdoors, fireside. “The Breakfast Guy” plays acoustic guitar and sings every morning at Cowboy Breakfast. It truly could not be more charming. And there are NO bugs. NONE.


9:30 Free time (games in the lodge, swim in the pool or play in the river on the rope swing or read somewhere)

11:00 Program (trick roping, archery, bb gun shooting, volleyball, water volleyball)

Noon Lunch Buffet Hamburgers are always an option. Lunches vary but always offer a couple entrée options, salads and fruit and ice cream

1pm program (line dancing lesson, whip cracking, fishing, egg toss, etc)

2:00 play in the pool or in the river on the rope swing

4:30/5ish Go to room to rest and get ready for the evening

5:45 Snacks and Happy Hour

6:45 Dinner served in one of the three outdoor eating areas or in the dining room. THEN, there is always evening entertainment. Line dancing, a melodrama, 2 musical acts, a long horn steer for photos, fireworks. All of their events are family-friendly and leave you feeling good and lucky to be at the ranch. The kids made friends. We made friends. Returning guests (there were many more of them than us newbies) go out of their way to teach new guests the ins and outs of the resort.

I really cannot praise this amazing family and their charming dude ranch enough! Please feel free to e-mail me with questions!!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have wifi, so if that is important, be sure to clarify. The main lodge has wifi, so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
11.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pleasanton
23.8 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
20.9 mi away
Best Western Boerne Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Flying L Hill Country Resort
17.3 mi away
Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort
1.1 mi away
Bandera Guest House with A Place To Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Dude Ranch

Property: Mayan Dude Ranch
Address: 350 Mayan Ranch Road, Bandera, TX 78003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Bandera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayan Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Horsepitality" is the foundation of the Mayan Ranch which is located in Bandera, Texas, 48 miles NW of San Antonio in the Texas Hill Country. Come experience our superb food, great accommodations, enthusiastic staff, horseback riding over picturesque trails, and swimming in our Texas-sized pool. Learn how to spin a rope, crack a whip and pitch shoes. Or, just sit back and enjoy a wagon ride around the ranch property to see the wildlife.Bring your family or your business (we are a great facility for conferences.)The Mayan Ranch is full American Plan. Rates include all meals, lodging, ranch activities as well as complimentary beer, wine, sodas and coffee.There is a little 'cowboy' in all of us - Find yours at the Mayan Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mayan Dude Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Dude Ranch Hotel Bandera
Mayan Dude Ranch Bandera, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing