We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Anything you could want on a vacation except nicer rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackberry Farm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blackberry Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Anything you could want on a vacation except nicer rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

From the second you arrive here you are treated like you are a special guest. This was our first time here and I felt like I was one of their most prized guests- everyone went out of their way to be friendly and helpful- not that we really asked for that much. Some how everyone knew our name immediately- not sure how they do it. One day I asked about having their cheese macaroni for lunch the next day- sure enough it was there made special. At dinner the sommelier remembered our wine selection from the prior night. All the food was excellent and probably way too much. I normally don't eat three full meals a day but looked forward to all of them. Dinner is in a beautiful restored barn with a large fireplace- large wine menu- great food. I noted some people here complained about portion size, but I thought the portions were just right, and the food tends to be heavy- so never left a meal at all hungry. Beautiful grounds to walk around and look at. The spa was nice and people friendly- they are building a bigger more modern spa but I thought this was fine. There is a heated outdoor pool but its sort of plain- could use some sprucing up with nice decking- didn't find it very inviting. We did go shooting one day, it is off grounds , and had a great time, Bob was an amazing instructor and made it seem easy and fun- There are many activities but they all cost extra including the shooting. The only thing I would say was the rooms we stayed in were average. They were clean, but on the small side. Bathrooms were nothing special. I believe there are cottages on the grounds but they were not available. I think for the price the rooms should be nicer. On the other hand, there are places to read and relax so don't need to spend too much time in room. I would agree phone service and internet is a little weak but it is vacation- When we left, had a box lunch in the car and water- felt so sad leaving. Would definitely return but will try and plan more in advance and get better room. Also as others have said, this is not a cheap place, plus there are taxes and gratuity added on, so price is something about 25-30% more without wine, drinks, activities.

Room Tip: if available ask about the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flierm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    59
    34
    25
    20
See reviews for
59
277
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We returned to BBF for 2 nights in October. We wanted to see the resort in the fall (our previous trip was in winter). We stayed in the main house again. This time, our king room (Teaberry) was a bit disappointing. It was nice - just small and the bathroom was outdated. I would recommend requesting Doll's Eye if you are staying in the main house. It was a much more spacious room and had a more romantic feel.
The service was again excellent. We also had perfect crisp fall weather and were able to take advantage of some outdoor activities, like hiking and fly fishing.
I think the main attraction to BBF is the food...and it lives up to the hype. Our meals were all wonderful. The duck and halibut entrees were highlights. The only dish that fell a little short was the brisket at lunch...too salty for my taste. We did bring some of our own wine to drink during the non dinner hours. It is a really lovely place to sit on the porch and sip a pinot noir for an hour or two.
We did have some confusion/mixup with the wine we ordered at dinner. Apparently, we were served and charged for a different bottle than we ordered (very close - but twice the price). The management staff sorted through the problem efficiently and we were credited appropriately.
Overall, this remains one of our favorite places. Is it expensive? Yes. It is definitely a splurge. But for a foodie, I think it is worth it.

Room Tip: The cottages are definitely more private and luxurious. If staying at the main house, request Doll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CNPhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Blackberry for 3 days in one of the Singing Brook Cottage “suites”. I have to say that this is an extremely expensive place. If you are not prepared to just jump in for the cost, I wouldn’t stay here. Having said that, we liked it very much.

The room was a good size with bed, sofa, desk and chairs as well as 2 comfy swivel chairs. Large closet, snack area with coffee maker and stocked frig, very large bathroom with 2 sinks and Jacuzzi tub. Nice porch outside with two large chairs. While it’s clear on the floor plan that the bedroom isn’t separate from the living room, for the price, that would have been nice. One cool thing is that you get a golf cart to get around the grounds as it is something of a hike to the main lodge from those cottages.

The grounds are large and beautifully tended. Just a beautiful bucolic setting with sheep and horses in the meadow, chickens and turkeys … you get the picture. I used the spa which was very nice and the massage was great. We rode bikes (free) around the property and hiked for two of the three days on the BB trails. I have to disagree with a comment made by another that the trails aren’t well maintained. I thought they were very well marked, easy to follow and not overgrown. That was a life-saver for us since we were there when the National Park was closed.

We thought the food was very good with generous portions. The wine list is unique with a wide and deep range of choices. If you like older wines, they can be had at value prices, as compared to what you might pay for them elsewhere (assuming you could find them).

Most of all, the service was great from beginning to end. The staff was friendly, professional and accommodating in every setting. One call to the front desk resolved any question or issue we had and it was done almost immediately. Room cleaned twice a day. One negative is that the concierge didn’t seem to know what was going on outside the property. As noted above, we were there during the national park shut down and we were eager to know what was going on locally. They didn’t really know. We also asked about the bike routes outside the property and with the exception of one route, they didn’t really seem to know about them

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Blackberry Farm is unique. It is luxurious in a laid-back way. The staff was unfailing in their attention and kindness. We stayed in one of the Holly Glade cottages. It was spacious and very comfortable. I could have lived in that cottage. The decor was like you would experience in a fine southern home, elegant, yet a lived-in appearance. Having a golf cart at our disposal was a godsend in getting up the hill from the cottage area to the other facilities. I loved the ambience of the Barn restaurant for dinner. The food was outstanding from the watermelon drink, to the soups, scallops, etc. Took advantage of the Lexus, the big one, to drive to Cade's Cove. Enjoyed a horse and buggy ride also.

Room Tip: Love the privacy of the Holly Glade cottage we had. It was on the end of the cottages, with just woo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraN410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This property has been on my wife's bucket list for years. Any review I write can not do it full service. Their search for excellence is apparent and achieved in my sight.

Staff...extraordinary. Room...dated, but dated perfectly. Food...best I've eaten anywhere. Warmed bathroom floors, perfect wine selection, Lexus on-site transportation, virtually any activity you could want outdoors or in. Did I say great food and great service?

It's a 10 on this 5 scale. I'm back in a blink.

Room Tip: Yes, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cte39794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

A getaway vacation is more than just the hotel room. And that is what Blackberry Farm is, it is an experience. From check-in to check-out, guest services is tops. All requests are filled with a smile and a "my pleasure". We traveled with younger couples who enjoyed the numerous trails and hikes. My husband and I did shorter walks on property and did a lot of reading by the lit fireplace. I typically eat 2 meals a day, but not at BF. The meals are Low Country with a metropolitan twist, absolutely delicious. Who need a Chinese restaurant-looking menu when it is difficult to decide among the 3-5 offerings for each course. The freshness oozes from every bite. Andy and Andrew selected the perfect wine pairings for our meals. We did not get to see the fall colors on the mountains as in years past, but the good weather made up for that. I'll admit I thought the carpeting and some furniture could have used a good cleaning, but other than that, I loved my time at Blackberry Farm. I'll schedule next year's trip by Feb or Mar to be sure to get my room preference.

Room Tip: The Guest House has a warm, friendly common room. The cottages are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conniehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
188 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fabulous "farm" setting in the Great Smokey Mountains. Elegant accommodations, very comfortable bed, great toiletries: we enjoyed our room, all the great books, small chocolates , cookies , bedside water and welcome notes from the Guest Relations manager. The service was absolutely superb, including Reception, Valets, chauffer's and waiting staff everywhere. The food, especially dinners, was very "inventive" pretentious, mostly overdone and dry, to the point, that we shared and enjoyed tremendously chicken fingers and French fries , that was done just right! We returned may be there should be a choice of food ( especially on the great farm, like that) for the REAL people!

Room Tip: we were in the main house and Teaberry Room was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walland
18.3 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
6.1 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
17.4 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
19.6 mi away
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#2 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Farm

Property: Blackberry Farm
Address: 1471 West Millers Cove Road, Walland, TN 37886
Location: United States > Tennessee > Walland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackberry Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of America's most celebrated intimate luxury hotels beckons discerning guests who aspire to escape modern-day frenzy and slip into a Blackberry state of mind. Situated on a pastoral 4,200-acre estate in the Great Smoky Mountains, Blackberry will show you the many reasons why it is one of the top rated properties in the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Amex so you can book your Blackberry Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Farm Tennessee
Blackberry Farm Hotel Walland
Blackberry Farm Tn
Blackberry Farm Walland
Blackberry Farm Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing