We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Family Vacation”
Review of Mayan Dude Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayan Dude Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Hicks family has run the Mayan Ranch for over 50 years and they do EVERYTHING. The wrangler that puts you one of the ranch’s 40+ horses and guides you through a walk may very well serve you a hamburger or beer at lunch or clear your plate at dinner.


At any given time, you will see a wrangler wrangling, serving, or singing!!

A typical day:

7:30 Wake up (I can’t believe I WANTED to do this every morning on vacation!!), hop on a horse and ride to Cowboy Breakfast. Cowboy Breakfast is eggs, perfect biscuits and gravy, grits, sausage and bacon all cooked over a fire and OJ and coffee served outdoors, fireside. “The Breakfast Guy” plays acoustic guitar and sings every morning at Cowboy Breakfast. It truly could not be more charming. And there are NO bugs. NONE.


9:30 Free time (games in the lodge, swim in the pool or play in the river on the rope swing or read somewhere)

11:00 Program (trick roping, archery, bb gun shooting, volleyball, water volleyball)

Noon Lunch Buffet Hamburgers are always an option. Lunches vary but always offer a couple entrée options, salads and fruit and ice cream

1pm program (line dancing lesson, whip cracking, fishing, egg toss, etc)

2:00 play in the pool or in the river on the rope swing

4:30/5ish Go to room to rest and get ready for the evening

5:45 Snacks and Happy Hour

6:45 Dinner served in one of the three outdoor eating areas or in the dining room. THEN, there is always evening entertainment. Line dancing, a melodrama, 2 musical acts, a long horn steer for photos, fireworks. All of their events are family-friendly and leave you feeling good and lucky to be at the ranch. The kids made friends. We made friends. Returning guests (there were many more of them than us newbies) go out of their way to teach new guests the ins and outs of the resort.

I really cannot praise this amazing family and their charming dude ranch enough! Please feel free to e-mail me with questions!!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have wifi, so if that is important, be sure to clarify. The main lodge has wifi, so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 375 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

after a long battle my father finally passed 5 years ago...my mom insisted that my entire family ,17 in all ,spend a week at the Mayan...The Hicks ands family did what they do best, without knowing the real effect they have on others lives. They show you the best time, service, food and entertainment. You will catch the Ranch FEVER! They helped us heal by just being themselves. We have been back every year and have already booked next year. Do yourself a favor and join them for a awesome time. Jack B

1  Thank jack b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Earlier this year I was trying to find a vacation that would suit myself, my 15 year old daughter & my 8 year old grandson from FL. I knew our TX beaches weren't the place. A friend suggested a Dude Ranch would be fun, I found there were many to pick from. Mayan Dude Ranch appealed to me from the start, the website was very clear, even better when I phoned, Kelly was so helpful. Mayan Ranch is completely owned and run by the same family since 1951. It's all inclusive, no extra surprise charges. Lodging (cute & clean cottages), food(all homemade), alcohol (beer & wine), activities, most important horseback riding twice daily are all included in one daily fee, prorated for teens and children. It sounded like so much fun 9 of us ended up going together. You can swim in the pool, swing by a rope into the Medina River, the food is first class, many meals are cooked on an open camp fire, there are hay rides, activities everyday. The best thing however, is the thrill of riding a horse twice a day for an hour on different trail. We all had a blast & it was only 41/2 hour drive from Houston.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucybujnoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family has been visiting the Mayan Dude Ranch for over 30 years. Never disappoints us in any way. Good family fun where the kids can have lots of activities and the adults can relax and recharge. Lots of great food and the entertainment is always fun (even the repeats that we have seen before).

The place is well layed out and gives you a feeling of being way out in the country. Backs up to a top notch "Texas Swimming Hole" on the Medina river that is as fun as it is beautiful. Includes horseback rides, lot of activities, daily entertainment and of course the free beer from 11am to 8pm isn't too bad either.

Try it once and you'll be a regular.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pablo_Kruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

10 of our family spent 5 nights at the ranch. Everyone had a great time , including a picky eater who said the restaurant was the best ever! I would highly recommend this as a vacation destination. Many fun activities for all ages. They never make you feel like a city slicker!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Workout247p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My family and I have stayed here 4 times, and each time has been so much fun. I really cannot recommend it enough. The entire Mayan family are warm, engaging and so kind. The activities they offer are fun for all ages, the food has to be experienced to be believed, the facilities they have are great (lounge with widescreen TV, swimming pool, bar), and the cabins are wonderfully cosy and comfortable.
I cannot stress enough how perfect the Mayan Ranch was for our holidays, and each time has left us longing to return as quickly as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We have been bringing our grandchildren to the Mayan for the past seven years ... Every year we ask if they want us to make reservations for the following year. The answer is always a resounding, "Yes.". This family run ranch is consistently great. Importantly, it is safe for the kids to be on their own. We look forward to visiting the Mayan for many years to come.

    • Value
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
22.4 mi away
Days Inn Boerne
Days Inn Boerne
#7 of 7 in Boerne
178 reviews
21.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Boerne
2.5 mi away
Flying L Hill Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bandera Guest House with A Place To Stay
17.3 mi away
Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort
23.4 mi away
Joshua Creek Ranch
Joshua Creek Ranch
#5 of 11 in Boerne
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Dude Ranch

Address: 350 Mayan Ranch Road, Bandera, TX 78003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Bandera
Price Range: $125 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayan Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Horsepitality" is the foundation of the Mayan Ranch which is located in Bandera, Texas, 48 miles NW of San Antonio in the Texas Hill Country. Come experience our superb food, great accommodations, enthusiastic staff, horseback riding over picturesque trails, and swimming in our Texas-sized pool. Learn how to spin a rope, crack a whip and pitch shoes. Or, just sit back and enjoy a wagon ride around the ranch property to see the wildlife.Bring your family or your business (we are a great facility for conferences.)The Mayan Ranch is full American Plan. Rates include all meals, lodging, ranch activities as well as complimentary beer, wine, sodas and coffee.There is a little 'cowboy' in all of us - Find yours at the Mayan Ranch. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mayan Dude Ranch Hotel Bandera
Mayan Dude Ranch Bandera, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing