We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could not stay here- dont confuse with Walking Horse Lodge in Lewisburg”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wartrace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walking Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wartrace
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Tried to stay here on June 7th and called that evening to see if they had any rooms. They said they needed to check and called back and said they could do 2 rooms for $100 each. They said it was not like a newer hotel, but we were ok with that. We got there around 9:30 pm to find 2 cars in the parking lot, no lights on and doors locked, even thought they knew were coming. We finally did get someone to help us but when we asked to see the rooms, we decided we could not stay here.They must have cleaned the rooms for us, but one of the rooms had a fan to dry out the carpet and it looked like no updating had been done at all anywhere in the building. The smell of mildew was so strong throughout the building it was overwelming. They were clearly doing some work there as the first thing we saw as we went into the building was a huge power saw and lots of construction materials all over the outside entrance and stairwell landing. It was like a bad movie.
To be fair, we thought we were calling Walking Horse Logde in Lewisburg, so our expectations were of something different, but this was so bad we had to leave. I have never had to leave a hotel without staying, but our whole group was so thrown by the place none of us wanted to stay. I was willing to drive for hours just to be able to stay somewhere else.
I am a little bit of a hotel snob, but this was beyond bad. As we left for the next town to find anything that woud suffice, we could not help but joke that we should call it the walking dead horse hotel.
When we got to the next city, we found a Best Western with vacancies ( and lights and peopel there) and stoped there for the night. When we told the girl at the front desk of our experience, she said she didnt think that hotel was even open anymore.
I do see some reviews that are much better than mine, so maybe its a different place in the daylight, but we were not willing to stay and find out.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
6  Thank HappyTravler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 13 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this historic hotel.
We were attending a train show held in the hotel first floor. The public rooms on the ground floor were much more modernized than the guest rooms. The owner, a very gracious man, explained that he has plans for updating the guest rooms of which there are just five available currently.
A wonderful reprieve from the busy urban life that most of us live in.
We look forward to another visit to this charming area of rural middle Tennessee.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrainmanSuwanee_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Well, I don't know about paranormal, but it is only the ghosts you will run into in this hotel. The entire time I was there, I only saw the maint. man a couple of times. The downstairs had ALL the lights off every time I came in the hotel. If you are used to staying in the Holiday Inn Express, this hotel is not for you. There are no extra amenities (and the train coming by every few hours is a nightmare). If, however, you like historical/quirky places, the bed/pillows are clean/comfortable, the water is hot and the water pressure is great. I wish Joe well, and I hope that as his business grows, he can do all the necessary updates to make this a truly great old hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiveOnTheRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a great place to stay for a relaxing weekend in this quaint little town. This hotel is within walking distance of everything in this little town and is close to several other towns which are all great for sight seeing. If staying here a trip to Bell Buckle to eat at the Bell Buckle Cafe is a must! If you are wanting a great view a trip to Normandy to George Nickle is recommended. The hotel owner also has events most weekends in the Chais Music Hall. This hotel is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel although the rooms each have their own bathrooms. This will definitely be the place we stay anytime we are going to be in the area!

Room Tip: Most rooms are upstairs with no elevator but there is one room on the ground floor that is handicap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingMama83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Wartrace is slightly off the beaten path, but literally in the "Heart of Walking Horse Country." More like a bed and breakfast than a hotel, no elevator.
Some people claim there are ghosts that still live there, although friendly ones!

Two great restaurants within a short distance, both with GREAT food, Miller's Grocery and The Bell Buckle Cafe. Both have home style cooking, reasonable prices, and food so good you will come back the next day.

This is an excellent place for a quiet weekend to spend touring horse country, visit yard sales, or just stay in bed and relax. Joe and his staff will see that you have whatever you need, and even cook some BBQ on the weekends.
You can sit on the porch in a rocking chair and enjoy a simpler/more gentile time.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bestfoodforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

From a era of simplier times come the Walking Horse Hotel, a must place to stay if you enjoy the small towns and rolling hills of Middle TN. The inn was clean, very comfortable and has the unique bonus of a Wonderful Host. Thank you Joe and Little Joe for all you did for our family over the weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

If you're planning a trip to middle Tennessee, you have to stay at this great inn. What a lovely experience and a very fine innkeep, Joe Peters.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnTheRoadAgain28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Walking Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walking Horse Hotel

Address: 101 Spring St, Wartrace, TN 37183-2010
Location: United States > Tennessee > Wartrace
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wartrace
Number of rooms: 259

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing