We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent BBQ”
Review of John T's BBQ

John T's BBQ
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: Gotta give a shout out to the fantastic dinner my family enjoyed at John T's BBQ on the square in Winchester, TN. Some of the best dry-rub baby back ribs this Southern boy has ever eaten. Good sauce and sides but the highlight was the fall-off-the-bone ribs man!!! The restaurant needs to get added to Trip Advisor so more people know about it...on second thought, maybe I 'll keep it to myself.
Restaurant details
Description: Gotta give a shout out to the fantastic dinner my family enjoyed at John T's BBQ on the square in Winchester, TN. Some of the best dry-rub baby back ribs this Southern boy has ever eaten. Good sauce and sides but the highlight was the fall-off-the-bone ribs man!!! The restaurant needs to get added to Trip Advisor so more people know about it...on second thought, maybe I 'll keep it to myself.
Monteagle, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We kept trying to figure out their hours but once we did it has become a lunch favorite. All the sides are great especially the sweet potato fries. BBQ is excellent and their smoked chicken is the best I have ever had. They have lunch specials and the fried catfish is very fresh tasting.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Christee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    22
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashv
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Killer meats, cheap buckets of bottled beer”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Fun, kitchy interior reflects the owners dedication to detail. I've eaten here a number of times and I'm never disappointed in either the quality of the food nor the portion sizes. Try the cheesecake in a cup. Yum.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank scotty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The servers could use a makeover but the owner comes out and talks to you. A little slow on getting food out in an accurate amount of time. Love the coziness.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food for a great price.”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is good southern food in a historic building with decor that reminds me of the Cracker Barrel. It is a fun experience, but don't go if you are in a hurry. This is not fast food!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice of them to stay open later than usual.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I ate with five companions late at night during a relay race from Chattanooga to Nashville. There weren't many places still open at 9:30 pm, so we were grateful they were serving several teams from the relay. The food was good, several options for food other than BBQ. Good sweet potato fries.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GramyTnUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John T's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to John T's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing