We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Do”

Buttonwillow Civil War Dinner Theater
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Whitwell
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer a unique step back into America's past, complete with period meal and a moving drama. Our audiences are surrounded by an authentic Civil War performance hall, complete with accurate costuming, music and genuine Civil War history. We are Christian-based and family friendly. We reveal facts long-lost in our books. We hold nothing back as we peel back the years of edited history. This program is written for those who slept through history class...and will challenge the serious historian.
tennesee
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Must Do”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Great evening complete with a wonderful meal (chicken, carrots, green beans, stuffing, biscuit and a dessert) and husband/wife play centered around the civil war. Located in an old church building (do not use GPS to try to find this place, use the directions on their website, much easier to find). First the food - large chicken breast, nicely cooked, very tender; wife and family raved about the stuffing, carrots were a hit as well and biscuits the way they should be. All from scratch. Beverage choice of coffee, tea or water. The play was fun, informative and interactive. Makes one realize how little you really know about that period in our history. Entertaining for all ages. Expect to spend 4 hours. Husband/wife team interact with the guest pre and post show. This one will not disappoint.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank chatdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    11
    0
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great eye opening experience”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great country food. The show was great and eye opening to the facts. I researched some of these facts once returning home. I would recommend this to anyone even though they are not interested in Histoy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing retelling of little-known Civil War facts.”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

It's true! The victors write the history books. We are Civil War history buffs, and had an opportunity to spend a day in Chattanooga. We looked to see what Civil War places we could visit and stumbled on this dinner theater. What a blessing to have gone!
This out-of-the-way dinner theater served wonderful home-cooked food, and gave us an abundance of Civil War history in a very entertaining way. We "Northerners" got a history lesson in things that you won't see in the usual history books. We were sure to fact-check some of the things we were told, and came away amazed at the re-call the owner has for history. PLEASE make this a place to visit in your bucket list - you won't be disappointed.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Group Outing to the Dinner Theater”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Things I never knew about the Civil War and what a great way to learn them. Most interesting history lesson I had in a long time.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank photomilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, excellent building, excellent theater.”
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

This is an attraction every visitor to Chattanooga should include. Its a short scenic drive and the food abundant and good. The owners put on a thought provoking history lesson full of laughs and details you'll be glad to learn.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kytraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buttonwillow Civil War Dinner Theater also viewed

 

Been to Buttonwillow Civil War Dinner Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing