We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature and beautiful views abound; basic amenities only”

Natchez Trace State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Natchez Trace State Park is named for the famous "Natchez to Nashville" highway, an important wilderness road during the early 18th century. A western spur of The Trace ran through a portion of what is now the park. The park was built as part of President Roosevelt's "New Deal" program. The land was bought from residents who could no longer make a living farming the land because of extensive erosion problems. With the many acres of scenic woodlands, the park includes four lakes, a swimming beach, a 47 room resort inn and restaurant complex, cabins, group lodge, camping areas, picnicking sites, playgrounds, a ball field, a regulation pistol firing range, picturesque hiking trails, a wrangler camp, 250 miles of horse riding trails, a park store, and archery range. Located at I-40, exit 116, this area is composed of a State Park, State Forest and a WMA with a total of 48,000 acres.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nature and beautiful views abound; basic amenities only”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our most recent stay at Natchez Trace State Park was in June 2013, for a family reunion, when we stayed for three nights in one of the cabins on Cub Lake. Our cabin had one bedroom, one bath, one living room with sleeper sofa, and a small kitchen. The decoration was basic, ditto the kitchen utensils, but everything was pretty well maintained. The cabins all have a/c, which is necessary as much for dehumidifying as for cooling. From the cabin it was an easy walk to the swimming area at Cub Lake, which is roped off and graded with sand. We enjoyed a good swim there, although on Monday morning it needed some serious litter clean-up (which we gave it) from the weekend. Near the swimming area there are paddle boats for rent, which we've enjoyed in the past; however, the boat rental office is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays so we missed it this time around. We also thought about going horse-back riding, but learned that there was no horse-back riding this summer, unless you bring your own horse. So instead we did a lot of swimming, at the lake and at the pool at Pin Oak Lodge, and took long walks through the woods. In the past we've also played tennis and gone fishing. So with all of that said, the pros: very peaceful, beautiful woods, beautiful views of the lake from the cabins, cabins are comfortable and allow for self-catering, lots of wildlife (saw turkey, deer, turtle, and raccoon this time around). The cons: services at the park seemed to have been cut back to a minimum, although this may have been because we were there at the beginning of the week. Still, with cabins, very little service is required, and we enjoyed our most recent visit much as we've enjoyed our many visits in the past.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin_Ilana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    38
    12
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Something for All, Including RVers”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Driving along I-40, we saw the sign for this state park and detoured to check it out. Plenty of nature's amusements for everyone. Trails for hikers and horses, fishing, play areas, picnicking, firing range, "wrangler camp," lodge, cabins, four lakes...

The RV area was of particular interest to us. It is arranged in two large and two small loops, encompasssed by woods and Pin Oak Lake, with a boat dock, covered picnic area, play site, swimming beach, and nice-looking restroom buildings. The RV sites had hookups, grills, fire rings, and seemed appropriately spaced, clean, and uncluttered, although there was little shade. On a Friday, the campground was about 25 percent filled -- but a good number of RVers had Old Glory flying proudly, a welcome sight. Prices were reasonable; senior (and seasonal) discounts available. The website features thumbnail pics of each site as well as parking/living area length and width.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank goseedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simplicity and Outdoors”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to Natchez Trace State Park and stayed in the rustic cabins over Memorial Day weekend. The park was great. There are tons of hiking trails, it would be a great place to cycle (we did not do this, ourselves, but several folks were), they have a couple of swimming pools and a swimming holes, horse rental, etc.

The rustic cabins are indeed rustic. There is no phone, no wireless, no TV, and neither of our phones got any reception... Which I think is perfect!! And the cabins are sparsely appointed. They give you four forks four knives a couple of cooking implements, a rough looking couch, a perfectly serviceable bed and that's it. Also the cabins are decorated and what I would call either "man cave" or " man cave hunting lodge" style. Honestly, I thought it was downright dark and depressing but then again I'm not a huge fan of hunting lodges or man caves. But we opened some windows and let it air out and let some sunshine in and it seemed OK.

The trails are not well marked in terms of finding the trailhead, but once you are on the trail they are easy to follow. Its been our experience at pretty much every state park that we've been to that they ha that they have about the most confusing trail maps you could ever hope for, but we've never encountered one with anything other than black and white approximate trail maps, so I can't really complain about the trail maps at this particular state park.

All in all we absolutely loved it, but the folks who said that it was sparse and plain were exactly right.

Also, the the buffet is really something to see. Its like true original Americana, complete with gravy, macaroni and cheese as a vegetable, delicious fried catfish, and so many other things that make the South the obesity and stroke belt! But darn tasty! And tons of it

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WillowFort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great state park for a family reunion”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This state park has lots of recreation opportunities for you and your family, and there are lots of options for lodging, too. With cabins, camp villas and camp sites, as well as activities like biking, fishing, hiking, boating and horseback riding, this would be a great place for a family reunion..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BDSchwarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Tn
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Camping at Cub Lake was great for the family”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We decided to camp at Natchez Trace for our annual summer family vacation. When we went you couldn't reserve many sites, but we got the one we wanted since we arrived mid week. {Now you can reserve any site at any TN state park} We camped at Cub lake area A, site 23. It's out on the end of the campground overlooking the water. You pay 5 dollars extra a night for the lake spots. The area was clean, and the neighbors were nice. The playground leaves a bit to be desired though. You can walk across a bridge to go to the swimming hole. We rented a paddle boat too, can't remember how much it was for the day, but not expensive. We had no issue with furry creatures that come out at night to get into your stuff left outside either. There's plenty of shade around all of the sites at Cub Lake.
There are many off road trails that can easily be used with a truck or Jeep. I wouldn't take a sedan though. Some of the trails are dirt paths and get slippery in the rain.
We enjoyed our stay at the campground and will be returning.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TnMama2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natchez Trace State Park also viewed

 

Been to Natchez Trace State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing