We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Place with an interesting menu”
Review of Hollywood Grill & Fun Center - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hollywood Grill & Fun Center
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
TN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Local Place with an interesting menu”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Hollywood's is a local favorite for people that live in the White House and surounding areas. Our family has frequented the restaurant for several years and always enjoy going.

The menu features a lot of Hibachi style food, but "American style" food is available if that is your preference. When I don't get a Hibachi meal, I often order the chicken wrap. It is super yummy and not like typical wraps you would find elsewhere. The soup is ALWAYS great and I will order it regardless of what else I may be eating that day.

Don't expect a fancy place because it's not. Also, the servers (typicall high school-age girls) do a fair job, but again, this is not a five diamond place. What they may lack in polish, they overcome with their fresh-face smiles.

One of the interesting features of the restaurant is it's focus on families. In the side dining area there is a small play area that provides good distraction for little gals and girls who are easily bored with polite dinner conversation. There is also a game room where they can spend some time.

Because the place caters to families, it can be busy and loud at times. You may have to wait a bit and parking is not optimal, but if you want good food at a great price, you should not be disappointed. If owner Jack is there, you certainly will not be disappointed because he is intent on pleasing his customers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidicphq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Identity crisis”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

By the name, we expected an American style menu. We were surprised to find a hibachi style menu. The food was fair and the service was good.

Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Kentucky
Level Contributor
704 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Not Bad....”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The several times that I have eaten here the food was good and the owners polite. However some of the wait staff were a bit much (complaining about life and sharing problems).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrMarc9491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White House
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't stop here”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Last time I went to Hollywood's was over 5 years ago. That trip should have been my last. Went to Hollywood's tonight (4/12/12) wasted 23 bucks on bad food and bad attitude. My wife and I ordered Malaysian (curry) chicken with rice, I ordered an egg roll as a side and My wife ordered a side salad. The food took way too long to get to us, 20 to 30 minutes.The pepper factor was so overwhelming that the sparse food in the watery down dish had no flavor, a few pieces of broccoli and carrots, 1 mushroom, chicken that was fused together in one large clump. The rice served on the side was clumped but was supposed to be fried rice. We are used to curry and spice in our food, but the curry was even masked by the use of excessive hot pepper. The food was not edible due to the level of heat. To make things worse I never got the egg roll and my wife's salad was swimming in ranch dressing. This even gets better, the service was a joke, when asked about the food by our server we told her it was not ok, her response, "Sorry", we asked for our bill, and at the register the cashier asked, "Was it good," and I responded "NO", and then the cashier mumbled back a portion of "orry", We paid the bill they talked among themselves as we walked out. They did not make it right. The best part is I live about 4 blocks from this place and I work about 2 miles from it, and will tell All of our bad experience. Also, won't make the same mistake in another 5 years. I have to give them one star to post this but would not give even that.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern US
Level Contributor
378 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Above average Small Town Place with Ice Cream.”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The Good: Clean, Neat, Local, decent service
The Bad: Average Food, Not much variety.

I love a local place and I have eaten at Hollywood 4 times. It's not a bad place. It's a neat little building in central White House. I have not had a bad meal here but I have never had anything memorable either. The service is good, the place is clean and decently decorated. They have Ice Cream by the scoop for desert.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadLessTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Grill & Fun Center also viewed

White House, Sumner County
White House, Sumner County
 
White House, Sumner County
White House, Sumner County
 
White House, Sumner County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing