We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fried fish on the planet”

Reggie's Fish and Chicken
Ranked #10 of 33 Restaurants in Winchester
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best fried fish on the planet”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had been told about Reggie's fried fish being heavenly, but I didn't believe there could be that much of a difference. Boy, was I wrong. This is not your greasy, cornmeal-dredged, hard as a rock fish. This is fish the way it was meant to be prepared ... not a hint of grease, light, fluffy, piping hot. It is like eating a cloud. And the portion on the fried catfish sandwich was huge. Reggie knows how to prepare food and makes sure his cooks do it his way. You can't go wrong with his menu. And be sure to look at the great tin ceiling tiles in this historic building on the courthouse square. I just wish more people would patronize this wonderful restaurant at lunch time. There were only five people there the day I went. The decor is nothing to write home about which is why I only gave it a 4. The food rates a 10.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TullahomaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    3
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belvidere, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Place to Eat”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We get Great Food and Great Service every time we go to Reggie's . They always treat you rightevertime you go there. The food is always served fresh and hot, and with a smile!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estill Springs, TN
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The chef comes and asks if all is well with your meal”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Chef Reggie prepares wonderful fried fish and chicken, and he'll ask you if it is all good. He has outstanding homemade [by a local lady] pies available, whole or by the slice.

Helpful?
1 Thank Edie0550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Most surprising out of the way eatery with best fish tacos and fabulous fried green tomatoes.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Quaint old establishment that has always been there, always serving great rustic cafe food. Great comfort food surrounded by hundreds of 1st edition comics on the walls. Terrific service. Worth a stop and repeat visits.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place to eat”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Excellent fish. Great selection of fish not just catfish. Good service. Good location you can eat then walk around the square

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fayetteville007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reggie's Fish and Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Reggie's Fish and Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing