We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIDEOUSLY expensive”
Review of Blackberry Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blackberry Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Very nice resort in a beautiful rural setting. Food was acceptable, but certainly not the exceptional fare advertised. Service friendly and attentive.
The place was patronized by the rich and the filthy rich. I don't count myself amongst that crowd. Room rates were already very pricy but then you have a drink or 2 and find that exorbitant prices are charged for merely pedestrian wine and beer, and astronomical prices charged for anything exceptional. If you want a Scotch make sure to ask! Some are as much as $400 a serving! Then the bill comes. A large service charge is added to EVERYTHING.
In the end, a very pleasant experience was ruined for me because of this fleecing. We played the game and did not take coolers to the room like some.
I'd money means nothing and you want to go somewhereaway from hoi paloi, by all means. I won't be back!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Danioro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 521 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2011

This is our 6th or 7th visit and we love it more than ever! Absolutely gorgeous, incredibly peaceful, wonderful food, lovely service - this is a very unique and special place. I feel blessed to have the opportunity to be here.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camjwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Living in Frendsville I have spent a majority of the past 20 years or so waiting to go to Blackberry. I finally convinced my husband to take me and I was not impressed. We went for relaxation but it was much more work than anything. Anytime you wanted to go somewhere you had to change to four different vehicles and sit in the car for 20 minutes. The food was covered with salt, vinegar, and butter, and was all around not interesting.

Our activity guides were the highlight of the trip.

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Friendsvilletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

I have had the pleasure of staying at Blackberry Farm twice. Both stays were perfect and I felt like we were pampered and taken care of from beginning to end! The location is gorgeous. The staff were friendly & very helpful! The food and wine was over the top fabulous! It was pure relaxation and the spa was just wonderful ( an old farm house)!! I will return and can hardly wait! Very expensive and worth every dollar!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripletMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

One of the finest hotels I've ever stayed out. Blackberry farm is everything that it is supposed to be. My wife and I spent a few nights here between Christmas and New Years. It was a perfect trip. The staff was gracious the property was exceptional, and as many note the cuisine was perfection. I don't want to repeat all of the great comments that folks have already written, but I will encourage those who are interested to venture to Blackberry Farm because it is just terrific in more ways than I can describe.

One addition I will make, my wife and I have stayed and wonderful properties around the United States. This may be the only property we have ever stayed out where relaxation is truly encouraged. We left well fed, rested, and ready for a new year.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pasag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

My husband and I recently had an intimate wedding ceremony at Blackberry Farm. Everything was perfect - the venue, flowers, service, food, etc. The resort's attention to detail is impeccable. We stayed in one of the cabins while the rest of our party stayed in the main lodge. Both were outstanding accomodations but the cabin is the way to go. If you are a fan of opulent bathrooms, the cabin is for you. The cabin also has a wood-burning fireplace and comes with its' own golf cart that you can use to explore the grounds (we recommend taking advantage of the miles of hiking trails). And, you definitely won't leave Blackberry Farm hungry. There is gourmet food around every corner - unlimited snacks in your room, common areas, and decadent meals three times a day.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jumbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Overpriced. Logistics of getting around in mandatory golf carts plus transferring to staff automobiles problematic. Staff friendly, but poorly trained in many instances and service not consistent. Arrival reception was lackluster as was leaving. "Creative" efforts by chefs often fell short. If this is the dining experience you seek, try Artisanal, Banner Elk, NC. Though unseasonable snow storm was predicted, they seemed ill-prepared. Rooms lacked atttention because of understaffing. If this is the kind of lodging experience you are looking for, try the Post Hotel, Lake Louise, Alberta. Blackberry needs to travel to see what other Relais and Chateaux establishment are doing and train their staff. Not deserving of this prestigious affiliation.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank VeteranTraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walland
18.1 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,461 reviews
18.0 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#5 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,402 reviews
17.3 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
4.9 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
587 reviews
20.5 mi away
Dollywood's DreamMore Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Farm

Address: 1471 W Millers Cove Rd, Walland, TN 37886-2649
Location: United States > Tennessee > Walland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
Price Range: $1,332 - $2,778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blackberry Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of America's most celebrated intimate luxury hotels beckons discerning guests who aspire to escape modern-day frenzy and slip into a Blackberry state of mind. Situated on a pastoral 4,200-acre estate in the Great Smoky Mountains, Blackberry will show you the many reasons why it is one of the top rated properties in the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Blackberry Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Farm Tennessee
Blackberry Farm Hotel Walland
Blackberry Farm Tn
Blackberry Farm Walland
Blackberry Farm Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing