We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Berry Berry Good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackberry Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blackberry Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
169 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Berry Berry Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Lets get the only unfortunate truth out of the way first. This place is expensive. I figured we spent $ 104 an hour for the 4h hours we were there. If money is of concern, think long and hard before you visit. And even if money is a concern, if you are celebrating your 24th wedding anniversary, I'd be hard pressed to think of a better place. The food is fabulous. The setting is enchanting. To be able to go clay shooting, fly fishing, hear a talk on heirloom tomatoes and have every meal so delicious you are in utter disbelief, how do you put a price on that? The staff is very helpful the weather was gorgeous so if you want a fabulous getaway, Blackberry is the place. By March, 2014 they will have a new spa and wellness center so the place will be next to perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honey Glade cottages in the Hummingbird suite. Great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesMaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianlee95, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Farm, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It sounds like you had a great anniversary trip. I am glad you experienced all things "Blackberry". Our new wellness center is due to open May 2014! It is well under way and coming together nicely. It will be a great addition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    60
    34
    25
    20
See reviews for
61
281
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This may be the nicest place we have ever stayed with a very high service person to guest ratio. Beautiful setting. If you get a chance to fly in a hot air balloon, do it!

Walk around, go fishing, take a boat around. It's all good. Oh and the food is fantastic

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukejames52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianlee95, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Farm, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I can't even begin to describe this beautiful East Tennessee venue. The weather was perfect. The staff was phenomenal. The food was heavenly. The price is outrageous for us common folk. I am so thankful I was able to experience it. Wonder of they would hire me?!

Room Tip: I stayed in the main house and was very happy there for the proximity to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShariKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianlee95, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Farm, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to this special part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

“I got the relaxing weekend I was hoping for, my husband got to enjoy a ton of outdoor activities and even got me out on a trail for an afternoon of geocaching, which was much like going on a classic, beautiful treasure-hunt. The Smoky Mountains setting was stunning, and it set the perfect tone for a spellbinding getaway. Blackberry Farm is known for gourmet food, which did not disappoint!
Every meal was spectacular, and it was particularly nice to know that they source so many ingredients from the property itself, turning run-of-the-mill dishes (chicken? grits?) into home-grown culinary masterpieces served in a grand, rustic “barn.” Our room was small but impeccably decorated, with luscious linens that would’ve made getting out of bed hard to do if there weren’t so many reasons to be up and about. I was surprised to see that there were entire families visiting, and at dinner one evening three teenage brothers told us about their paintballing experience. If you go with your family, consider booking one of the cottages which looked incredible! Everything about the atmosphere is conducive to unique relaxation; the fact that even my husband was able to tear himself away from his laptop just to relax in rocking chairs overlooking The Smokies is proof that this place is something special!"

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianlee95, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Farm, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
How wonderful to hear you both were able to unplug and relax. That is just what we had intended for our guests to do. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I just returned from a fabulous girls trip... Celebrating our 50th birthdays! It was truly just perfect! Even though we arrived in a downpour to discover there was no electricity, the staff didn't even flinch. They told us to just park at the entrance of the dining room and leave keys in the car. The kitchen was running on a generator and we were served a delicious brunch.

We left satisfied and found our car had been completely unloaded into our room...3 women have Lots of luggage! While still powerless, we followed a friends suggestion to get a puzzle. It was Incredible! There were shapes within shapes - and no picture to follow!

Eventually power was restored and we were treated to gourmet food, beautiful scenery, and complete customer service. Definitely 5 stars!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianlee95, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Farm, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us. It was great having you as our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We return to this amazing property every year or so. It is in the middle of "nowhere" but has views that are breathtaking. The Farm is over 4,000 acres of rolling hills with various animals scattered about (horses, llamas, sheep, etc.) & an amazing garden which sustains the delicious
meals which are included in the room price. The garden is "tended" by John Coykendall, master gardener, who has a wealth of knowledge & one of the most interesting people to talk with about fruits, vegetables, etc. Taking his tutorial on beans is worth it.
The dinners are delicious and served in a barn that has been assembled from various old barns in the east. The setting is delightful and the service provided by Guido & Timothy was first rate! All of the dishes we tried were perfectly prepared using veggies, etc. from John's garden & the fish, meat, chicken was good to perfection. It is one of those places you walk away from & think about it until next time!
Our problem is with the breakfast (food is very good) and lunch (food is average) & wait staffs in both which are sometimes painfully slow and seemed perplexed by simple questions about the menu. We think their demeanor sometimes distracts from the food which may be the reason we are complaining & have only given the property 4 stars. It really is the best "hotel" food in the country and with a couple of tweaks, we're sure it will be perfect!
Cell phone service on the property is spotty at best which causes problems when trying to conduct a bit of business with fun. They are adding a new spa facility and other improvements so we are hoping by our next visit in a year or two, someone will have figures out their communications system & bring it up to date.

Room Tip: We stay in the hill cottages which are expensive but we love the privacy and large facilities. Lucy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RSFLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianlee95, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Farm, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We always enjoy hearing from guests who return year after year. I appreciate your suggestions on how to make Blackberry even better! We continue to strive to improve year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

There's just nothing like it. The rolling hills, the southern charm, the luxurious rooms, the breathtaking wine program, the stellar food... Blackberry Farm is the epitome of excellence.

From the moment the concierge contacts you to help guide you through the choices for your visit to the subtle surprises you encounter in everything from your bedroom to your car as you leave, the team at Blackberry Farm has thought of everything.

The staff is incredibly professional while exuding hospitality. The activities suggested around the Smoky Mountains are innovative and different. Blackberry Farm will actually recalibrate how you think about a vacation.

Unfortunately, it will also skew your ability to find another property like it. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Centurionreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianlee95, Guest Relations Manager at Blackberry Farm, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
I am so glad to hear you enjoyed all things Blackberry! We are most proud of our team and the genuine southern hospitality they provide. Thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walland
6.1 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
17.4 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Dollywood's DreamMore Resort
Dollywood's DreamMore Resort
#12 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
19.6 mi away
Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Farm

Property: Blackberry Farm
Address: 1471 West Millers Cove Road, Walland, TN 37886
Location: United States > Tennessee > Walland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blackberry Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of America's most celebrated intimate luxury hotels beckons discerning guests who aspire to escape modern-day frenzy and slip into a Blackberry state of mind. Situated on a pastoral 4,200-acre estate in the Great Smoky Mountains, Blackberry will show you the many reasons why it is one of the top rated properties in the world ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackberry Farm Tennessee
Blackberry Farm Hotel Walland
Blackberry Farm Tn
Blackberry Farm Walland
Blackberry Farm Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing