We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining & Educational”

Buttonwillow Civil War Dinner Theater
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Whitwell
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer a unique step back into America's past, complete with period meal and a moving drama. Our audiences are surrounded by an authentic Civil War performance hall, complete with accurate costuming, music and genuine Civil War history. We are Christian-based and family friendly. We reveal facts long-lost in our books. We hold nothing back as we peel back the years of edited history. This program is written for those who slept through history class...and will challenge the serious historian.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Entertaining & Educational”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have to admit, I was not very excited about visiting this dinner theater as a stop on a bus tour. However, it turned out to be one of the best stops we made. This 2 person play was so entertaining, as well as educational. The website states it is "Southern Drama with Southern Humor". Steve Gipson, owner & actor, & his wife, Allison, are wonderful actors, & from the time we arrived until we left, they were pretty much in character. The food was served before the play & was very good and traditional. This stop was not just a short hurried stop, but lasted approx 2 to 3 hrs. We enjoyed every minute. There is a small gift shop with unique items.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank lyngale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    11
    0
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun Trip”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our group of 26 Senior Adults went on a fun day trip to The Buttonwillow Civil War Dinner Theater for lunch. The lunch was delicious and true Southern food . We really enjoyed the play which took us back to Civil War times. Never have facts been so fun! It was our second visit too. We recommend this for anyone, but especially young people studying American History or older people who need a refresher course.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucille L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife, and my father and mother in law went here for dinner and the show. Entertaining, educational, good food...we could not have been more pleased with the whole event! I was thoroughly impressed with the whole event. I found the ad in the back of Tennessee magazine, a one line blurb about the civil war dinner theater in whitwell..and a few days later we went. Again...I will go again...and can't wait! So well done.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Spud577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Great food and show! Enjoyed the lunch show with a group of 17 - can't say enough good things about the Buttonwillow Dinner Theater!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kld76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Looking for something different and thourghly entertaining - Buttonwillow Church Civil War Dinner Theater might be for you. Whitwell, TN might be off the beaten track (about 40 minutes from Chattanooga, tak I24 and route 28) but it is oh so worth the trip. We went with a group of 20 for a lunch and all of us had a good meal and a great time. Reservations (423-658-7478) are required as it is a small venue and no walk-ins allowed. Dinner is served at long tables seating around 16 at each table and after dinner a delightful almost 2 hour two person show set in 1864 that is educational, funny and perhaps thought provoking. If you are planning a tour trip - give Buttonwillow a try - you will not be sorry.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GAretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buttonwillow Civil War Dinner Theater also viewed

 

Been to Buttonwillow Civil War Dinner Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing