We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but extremely clean and well kept”
Review of The Eleven Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Balmorhea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Eleven Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balmorhea
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old but extremely clean and well kept”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great little old hotel. Definitely shows age but was well kept and the staff was extremely nice. Nice room with two comfy beds and a small bathroom with a shower. Close to the spring, great for divers or just people stopping into town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jkyleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    25
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
22
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I could write a short story about my stay here, but I'll try to summarize. I'd stayed here before on a trip to Mexico, but this time I booked ahead. About 15 minutes out, I hit a deer on my motorcycle. It's a miracle I am alive! The deer smashed the headlights and the air cleaner. So, I call Dave, the owner, and ask him to send a tow truck.

I ended up staying there a week, waiting for my ankle sprain to heel up and for my parts to arrive. Fixed the bike and continued my journey.

I wish I could have stayed an extra week. The hotel is so charming! Dave and his wife are wonderful hosts. Everyone in town is really nice. This is a town where they don't lock their doors and leave car keys in the ignition.

Room Tip: Call ahead. This place is a favorite among oil workers, hunters, and fishermen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcos_SMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great value for your stay while visiting the State Park. Karen went above and beyond and made my family feel right at home. We will be staying again and again every time we go to the State Park to Scuba Dive. :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FaithGraceMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Eleven Inn was an unexpected find on my long road trip thru Texas. I had always wanted to stop in Balmoreah and finally had an opportunity to stay there over nite. It was just a few miles from the cold spring fed pool that cooled me after a long drive. The owners were so incredibly warm and welcoming. It is rare to find a place where you feel at home so much. I also slept so great there. I meant to get up at 7am and hit the road but ended up sleeping in until almost 11am!There is something magical about this place. I recommend it!

Room Tip: I liked number 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you are looking for a place close to Balmorhea State Park, the Eleven Inn is a good option. It doesn't look like much from the road (nothing really does in this very small town), but drive in and you'll discover a charmingly old-fashioned motor inn with very clean and comfortable rooms. My room was very small, but I had everything I needed for a good night's rest. The bathroom was immaculate. The management has also thoughtfully provided a small microwave and refrigerator as well as an outdoor picnic area. There is also a decent Tex-Mex restaurant about a block away.
By the way, the drive from Balmorhea down to Fort Davis is stunning!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I travel with my dog, so I stay in roadside motels often. This may be my favorite one yet. Set back a bit from the main road to Balmorhea, you will find breezy rooms that have been tastefully updated yet retain their 1940s charm. This is the real West--antlers, old bird cages, Mexican blankets. It feels like being on the set of a John Ford film. The bathroom was immaculate with fluffy towels, and the bed was delightful. Just a scenic stone's throw from Balmorhea State Park and the exquisite swimming pool there. The owner is a hoot, too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KR_bklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lubbock
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

i highly recommend this hotel,for people traveling through balmorhea,or to vacation here.
the rooms are old,but very clean. the owners who live on site,go out of there way to make sure your stay is comfortable'
there is a tex mex. restaurant a block away serving real good food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Eleven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eleven Inn

Property: The Eleven Inn
Address: 504 South Main Street, Balmorhea, TX 79718
Location: United States > Texas > Balmorhea
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balmorhea
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eleven Inn is an 11 room court motel built in 1946. All rooms have Wi-Fi, flat screen TV's with premium cable channels, microwave and mini-fridge. Rooms have a single queen bed, two full beds or two queen beds. Sheets are line dried for sunshine freshness, chenille bedspreads cover the beds accented with designer pillow shams and quilts. Each room is unique and cleaned daily by the owners. A coffee bar is provided in the lobby and ice is available. A grassy common area is well maintained offering picnic tables, outdoor seating, fire ring, bar-b-que pits and grills and vintage playground equipment for the kids. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eleven Hotel Balmorhea
11 Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing