We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise find!”

Granny Fishes House
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Wartrace
Cuisines: American
Description: This is a great little seafood place in the middle of the country. They farm raise their fish and the stream and farm are found behind the restaurant. Great hushpuppies and frog legs. Amazing catfish and their fried pickles are the best I have had.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a great little seafood place in the middle of the country. They farm raise their fish and the stream and farm are found behind the restaurant. Great hushpuppies and frog legs. Amazing catfish and their fried pickles are the best I have had.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A surprise find!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

What a no nonsense, straightforward, tasty place to eat - off the beaten track! If you want good, home cooking with helpful and attentive service come here! Just one thing to note - you will need to pay in cash and although we didn't ask, we didn't see any alcohol for sale.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna Tn
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Homestyle Cookin”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Best Fried Catfish I have ever eat. It is located way of the road you will miss it if you blink. The food is delicious you get three pieces of fish and 2 sides. They have whole or filets. All the fish is farm raised. If you are in town this is the place to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, the Lone Star State
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Old-Fashioned, Good”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Granny Fishes is a family favorite.

The negative: service is slow, and the owners aren't really motivated to improve it. The attitude seems to be, "Plenty of people eat here, who cares if you don't come back?!"

The positive: individual waitresses are very, very nice, and the food is good. Not great, but good.

Granny Fishes is out in the middle of nowhere and you might have a hard time finding it. But I'm sure you'll enjoy your evening, once you get there.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estill Springs, TN
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A hidden-away local delight”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Delicious catfish and other entrees. They have great looking desserts, but we are always too full to have any.

Helpful?
Thank Edie0550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, tn
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family Friday Nights”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We go to Granny Fishes about two Friday nights a month. I love catfish and hushpuppies and Granny Fishes does both just perfect. It's a little slow because they have a small kitchen; but it's worth the wait. When you go, just plan on taking your time and enjoy your company. It's locally owned and I believe supporting small business is important!!! Just remember, the waitresses are nice, but they don't get in a rush either. It's a southern thang!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paige J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granny Fishes House also viewed

 

Been to Granny Fishes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing