We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was available and bearable...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Oak Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 10 Bandera B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel had a room when we needed one on a Saturday night. The room was very dated and some serious maintenance issues but, there was a fridge, microwave and a nice flat screen TV...there was wi-fi and a restaurant with wine across the parking lot. It was clean and we had a good night's sleep there.

The check-in clerk/owner discounted the room $10 for us and was very accommodating to help us put our trailer with motorcycles in a convenient place.

The room had the old "smoking" smell to it, although we didn't request a non-smoking room, but we acclimated fairly quickly so that we didn't notice it much after there for a while.

If we needed to, we would stay there again. Although I prefer a bed and breakfast in a place like Bandera. Our trip was to Leakey to ride the 3 Sisters roads and we had a cabin in Vanderpool which we left a day early because of the isolation and inconvenience of the location.

This hotel was a serviceable replacement and the owners were accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tchwawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for River Oak Inn & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 45 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Bandera is a wonderful Texas town with much to offer to tourists and travelers. But it is definitely a town with few contemporary amenities (I suppose that's what helps it keep its charm). We have often eaten at Brick's, the restaurant behind the hotel and always enjoyed the outdoor patio, friendly staff and large portions of pretty good food.

We stayed at River Oaks Inn for several nights in October, 2013 and were given the motorcycle suite (or so we dubbed it). Reading other reviews it seems people had "western" themed murals, but ours took a LOT getting used to. (It did give the place character, that I admit!)

Bed and pillows were not terribly comfortable, curtains made me feel I was in a Bollywood movie. Bathroom was very dated. Nice to have a refrigerator and counter for eating/hanging out. Wifi was fast. The place is often completely booked with motorcyclists, most whom are very friendly so if you're looking for quiet on a busy weekend, this place may not be your best choice. (Though it will be full of fun and interesting people!)

There aren't many places to stay in Bandera, so for convenience we choose to stay here. Plus, it's probably the newest inn in town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The western murals with running horses take a little getting use to, but the room was clean and the people were accommodating. They have restaurant and the food was good. There is a little creek behind the restaurant. We will stay there again if the need arises. I think this is the best place around Bandera.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Txgrl4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The room we had was decorated in a western mural all over the wall. It took some getting used to but we learned to live with it over our three nights there. The ceiling had a glow in the dark starry affect which was lit by ultra violet light. It was lovely to fall asleep under the stars, so to speak and you could switch it off if it all got too much.
The room was large and equipped with microwave and coffee making facilities. The huge bed was very comfortable but white sheets rather than pink and/or green might have made it a little more appealing.
It wasn't the cleanest room we have ever stayed in but it was OK and location was great for us being just a couple of minutes drive into the centre of Bandera.
The negative for us but not a major problem was that each room has its own parking space right outside but whenever we came back to our room, workers from the resturant next door were always parked in it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MunchKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Ended up there two nights on motorcycle trip. We had a king room and a room with two queens, both rooms were clean and had new beds. The weather was not so nice! Very comfortable. Would stay again. Room rate was $87.00

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

room 125 has a mural of motorcycles. Interesting touch. also, there is a black light above the bed which fueled the glow in the dark galaxy on the ceiling. Not the cleanest, nor up to date, but I'm not sure what you would expect in Bandera.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kamikaz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This has got to be the worst possible place to stay!! Room smelled like old musty smoke!!! Ugly country mural painted on the walls! Beds were old and hard as rocks!!! Nothing extra or special about it!! I am in the room right now and the smell of smoke makes me want to puke!! They charged us $125 per night. I will NEVER stay here again...and I hope you don't either.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mathqueenlori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandera
23.2 mi away
Inn of the Hills Hotel & Conference Center
20.2 mi away
Best Western Boerne Inn & Suites
21.8 mi away
Days Inn Boerne
Days Inn Boerne
#7 of 7 in Boerne
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Boerne
21.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Texas Hill Country
0.7 mi away
Bandera Guest House with A Place To Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Oak Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Oak Inn & Restaurant

Address: 1203 Main St, Bandera, TX 78003
Location: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Bandera
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bandera
Price Range: $76 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River Oak Inn & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your River Oak Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Oaks Inn & Restaurant Hotel Bandera
River Oaks Inn And Restaurant
River Oak Inn & Restaurant Bandera, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing