We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ahhhhh-mazing!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whiteside, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
leannconn...
Waco, Georgia
1 review
“Ahhhhh-mazing!”
Reviewed November 28, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We have rented many places over the years, and I must say this one had the most beautiful views of any we have ever stayed! It was the most peaceful, tranquil place and not too far from home, about 3 hrs, we absolutely loved it!! The house was super clean, and well stocked with all the right pans/dishes etc for our thanksgiving feast. (I do recommend a new can opener) I was a little concerned about the road described in the pervious reviews/comments but it honestly wasn’t bad at all. Just a good 30 minute 10 mile slow drive, but not too rough. The driveway was def steep so if snow or ice would def present a problem, but we had no problems at all in dry Conditions.
The sunroom was so Beautiful and well appreciated, my mom now wants one on her house lol I would recommended this rental for sure.
We went to the enchanted lights at rock city. This place wasn’t far from there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackemal2...
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“WONDERFUL family vacation.”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We truly enjoyed our stay at River Outlook-Dock near Chattanooga Tennessee. The cabin was in wonderful condition when we got there. Everything was in order and the kitchen was fully stocked with all utensils needed.. The hosts even provided us with some games and videos during our stay. I enjoyed the upstairs bedroom and my son and granddaughter enjoyed their space downstairs complete with another living room. They enjoyed going down to the dock and fishing and I enjoyed watching the boats and barges on the Tennessee River from the cabin. Son and granddaughter went to several attractions but opted to stay home some to play games and watch movies. Family time was GREAT! It is a drive to the cabin but SO worth it. Stock up on your way in and drive slow to enjoy the sights to the cabin.
Thank you so much Christina, Thor and Monica for sharing your lovely home with us. We hope to return soon.
Matt, Linda and Ellie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely home. No wi-fi as advertised. Liked electronics free time.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2016
We are so glad y'all enjoyed your stay at River Overlook. It is a bit out from town (18 miles), but truly a relaxing getaway. Thanks for taking such good care of the property during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon J
1 review
“It was nice”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

It was a very nice cabin, plenty of room for the four of us and then some. It takes about thirty minutes or more to get to Chattanooga from the cabin as the roads are very bad and rough on the car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin was right at the river.
Liked least: It was a very rough ride to Chattanooga as the roads were very bad.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2016
Thanks for choosing Lookout Mountain Vacation Rentals and River Overlook. We are sorry you thought the road was very bad and rough on the car. Yes it is 18 miles to downtown, the majority of distance is on a narrow, two-lane, paved county road along the Tennessee River (this house is river front), so definitely winding and not all level. There was recently a small portion of the road washed away during heavy rainstorms, which has been partly repaired. We do tell folks it takes between 30 and 35 minutes to get to downtown. Also our directions to the house detail the closest grocery stores on your way in to reach the property, so you can store up and enjoy your time there without internet or television. Below a mountain side (Signal Mountain), along a large river (TN River), this is the shortest access to the property from downtown. We are glad you enjoyed the cabin and it was spacious enough for your family. We hope you walked down the 220 steps to the river and boat dock!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
577maggie
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice on the outside”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It was a nice set up home, but the kitchen was dirty ( the oven and utensil drawer was dirty) Food was stuck on utensils and utensil holder had food in it) Not organized to much stuff in drawer and pots were just scattered. Had to re-clean everything we used. Oven door was not cleaned from inside. No TV to watch, certain lights did not work.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Other facilities & amenities
Liked least: TV was there but not operating to watch.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2016
There is NO internet and the TV's are for video, dvds only, no channels.
This I just copied and pasted from the online description, can't make it much clearer. Concerning the kitchen being dirty. We have a regular experienced cleaning crew come in and clean after each stay and usually everything in in top notch condition. It is possible that some things may have been overlooked. Thanks for letting us know, we will inspect closer in the future and make some changes to the cleaning crews routine to avoid this problem in the future. Thanks for staying with us !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing