We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great resort.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackberry Farm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blackberry Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
Certificate of Excellence
Cocoa Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Blackberry Farm is unique. It is luxurious in a laid-back way. The staff was unfailing in their attention and kindness. We stayed in one of the Holly Glade cottages. It was spacious and very comfortable. I could have lived in that cottage. The decor was like you would experience in a fine southern home, elegant, yet a lived-in appearance. Having a golf cart at our disposal was a godsend in getting up the hill from the cottage area to the other facilities. I loved the ambience of the Barn restaurant for dinner. The food was outstanding from the watermelon drink, to the soups, scallops, etc. Took advantage of the Lexus, the big one, to drive to Cade's Cove. Enjoyed a horse and buggy ride also.

Room Tip: Love the privacy of the Holly Glade cottage we had. It was on the end of the cottages, with just woo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraN410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    56
    34
    25
    20
See reviews for
59
266
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
MO
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This property has been on my wife's bucket list for years. Any review I write can not do it full service. Their search for excellence is apparent and achieved in my sight.

Staff...extraordinary. Room...dated, but dated perfectly. Food...best I've eaten anywhere. Warmed bathroom floors, perfect wine selection, Lexus on-site transportation, virtually any activity you could want outdoors or in. Did I say great food and great service?

It's a 10 on this 5 scale. I'm back in a blink.

Room Tip: Yes, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cte39794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A getaway vacation is more than just the hotel room. And that is what Blackberry Farm is, it is an experience. From check-in to check-out, guest services is tops. All requests are filled with a smile and a "my pleasure". We traveled with younger couples who enjoyed the numerous trails and hikes. My husband and I did shorter walks on property and did a lot of reading by the lit fireplace. I typically eat 2 meals a day, but not at BF. The meals are Low Country with a metropolitan twist, absolutely delicious. Who need a Chinese restaurant-looking menu when it is difficult to decide among the 3-5 offerings for each course. The freshness oozes from every bite. Andy and Andrew selected the perfect wine pairings for our meals. We did not get to see the fall colors on the mountains as in years past, but the good weather made up for that. I'll admit I thought the carpeting and some furniture could have used a good cleaning, but other than that, I loved my time at Blackberry Farm. I'll schedule next year's trip by Feb or Mar to be sure to get my room preference.

Room Tip: The Guest House has a warm, friendly common room. The cottages are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conniehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fabulous "farm" setting in the Great Smokey Mountains. Elegant accommodations, very comfortable bed, great toiletries: we enjoyed our room, all the great books, small chocolates , cookies , bedside water and welcome notes from the Guest Relations manager. The service was absolutely superb, including Reception, Valets, chauffer's and waiting staff everywhere. The food, especially dinners, was very "inventive" pretentious, mostly overdone and dry, to the point, that we shared and enjoyed tremendously chicken fingers and French fries , that was done just right! We returned may be there should be a choice of food ( especially on the great farm, like that) for the REAL people!

Room Tip: we were in the main house and Teaberry Room was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I went for a romantic weekend away (much needed with two children under 3 at home). I researched, looked forward to the trip for months and booked a standard room at $1000/night. I assumed the standard room at a resort charging that amount would be gracious, if not luxurious. Turns out I was very wrong.
Our room was barely bigger than our bed, with no place to sit, relax or enjoy room-service. The bathroom was tiny, with a pedestal sink, medicine cabinet and 4ft tub. The worst part of the room, however, was the two-inch gap between the hotel-room door and the floor. You could literally see the other guests' feet as they walked by and could hear every word they said and move they made. . .not exactly romantic or conducive to sleeping in.
The grounds were fine - beautiful views, ok pool, poorly maintained hiking trails. The barn where the events were held was beautiful - too bad we couldn't sleep there.
The food was fantastic - though I found it to be a little salty and heavily grit-centric.
Some might argue that because meals are included it is actually a decent value (or at least not a rip-off), but we calculated that at the very most BBF could attribute $500 of their nightly revenue to food. Therefore, we were effectively paying $500 dollars for a dumpy room in the middle of nowhere. I would have been happier visiting during the day and staying at the nearest Hampton Inn (not that they would allow that).
All in all, we were disappointed that the weekend did not lend itself to the relaxation and romance we had hoped for and were $4000 poorer for it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Atnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I sent this note after returning home. While it refers to a single incident during our stay, it symbolizes the excellence of the staff from top to bottom.

Tommy,

After several stays at Blackberry, my wife I were pretty well accustomed to the superb service and extra mile care that you are so well known for. Nothing though prepared us for the response of your team when Marg had her back troubles part way through an evening meal. Not only was a potentially awkward incident handled with seemingly effortless ease, but it was all accomplished with a cheerfulness and kindness that soared well above and beyond anything we could have hoped. The young man (we did not get his name) who assisted Marg back to the cottage deserves special praise. He very gently eased her into the cottage and then did everything he could to ensure she was as comfortable as possible (water?, TV? anything?).

From beginning to end, Tommy, every member of your team who was called upon responded with warmth, genuine solicitude, and flawless competence. Please express out thanks to everyone involved and accept our very deep gratitude.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBA79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hello,
Last week my husband and I were lucky enough to be invited to a family wedding at Blackberry Farm for the entire weekend. I appreciated the short mini van ride from the airport to the farm. We drove past the white board fenced property of Blackberry glancing at the horses, sheep and llamas grazing in the pasture. We noticed the new spa being built then the tennis courts and pool. We drove to the main reception house. Our accommodations were superior. A semi detached home nestled in the woods with it's own covered porch plus two rocking chairs. The first nights picnic by the pond exceeded my expectations. When the Chateauneuf du Pape bottles arrived on the table it set my expectations high for the rest of the meal. They did not disappoint. The smoked flavors of the salmon, chicken and pork were above the top. Fireworks, bluegrass band, smores on an open fire all added to a great experience. The next day wine tasting during the wedding reception was informative. The wedding reception food was a foodie's dream meal. I would love to fox hunt with the Tenn. Valley Hunt and experience the November opening day. The only drawback, it took us two flights to finally arrive at the Knoxville airport. I can only imagine Thanksgiving with the family at Blackberry........

Room Tip: the cluster of homes such as Wild Turkey, Indigo Bunting were elegant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank equestrian_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walland
18.3 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
6.1 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#6 of 11 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
17.4 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#2 of 11 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
19.6 mi away
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Farm

Property: Blackberry Farm
Address: 1471 W Millers Cove Rd, Walland, TN 37886-2649
Location: United States > Tennessee > Walland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of America's most celebrated intimate luxury hotels beckons discerning guests who aspire to escape modern-day frenzy and slip into a Blackberry state of mind. Situated on a pastoral 4,200-acre estate in the Great Smoky Mountains, Blackberry will show you the many reasons why it is one of the top rated properties in the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Blackberry Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Farm Tennessee
Blackberry Farm Hotel Walland
Blackberry Farm Tn
Blackberry Farm Walland
Blackberry Farm Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing